We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tired hotel.”
Reviewed 31 March 2008

I spent one night at the hotel Victoria (Midweek). The hotel is well past it's best with a dark and tired interior that is a long way off the prices being charged. The rooms have a poorly executed mock victorian look, which i am sure looked ok around 15 years ago, they are now showing their age.

There is a swimming pool in the basement, but is used by locals for childrens swimming lessons in the early evening, thus making it useless to those who are on business.

The gym is a joke, and looks more like the sort of thing you would find in someones garage after several visits to a boot fair!

Breakfast was ok, staff were ok.

Avoid this hotel it is not as described on their website.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Price paid for a tatty old out of date hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barnkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    341
    241
    108
    73
See reviews for
197
512
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Nothing special, decor out of date, mock victorian, rooms comfortable but watch for room at front as mega noisy due to night club and high street very noisy ALL night!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WalterKlondyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2008

This was my first visit to Newquay -- and what a wonderful visit it was! The Victoria Hotel and it's design and furnishings was very pretty. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The food was delicious and presentation was visually pleasing. The atmosphere at the bar was great -- the perfect place to enjoy a pint or two.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Run880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

we arrived at the hotel to be told room was not ready even tho we booked it 3 months before.changed room twice in one day .
rooms smell dark rooms. not happy.reception staff i found rude and not helpfull at all as if it was to much trouble for them they should remenber who is paying there wages????.food turned up and was not hot .and under cooked .the whole experence was dreadfull and a ruined holiday.never go back and would not tell anyone stay there.over priced dump of a hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank versaceStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

My wife, daughter (13) and I have just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Victoria, and would happily recommend it to anyone.

The hotel was very clean and staff polite and helpful. We had the one of the family suites with a sea view. The room was ample big enough and cleaned to a high standard daily. All furniture and decor were in excellent condition.

Breakfast was good and what you would expect from a 3 * hotel (Cereals, yogurts, full English etc). We didn’t eat in the hotel’s French restaurant, but did eat in their Mexican (next door), we enjoyed an excellent 3 courses and drinks for under £50.

TIP: Take your key card and get 10% off your bill. The hotel also offered 10% off their in-house French restaurant (£19 for 3 courses)

We also made use of the pool and sauna areas - again these were very clean and enjoyed good views over the bay (towels provided via reception).

The bar has plenty of places to sit and relax we particularly enjoyed the sea view bar (see pics).

The inside of the hotel is very well maintained and typical of a large modernised Victorian 3* hotel. The only down side (and I am being very picky now) was the outside. The front of the hotel was once very grand it is now been cluttered with limousines and mobile bill boards advertising one of the hotel’s nite clubs (Berties). Advertisements for “Wet T Shirt” competitions seem to take the hotel down a notch. I’m no prude, it’s just a shame to see Newquay taking a step toward “tacky” Blackpool.

All in all we found this hotel excellent and would highly recommend a stay. Its in a great location with easy access to the beach, the town, the cliffs etc etc.

For some good food try Finns Restaurant down at the harbour (brilliant food in a unique location – we watched the seals swim in the harbour on our last night!). You could also try the Mararajah Indian Restaurant (on the front near the train station end of town).

For a great day out we enjoyed Flambards (a league above Creally Adventures!).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tacky outside!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CurlyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg, south africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I stayed at the hotel in July this year and it will be somewhere I will never ever return to. The rooms are old. The furniture had burn marks on it. The beds have blankets insread of duvets which tells you how old it is. The bathroom floor has carpets which stink from wet damp. The food was poor and the front staff service were not the most friendly or helpful. At 4.30 in the morning a group of ladies game back from a night out which resulted in swearing, doors banging and in general bad behaviour waking everyone else up. The town of Newquay in general is not the pretties or cleanest and would never visit either the town or the hotel again. The restaurant charges a fortune for a steak and when you go to the pub next door you get 3 meals for the price of one in the hotel. Had someone advised me that Newquay was for night life and youngsters this 40 plus couple would never have wasted 3 nights there. When I saw the hotel the only reason I stayed is because I had paid upfront which I sincerely regret. Take it from me a seasoned traveller that there are far nicer places to stay thats unless you are under the age of 30 and looking to get picked up. Sorry this seems harsh but its true. Would never stay there again and would never recommend my worst enemy to either....whoever the owners are need to do a good inspection and fix it up.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

LIke the other reviewer bit of a time warp here. However cannot complain about the girls on reception very helpfull.

Now the bad bits. Very loud, very old.. There seems to be a couple of bars/clubs restaurants adjacent to the hotel which belong to the hotel. I get the inpression that these are the money making arms of this business. I was woken at 2.00 AM, I guess chucking out time and kept awake till 5 AM. Had to be up at 7.00 AM so pretty tired most of the day. The hotel knew I was on Business so I expected a room of some tranquillity but given a front room. Stay away if you need to rise early for work.

Checking out time 10:30 AM never heard of this one, had to walk around Newquay for 5 hours good job it was sunny.

Breakfast was good with pleasant staff serving.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trekkerclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Property: Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing