We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short weekend break out of season, peace and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short weekend break out of season, peace and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

My girlfriend and I checked into this hotel on the Friday evening and were immediately greeted by very friendly staff. First impressions of the hotel were very nice and original. The hotel is dated and in need of modernisation but i thought that added character. Everything was very clean and tidy and functional, there was no damage or excessive wear and tear that i could see, apart from the odd carpet looking tired. Our room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very well presented and clean. We also used the pool and the jacuzzi while we were there, again this was dated in areas but clean and tidy. Safety signs were placed accordingly and pool rules were correct. The breakfast was a typical English spread with extra toast etc if you requested. We didn't sample the evening meal as we preferred to eat out in the evenings. The small bar was situated in a lovely communal room with an open fire burning away. It was open until 11 pm as the main bar had a private function on this particular weekend so access was restricted until later on in the evening. If your a seasoned drinker, 24 hr alcohol was available from a night porter on request. We both enjoyed our stay very much at this hotel and would recommend to anyone who wants an affordable quiet weekend away in the winter time. Very friendly staff made the hotel very homely and warming.

If i have pick up anything at all with this hotel and that would be as i said the carpets are worn in areas and the originality of the building will not be to everyones taste. Also in our room (not necessarily other rooms), the TV was very low down so when in bed you could only see the top half of the screen, we couldn't be bothered to move it haha.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if you can as the street facing rooms suffer from street/traffic noise, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    317
    208
    100
    70
See reviews for
172
474
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Reasonably sized room, nicely furnished, large and comfortable bed. The bathroom was fine, clean and reasonable shower pressure. The cooked breakfast was good with very nice bacon; be prepared for a bit of a wait at weekends. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. Very good value with our deal, which was buy two nights B&B, get third one free. We would stay here again, and as we expect to be visiting Newquay again, probably will!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

nice room overlooking the sea, bed a bit creaky but comfortable. room was spacious and bathroom was very nice. breakfast was lovely. we used the pool, hot tub and sauna daily all of which were included in the price. we did have a massage during our stay which was lovely. the hotel was lovely and would recommend it to others and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyf929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

the views from the hotel are lovely looking right over the sea with a nice terrace which would be lovely to sit out in the sun.we had a basic room but was still clean and comfy with a nice bathroom couldnt fault it.the swimming pool,hot tub,sauna and steam room were excellent and included in the price of our room.breakfast was good locations great right in newquay town, theres a nightclub right next door but you can still get a good nights sleep here without hearing people coming back from clubs etc.once in the hotel you wouldnt no it was there. lovely stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyjc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Hotel seriously in need of an update. Lift to the beach apparently hasn't been working for years - not sure why they wouldn't bother to repair this.

Worst of all at check out we paid cash for our parking only to have our credit card charged after we left. Contacted the hotel by phone and was told they would check the details and phone back - they never did. Then tried to use the feedback sections of their website but have never received a response. They have effectively stolen money from us. Do not give them your credit card details.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eledash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is my first stay in Hotel Victoria. The size of the room is huge and amazing with the sea view. Unfortunately, I went there in December. The location, which is above the cliff was stunning. With the full size window, it was so great to just sitting on the sofa with a cup of tea and looking through the ocean. The location is also very great, which is walking distance to Fistral Beach, Tolcarne Beach, and city centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C-Komo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I loved this hotel because its so grand and old school! The staff are well spoken and very professional. The room was neat, clean and quiet - perfect. The toiletries were great quality, very different to normal hotel shampoo etc. Breakfast was nice and the view is breath taking. I would go back again for the value and service. The only little thing was no clock in the room which is handy...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Ahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Property: Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing