We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 27 November 2013

As you walk through the main door to reception nostalgia hits you, in its day this must have been a marvellous hotel with ladies in hats and horse drawn carriages,It has the feel of olden day Grace.

The staff pleasant , the position and views fantastic, but I'm afraid that's where the good news ends.

This hotel is tired, this ole lady needs a lot of money spent on her to bring her back to her forma glory days, the rooms Are so dated and poorly decorated its a pity to witness.

The decor is in a very poor state with repair after repair just bodged and repainted over which looks terrible, cracked and broken tiles in the bathroom with shabby filthy old double glazing this hotel needs a lot of money spent.

The spa is very close to being condemned in my opinion, it smells and feels very dirty and if your looking for a sauna then take a coat, you have more chance of raising a sweat in a fridge.

Food ok
Service the best they could do with what they have

Try for a room on the roof as you won't sleep if Anyone is above you, talk about squeaky floorboards, this is an old hotel.

Room Tip: A different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkey170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our third vist we had a lovely surprise when we booked in and we were given a suite on the top floor lovely room huge bed and a great sized bathroom the staff are great , it's so good we are booked in again in December

Room Tip: They are all good but the ones over looking the sea are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 844margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Hotel is a bit dated but as others have said it fits in with the character. The stair carpets are a bit threadbare.
No bath sheets, only bath towels, which could do with being a bit bigger.
Our biggest complaint was the bed, double size, hard, we do have a hard bed ourselves, but I never slept because of back ache.
Think they should take a leaf out of The Premiere Inn,s beds. They guarantee you a good nights sleep, and their beds are king size and great, always had a good nights sleep with them.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have great view, that's if you cannot sleep because of hard beds :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollandstoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Booked this hotel as needed central location and had good reviews for a two night stay in Newquay . Very pleasant ,yes a little dated ,but rooms were clean and had a sea view in 316.
Reception staff were very helpful ,had other family members joining us next day ,and switched their rooms so they could have earlier check in to get changed after a long journey ,Bar man Dean was great , who made us so welcome , lovely log fire on second night ,we had had a long day and just what we needed ,warm welcome back and all we asked for Dean although he was busy,delivered,would stay again . Good value .

Room Tip: We had rooms on third floor 316 had sea view twin room 303 generous family room ,double two singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

this hotel was situated in a lovely aspect with our room overlooking the sea,it was very tired looking and had a smell of damp when you entered,the hotel had seen better days,but the staff were very friendly and helpful,the dining room was also overlooking the sea,the food was not up to standard,and we were not asked why we sent it back.the bedrooms were large if you paid for a sea view otherwise the rooms were facing the town and had only views of cafes,amusement arcades and drunks.the bathroom was clean but had cracks on the basin.the swimming pool was good and warm but the sauna had a plastic chair to sit on and cracked tiles all around,you also had to wait for 20 mins for it to warm up

Room Tip: always spend a little more for sea view.higher floors quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great value for money, it was a lovely stay, room clean and staff friendly. Breakfast was great too, plenty to choose from. Would def go back again and recommend this hotel.
We only stayed one night but was relaxed the next day after a good nights sleep.
Its near the town so great to walk into for pubs and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Took up this Travelzoo offer last weekend & was not dissapointed.Had a sea view room on the third floor with our dog who was welcomed along with several others.
Our first night dinner was great followed by a good cream tea on the Saturday & we were able to have this with our old dog in the sun room.Staff could not have been more helpfull & accommodating.Yes Victoria is an old building but lots of character & great old pictures of years
gone by.Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on third floor room 317 smallish but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizzielizzie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £33 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing