We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I spent three days at the Hotel Victoria. Beautiful old building full of character, excellent room, fabulous food, and brilliant staff without exception. Just a pity about the rest of Newquay ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

me and my husband stayed here for 2 days. we had a upgraded room on the second floor. this had double patio doors which led onto a gigantic balcony. overlooking the beach. the room was large with a kingsize bed. very clean. friendly staff. excellent breakfast. excellent evening meal. swimming pool .gym.spa. excellent. we will most definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

What a shame, this place is in a great location and the staff friendly and helpful. That's the good bits. Our room was tiny and just a bit smelly, the whole place is tired, very tired it needs a fortune spent on it to make it what it could and should be. Another plus were the croissants and excellent ham at breakfast but sorry would not return even on a special deal. Views tho are wonderful.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

3rd floor with seaview ....very large for double room booked. as had bunkbeds in an recess and a sofa bed as well in main room. Had to stand at wide windows to appreicate sea view but able to leave windows open to appreciate sound of sea and no other noise. Large historic hotel so able to forgive tired furnishings but very comfortable and wonderful friendly staff. Lots of different seating areas downstairs. Seaveiw dining room at tasty full bfast disappointing but only due to age of hotel and later addition of swimming pool. Yes you can see the sea and this has to be a bonus for the rear of hotel. Yes there is an indoor pool. Yes there is a steam room, Yes there is a sauna. So dont complain if it is basic as it is clean. Newquay has lots of walks/beaches. Road train is a must to see expansive areas. Stavros and Griffin Inn both a must for evening dining.nearby.

Room Tip: worth paying extra for a seaview room if only for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Lovely location in a grand old hotel. We celebrated a birthday weekend on a KGB deal for £109. The actual value was meant to be £270 so we were really disappointed when we went into our room on arrival which was small and dingy, with no view. After a discussion at the desk we were shown to a lovely room with a sea view...thanks to Laura...who was charming.
The hotel is full of history in a great location and must cost a fortune to keep running but I have to say I would not be happy to pay the normal rate to stay here. Competition is so fierce and given a choice I would rather be out of town in a quieter location. Having said that, we were concerned that the large wedding party and a number of other functions would disturb us noise wise. They didn't despite the hotel being very busy.
The little pool was great, mostly quite quiet, breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and attentive. North Cornwall is gorgeous of course, but perhaps Newquay is better for the young 'uns than us old fogeys.
Would definitely say the hotel is worth a visit on a deal.
Senor Dicks, the mexican restaurant attached to the hotel..........Not so good.....and the wine at over £15 a bottle is some of the worst I have tasted. Food very average...like a packet mexican meal......and not cheap. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view...definitely. If you are in North Cornwall, you just have to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkelfish54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We got 2 nights for £100 inc breakfast, normally £270, on a KGB deal. The hotel is a bit dated but it would cost a fortune to update properly as its wide staircases and corridors so I can understand it would be financially difficult. That said the room was very clean & tidy and also comfortable. Breakfast on the first morning was very slow and the full English was not hot enough. Second day was much better and good. The problem is they have very very young staff who need a manager to guide them and reassure the guests. Staff were all very polite. I think for what I paid it was great. Would I pay £270, absolutely not! It is a great location too although I was very disappointed with Newquay, very tacky and cheap. If you're going visit up the road, Padstow is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view or you end up with the car park or a night club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BournemouthDemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Our seaview room was changed due to a change over in the hotels computer system.

How the front desk resolved it and we ended up in a suite which was great.

Breakfast was great and the little one enjoyed the pool. Location just perfect to walk into town. Only down side was the poor weather. But that the way it goes.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGill02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £39 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing