We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed for 3 nights. Bedroom had tatty furniture and the bath room was like a grey portakabin with chipped worktops. No shower. Never up to 3 star standard. Room was very hot so we left our widow slightly open, when we returned there was a pidgeon in the room. Dinner was included on our first night but food was poor and no atmosphere so we used a cafe along the road as did other guests. They had a booklet about the controlled seagull cull in the room. One morning I was awoken by seagulls shreiking because the mexican restaurant next door (owned by the hotel) had not closed their bins, there was a mess all over the car park and the cars covered in bird dung. We paid a bargain price for 3 night stay yet still feel ripped off.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2008

I stayed in Newquay for the first time over a long weekend in June. I went with 3 girlfriends. To be honest, I feel Hotel Victoria is a bit of a mixed bag. The one major plus about it is the location. It is superbly located in the heart of newquay town near most of the major nightspots and restaurants and a private beach below. The hotel itself is a bit dull and dated in decor, downstairs is refurbished quite nicely, but the rooms are dull and lifeless and in desperate need of a make-over. The staff are a mixed bag also, the girls on the desk were relatively friendly and helpful, but seemed a bit huffy if you asked them too many questions or offered them less than positive feedback about your stay.

The one downfall for us, is that on the weekend that we stayed, the owners had decided to use their hotel as the reception for the owner's sister's wedding. I thought this was a bit of a conflict of interest as suddenly we were treated like second-class citizens instead of paying guests to be treated as first priority. It seemed ALL the staff at this hotel were attending this reception, so on the day of the wedding, the reception was un-manned for the most part of the day and the beauty therapist rushed through her appointments to finish early to attend and the result of my nail paint finish was as though painted by a 6 year old. The massage was certainly not deep-tissue as I requested, but a 'lazy' surface massage.

The second big downfall was how one was treated at breakfast times. I would say the breakfast was not too bad, a bit above average, but the service was poor. Despite the fact that breakfast cut-off time is 10am, the buffet gets cleared away at 10.15am so for those holidayers who wish to enjoy a little nap on their well earned holiday have to try and scoff in as much as they can in 15 minutes before the plates are swept out from under them! When I politely pointed it out that it might be nicer to clear the dishes away at least 10.30am they seemed huffy by my customer suggestion.

I think it's a tight-knit clicky group that work for the hotel, and they need to start appreciating the customer's needs more and act more professional and accommodating

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank londongal1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We had stayed at the Victoria for Valentine's 5 years ago, and decided that it was time to return to Newquay. Upon both occasions, we had accommodation with Sea Views: because we are aware that street facing rooms are subject to noise from the adjoning Nightclub, at weekends. This visit lasted four days on the run up to Easter, and neither the town nor the Hotel, were busy. In our exerience, all staff, from check in at reception, to Porters and cleaners, were friendly and helpful.
The Catering has been leased to a local family, who run the Restaurant for both Breakfast and Dinner. (The evening meals are mostly French dishes). We enjoyed the food very much, and upon the first night, Chef came out to meet and chat with the guests. He also cooked an alternative Main Course for my wife one evening, when she didn't fancy any of the three Set Menu offerings. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi area are clean and welcoming, but time your visit carefully: as the pool is rented out during the late mornings most weekdays( Ladies Aquarobics), and again in the afternoons, for a children's swimming group.
We would not hesitate to return again to this delightful Hotel: with its' creature comforts, and superb views of the beach, and Newquay airport, in the distance.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Freddie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

I spent one night at the hotel Victoria (Midweek). The hotel is well past it's best with a dark and tired interior that is a long way off the prices being charged. The rooms have a poorly executed mock victorian look, which i am sure looked ok around 15 years ago, they are now showing their age.

There is a swimming pool in the basement, but is used by locals for childrens swimming lessons in the early evening, thus making it useless to those who are on business.

The gym is a joke, and looks more like the sort of thing you would find in someones garage after several visits to a boot fair!

Breakfast was ok, staff were ok.

Avoid this hotel it is not as described on their website.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank barnkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Nothing special, decor out of date, mock victorian, rooms comfortable but watch for room at front as mega noisy due to night club and high street very noisy ALL night!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WalterKlondyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

This was my first visit to Newquay -- and what a wonderful visit it was! The Victoria Hotel and it's design and furnishings was very pretty. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The food was delicious and presentation was visually pleasing. The atmosphere at the bar was great -- the perfect place to enjoy a pint or two.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Run880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

we arrived at the hotel to be told room was not ready even tho we booked it 3 months before.changed room twice in one day .
rooms smell dark rooms. not happy.reception staff i found rude and not helpfull at all as if it was to much trouble for them they should remenber who is paying there wages????.food turned up and was not hot .and under cooked .the whole experence was dreadfull and a ruined holiday.never go back and would not tell anyone stay there.over priced dump of a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank versaceStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £32 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing