We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paper thin walls and poor service.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Paper thin walls and poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I booked a last minute break here a few weeks ago when the opportunity came up to go to Cornwall. As I live over 7 hours away on the other side of the country and have no prior knowledge of the hotels and facilities in the area, I opted for somewhere that had some decent reviews - I should have read further on as since I stayed there, I have noticed I am not the only disappointed customer.

Laterooms offered a cracking deal of £80 per night and as there was availability, I pounced. Upon arrival, it looked great; a classic Victorian style hotel with echoes of a grander age. Unfortunately, it is situated right next to an Irish themed bar which was already heaving with rowdy customers when we arrived on Friday evening. Although the staff were very friendly on check in, when we were given directions to our room, they failed to mention we were on the street side, overlooking the street. With hind sight, I would have gone back and asked to be moved, but at that point we didn't realise how poorly the windows were going to block out the night time noise. I was very hot and we wanted to have the windows open as there was no air conditioning, but this wasn't possible due to rowdy football fans crowing late into the night, and the seemingly constant stream of cars and motorbikes.

At breakfast, there wasn't much left on the hot bar although there was still a good 3/4 of an hour left of service. We had to approach two different waitresses to ask for tea and coffee and we weren't brought this until breakfast was finished. Not great.

Having returned late after a day on the beach, we realised that the noise situation was going to be worse, as the heaving bar was even more packed out with drunken people. This wasn't to be the main issue however, after a very poor night's sleep due to being hot and lots of noise, it was the 6am wake up call from the rough sex session next door that took the prize. Having slapped each other around for an hour or so, they then decided that they would put their TV on full blast and make sure we weren't going to fall asleep again. We gave up.

It looks ok on the outside but there really isn't anything that would make me want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linskibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    317
    209
    100
    70
See reviews for
172
475
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I have spend many good times here ,Saturday we were here again ,we had booked this thro late breaks with this offer we were supposed to have a cream tea on our arrival , so we arrived every other time we had paid for our car park and dog at the end as we usually had drinks with our friends in the sitting area ,the cream tea wasn't mention ,I did ask .but she just turn around and went and answer the phone which I thought was rude ,we have room 116 which was tired we found mattress covers in one of the drawers ,dirty towel ,the room was right next to Bertie's so not a lot of sleep ,we asked to changed but the hotel was full ,really good sleep when we got to sleep ,now breakfast which is always good , got there and they couldn't find our names there was no glasses for the juice,we went up and got our food which was ok but no poached eggs ,the waitress bought us a teapot for two ,after we flinched we asked the hotel manager for a another pot of tea he as grey hair he said yes staight away , 12 mins later no tea 15 still no he walked past us 5 times in the end we had to ask a waitress , we went to. Leave he made a joke ,as I walked with a limp as I am waiting for a new hip due to arthritic which is very painful ,the joke wasn't funny,quite hurtful we are both shocked we are writing this ,

Room Tip: Not 116 any of the ones on the 3rd floor or for a special treat the suite they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 844margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful
Rooms fab had lovely sea views a
Pool and jacuzzi lovely and relaxing
Breakfast was very yummy

Well worth a stash

The interior and hotel clean tidy and in good condition

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is very tired in every way and would not recommend it although it is close to every thing.
We stayed in room 209 the carpet was dirty and the furniture was had chips out of it every were not a good look.

Room Tip: Ask to look at room first to see what you are getting for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Based in Newquay town centre with several shops and eateries nearby and town centre a short stroll away; Hotel Victoria is an ideal base for families/couples/ solo travellers alike.
Rooms could use some modernisation but are clean, functional and comfortable.
Bathroom is a decent size and you're provided with local based company bathing products.
Breakfast is hearty and there's a decent variety.

There is free use of leisure facilities and we made good use of the quiet swimming pool and sauna.

My only real gripes were around parking often being a nightmare especially with the one way system in town and difficulties in finding a space; even though you're paying for the privilege.
Also, we were given a street facing room which invariably meant listening to crowds of drunken hens/stags outside at all hours.
So if you're booking over the phone, make sure to ask for a sea view room

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Running_Epilogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed mid week for our wedding anniversary the rooms were nice, great views, very comfortable and the staff were very friendly we had great service. We had a cream tea included in our break which was really nice and the breakfast was really good too. Also very central in the town. Thank you for a nice stay.

Room Tip: with a sea view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fabulous long weekend in June, dedicated staff in reception, dining room and housekeeping. Hotel could do with some updating but great value, fabulous views and easy access to beaches and town. Thank you for making my husbands 50th birthday weekend so great. The boys enjoyed the surfing and I'm sure we will be back. Thank you all

Room Tip: Bit noisy at the front due to night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Property: Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing