We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the steam?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Lovely building that is immaculate...until you get to the basement and see the steam room area. Pool was a great temperature and the spa tub was yummy, however - the steam room was non-existent with 2 plastic garden chairs to sit on. Very poor.... Staff were lovely, especially the kids who serve you at breakfast. Because we were there for one night, it is difficult to go into further detail.

Room Tip: ask for the back of the building...sea view with no nightclubs!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
There are newer reviews for Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

We had booked this hotel via a intersite and was qouted £80-00 for our one night stay for B&B.
When arrived we were charged £100-00 for stay and £5-00 for parking on the hotel site. When we asked why the price rise? We were told nothing they could do about it.

The hotel public areas looked fine. But he room was like something form the "Bates Motel" It was supposed to have a sea view, you could see the sea but you could also see the bird crap on the balcony, the rubbish in an old outdoor swiming pool, genral rubbish not cleared from hotel grounds.

The bed 4ft 6inc wide. Who sleeps in a small bed nower days? The room had not been decorated over at least 10 years, room furnishings were very poor quality and well passed thier best. The bathroom was ancient. You could easly get scolled if you had a small child in the shower, tiles were broken off the wall the bath was badly stained.

Breakfast. started ok. We were shown to our table only to find when sitting down on the cahirs, the arms on the chairs were in a danagerous state the were falling off, the backs of chairs were just as bad,

Yet another over price very tired, run down hotel. Locals may think its fine. Obvously they havent been outside of newquay in the last century. How did get its star rating did they use a guide dog? Would never recommed this place to anyone, over priced should fall of a cliff edge its that bad.

Room Tip: dont go here
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanpurkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We went as family for 5 nights and had a large family room with a sea room. Overall we we happy with our stay but largely because we had a very good last minute deal. If it had been expensive I would have been unhappy with the quality. The hotel has potential to be gorgeous but has clearly seen better days. The decor is very old and tired but the rooms were generally clean and reasonably equipped. The common areas are ok and have nice views but again the decor has seen much better days. We had breakfast and dinner included. The service is OK but generally slow and a bit sloppy. The food is very basic bordering on not great. The pool was fine but not fancy. The changing areas were basic but relatively clean. Again given we had a very good last minute deal we felt it was fine but if I had paid more I would have been disappointed. If the owners could see fit to invest it would / could be spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawnandjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed in Hotel Victoria on the 18th Oct for one night. We were both very impressed by this lovely old hotel. We only wished we could stay longer but it was the end of our trip to tthe Uk. Will defenitely be back. Reading some of the other reviews makes me wonder about people.Have they made a mistake in their review as there are other hotels with the same name . Personally we could not find fault . The room was very large as was the bathroom and the view from the window was spectacular , overlooking the sea.....Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciamariaduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a 2 night stay here on the 18th & 19th October 2011. We booked through Groupon which was a fabulous Bargain and included a beautiful breakfast and FREE Spa treatment. The staff were brilliant and efficient, but most of all very friendly - this makes a hotel. The breakfast was lovely, fresh and hot, and with a gorgeous view over the ocean from the lounge. The rooms were first class - spotless, comfy beds with quality bedding. The period wooden furniture gave it that real petina of a bygone era, but yet maintaining a bit of modernism also. The spa treatment we chose was a neck shoulder and back massage - this too was exquisite. All and all we can highly recommend this hotel. For light sleepers we will also recommend a room to the front seaside elevation which will be just a tad quieter. This hotel is also situated in walking distance of everything you could want in Newquay. There is parking for guests also which is good. You will find your visit here very enjoyable with both sophistication and a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are not only gorgeous as regards the view but also more quiet than the ones on...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Out_of_Africa_ART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Had a fantastic 'Groupon' Stay at Hotel Victoria, food very good, room comfortable, I cannot understand how some reports are poor, must have been a different hotel!.Also had a good massage in the Spa. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviesic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel has been well maintained with its great original character. The reception staff were always very friendly and accomadating. We will definately be returning soon for another girlie weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAREN190822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
897 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £42 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing