We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mini Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We had stayed at the Victoria for Valentine's 5 years ago, and decided that it was time to return to Newquay. Upon both occasions, we had accommodation with Sea Views: because we are aware that street facing rooms are subject to noise from the adjoning Nightclub, at weekends. This visit lasted four days on the run up to Easter, and neither the town nor the Hotel, were busy. In our exerience, all staff, from check in at reception, to Porters and cleaners, were friendly and helpful.
The Catering has been leased to a local family, who run the Restaurant for both Breakfast and Dinner. (The evening meals are mostly French dishes). We enjoyed the food very much, and upon the first night, Chef came out to meet and chat with the guests. He also cooked an alternative Main Course for my wife one evening, when she didn't fancy any of the three Set Menu offerings. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi area are clean and welcoming, but time your visit carefully: as the pool is rented out during the late mornings most weekdays( Ladies Aquarobics), and again in the afternoons, for a children's swimming group.
We would not hesitate to return again to this delightful Hotel: with its' creature comforts, and superb views of the beach, and Newquay airport, in the distance.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Freddie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2008

I spent one night at the hotel Victoria (Midweek). The hotel is well past it's best with a dark and tired interior that is a long way off the prices being charged. The rooms have a poorly executed mock victorian look, which i am sure looked ok around 15 years ago, they are now showing their age.

There is a swimming pool in the basement, but is used by locals for childrens swimming lessons in the early evening, thus making it useless to those who are on business.

The gym is a joke, and looks more like the sort of thing you would find in someones garage after several visits to a boot fair!

Breakfast was ok, staff were ok.

Avoid this hotel it is not as described on their website.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank barnkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Nothing special, decor out of date, mock victorian, rooms comfortable but watch for room at front as mega noisy due to night club and high street very noisy ALL night!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WalterKlondyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

This was my first visit to Newquay -- and what a wonderful visit it was! The Victoria Hotel and it's design and furnishings was very pretty. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The food was delicious and presentation was visually pleasing. The atmosphere at the bar was great -- the perfect place to enjoy a pint or two.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Run880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

we arrived at the hotel to be told room was not ready even tho we booked it 3 months before.changed room twice in one day .
rooms smell dark rooms. not happy.reception staff i found rude and not helpfull at all as if it was to much trouble for them they should remenber who is paying there wages????.food turned up and was not hot .and under cooked .the whole experence was dreadfull and a ruined holiday.never go back and would not tell anyone stay there.over priced dump of a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank versaceStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

My wife, daughter (13) and I have just spent 3 nights at the Hotel Victoria, and would happily recommend it to anyone.

The hotel was very clean and staff polite and helpful. We had the one of the family suites with a sea view. The room was ample big enough and cleaned to a high standard daily. All furniture and decor were in excellent condition.

Breakfast was good and what you would expect from a 3 * hotel (Cereals, yogurts, full English etc). We didn’t eat in the hotel’s French restaurant, but did eat in their Mexican (next door), we enjoyed an excellent 3 courses and drinks for under £50.

TIP: Take your key card and get 10% off your bill. The hotel also offered 10% off their in-house French restaurant (£19 for 3 courses)

We also made use of the pool and sauna areas - again these were very clean and enjoyed good views over the bay (towels provided via reception).

The bar has plenty of places to sit and relax we particularly enjoyed the sea view bar (see pics).

The inside of the hotel is very well maintained and typical of a large modernised Victorian 3* hotel. The only down side (and I am being very picky now) was the outside. The front of the hotel was once very grand it is now been cluttered with limousines and mobile bill boards advertising one of the hotel’s nite clubs (Berties). Advertisements for “Wet T Shirt” competitions seem to take the hotel down a notch. I’m no prude, it’s just a shame to see Newquay taking a step toward “tacky” Blackpool.

All in all we found this hotel excellent and would highly recommend a stay. Its in a great location with easy access to the beach, the town, the cliffs etc etc.

For some good food try Finns Restaurant down at the harbour (brilliant food in a unique location – we watched the seals swim in the harbour on our last night!). You could also try the Mararajah Indian Restaurant (on the front near the train station end of town).

For a great day out we enjoyed Flambards (a league above Creally Adventures!).

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CurlyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I stayed at the hotel in July this year and it will be somewhere I will never ever return to. The rooms are old. The furniture had burn marks on it. The beds have blankets insread of duvets which tells you how old it is. The bathroom floor has carpets which stink from wet damp. The food was poor and the front staff service were not the most friendly or helpful. At 4.30 in the morning a group of ladies game back from a night out which resulted in swearing, doors banging and in general bad behaviour waking everyone else up. The town of Newquay in general is not the pretties or cleanest and would never visit either the town or the hotel again. The restaurant charges a fortune for a steak and when you go to the pub next door you get 3 meals for the price of one in the hotel. Had someone advised me that Newquay was for night life and youngsters this 40 plus couple would never have wasted 3 nights there. When I saw the hotel the only reason I stayed is because I had paid upfront which I sincerely regret. Take it from me a seasoned traveller that there are far nicer places to stay thats unless you are under the age of 30 and looking to get picked up. Sorry this seems harsh but its true. Would never stay there again and would never recommend my worst enemy to either....whoever the owners are need to do a good inspection and fix it up.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jojohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £33 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing