We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“praise of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 9 September 2013

had a pleasant stay , facilities were good, breakfast good, tasty, excellent cheerful staff couldn't help you enough. Room was really nice and spacious, good sized bed. Lovely, traditional decor and a beautiful view. Ideal location, nearby to local attractions and amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is really past its best but it is all about location. Bonus of a swimming pool if it rains but it really offers little in the way of things that make you want to spend any time in the hotel.
The front of house staff were amazing though, always happy to help and really made you feel welcome. The room was awful though and well below the standard im sure it used to be in a former life. On the whole a great place to stay if you have places to go in newquay, but dont expect a relaxing hotel as the beds are awful, and the rooms are very basic. Breakfast average. The nightclub didnt really bother me but it would spoil for some im sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axlrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It was alright, the building was nice, breakfast was very good however, it is next to a night club! During our stay Tinchy Stryder was presenting dj set.... Time 10.30pm - 4am. I finally slept at 5 am, thats fine if I had gone to see him, but i hadnt I was on a family holiday. Room 101 the window does not close properly I contacted front desk .. they got it closed however with a huge gap bottom right hand corner..so you can hear people shouting (coming out of the pubs and clubs) cars screeching..(NOTE TO FAMILIES) good idea not to book weekends, otherwise take ear plugs. Note to hotel PLEASE BIN PLASTIC BOTTOM SHEETS !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArbuckleRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Like may reviewers have mentioned its needs some TLC. Great location. Service needs to be addressed. We booked last minute and booked one of the sea view suites. Large and great sea views, not so great when you looked down onto hotel grounds. Our mattress was very uncomfortable. Bathroom was adequate and what you would expect at a 3 star hotel. Service was good, but again just 3 star. It doesn't have to be that way. Many of the staff were friendly, helpful & knowledgeable that is all you ask/want when you are in a hotel But it felt as if we were an intrusion on occasions. We are the guest and expect service. Point in fact. Breakfast on August Bank Holiday , we were informed by reception breakfast commenced at 7.30, on arriving there at 7.30 we found no one around and only cereals out. No juice or milk. We went to reception and they said someone would be there shortly. Well there had been a mix up and because it was a Bank Holiday the Management, I guess decided the chef and staff needed a lie in. Come on its a hotel. 7.30 isn't exactly the crack of dawn. Even if only one guest wants breakfast on a bank holiday at 7.30 it should be available 2,3,4 or 5 star it should not matter and by the way there were about 5 tables wanting breakfast at that time. Also several times on going into the bar no one was there to serve. If you are going have a large bar in the hotel then staff it and make it more inviting, you may get more people to come down and spend some money there rather than go straight out looking for some refreshment. A few small changes here and there and it can be a great 3 star hotel not an average one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASBOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very central location,old hotel but sadly needs much refurbishment.Had a sea view room but furniture broken,carpet had been down forever. Very noisy extractor fan in bathroom and ancient bed creeked with every move.Breakfast fine,had not had good reports about evening meal from other guests,but plenty of good places to have a lovely meal nearby.
Stayed on a KGB deal and would have been more disappointed if paid full price as so much needs doing to this hotel.
Would stay there again,must have been a grand hotel in its day hope the owners soon start to put the repairs in this hotel deserves
Would ave liked to have used jacuzzi,but when we visited it was freezing in there.



































creeked
loudly with slightest move.Would stay at this hotel again due to its central location but shame so little has been done to maintain this old hotel. Breakfast satisfactory,did not eat there in evening but plenty of really good places to have a good meal nearby.

Room Tip: If possible have a sea view room as the view from room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for a few days in august 2013, and had a fab time. hotel itself was very clean, tidy and organised. Staff were really helpful, friendly and efficient, fantastic people skills with ALL age groups. had a lovely sea view room, very clean and tidy upon arrival. fabulous facilities, spent most of the holiday in the pool with the kids! food was quick to the table and delicious, lots of choice for breakfast, also highly recommend dinner in the mexican restaurant, amazing food and fab staff! will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caro Cakes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a lovely and spacious hotel. Yes,it needs some updating ,and the rooms are far from plush,but its very clean,quiet,and looks over the sea.
The breakfast is edible,but far from exciting.
Very nice pool,steam,spa and even a gym,if you're a fitness freak like me.
Everything is walking distance,and there's even a tesco metro right opposite ,that's open from 7am-11pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thesimonesimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £33 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing