We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel.”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights just after Christmas. I cannot fault any of our stay. When we arrived we were put in a room at the side of the hotel but had paid for sea view. After stating this to the receptionist we were moved straight away into a sea view room. the room was clean and tidy. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. The spa was very good also with a heated pool and Jacuzzi. I would recommend this hotel and will be going there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wenton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    331
    223
    104
    71
See reviews for
180
498
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We visited here on a Travelzoo Package. The food in the restaurant was totally and utterly disappointing. My Husband is a keen amateur cook and has been for many years so knows what he is talking about when it comes to food. Our Starters were reasonable at best, but the main courses were absolutely dire , unseasoned overcooked and thoroughly unpleasant to eat. My Husband's Seafood Risotto was so full of starch he thought it had been made from pudding rice by mistake. We complained and were offered a bottle of wine as compensation which we rejected. We had a meeting with the Manager the following morning who made all the right noises and told us he would adjust our drinks bill accordingly. On checking out we discovered that the Manager had merely taken off the price of a bottle of wine from our bill which we had previously rejected.
Breakfast on both mornings despite being an impressive spread was again disappointing as every item of the cooked breakfast was luke warm at best, cold at worst. with no heat source to keep the food hot.
On the plus side the Staff are very friendly especially young Dean in the Bar. The Hotel was exactly what I expected from a building of that era and the Scenery was amazing. They just need to get themselves a decent chef

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We paid £50 for a double room with fabulous sea views including breakfast and all i can say is we got a brilliant deal..The accommodation was very good for a 3 star hotel, spotlessly clean and welcoming. the food at times was adequate/very good or excellent. All staff were extremely helpful, professional and perfectly charming. The lounge was nice and warm with an open fire, new seating and large screen television, the hotel facilities included heated pool, jacuzzi, Gym, 24 hour reception bar and double restaurants all of which were efficiently run, well done to all concerned a lovely stay was had by all, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannyfranny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

First of all id like to say that the staff were really friendly and nice and the main reception is not bad, it has an old feel to it which i dont mind and in the lounge area it has an open log fire which is lovley. Also after i asked for a full refund they gave me one and were fine about it.

The bad point to this hotel was that the room looked like it had been left as it was for the last 300 years. Dont get me wrong i like an old look and feel to things and i love houses with character but this wasnt that. The carpet looked old and horrible and worn and all the furniture was old and creeky (not old as antique, just nasty). the bed was small and creeky and i just felt uncumfortable in the room. It wouldnt matter how much they cleaned it, it would still feel dirty. The windows were also cheap thin ones and lots of noise could be heard and the room was also cold.

Having said all this, as i say i was given a full refund (because of this ive not given them 1 star) and left the hotel a few hours after arrival so i cant complain too much but a word of warning is dont book a romantic break here with your partner as its not nice inside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Good location, cleanliness, value for money, evening meal in restaurant excellent but breakfast was slow service and not particularly hot. The only other complaint was that the changing rooms in the leisure centre could do with renovating - poor showers and drains smelt a bit. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch1ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Enjoyed the entertainment which was Johnny Cowling (Cornish Entertainer) he was magnificent.
The Buffet provided was disgusting, the turkey curry was like bits of turkey in tasteless tomato soup, the chilli was awful, where did they get the so called pasties from the steak ones looked as though they had been cooked from frozen, which is unbelievable in Cornwall. Who ever was in charge of the food should be ashamed, if they were chefs there is no hope.

Our table to watch the show had no chairs so we had to go into the so called restaurant and carry our own chairs through.

That was my first and last visit to the hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel is ideally situated next to bars shops and restaurants and a short walk from all the amenities. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and the staff from the reception to the room maid were friendly and most helpful. Because of full occupancy with all the Christmas parties breakfast was served buffet style instead of individually as is the norm and there were a few problems with people taking huge portions leaving nothing for others which caused delays whilst more food was cooked. The food quality was excellent though as was the evening meal we enjoyed in the restaurant. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: When we booked originally there were no sea view rooms available. Upon arrival I checked again and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Property: Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing