We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
289
392
268
120
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
392
268
120
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewthe mexican restaurantits heydaygroupon dealthird floorbit datedlovely hotelbuffet stylejacuzzi and saunawould stay againfull englishleisure facilitieslounge areatown centrea lovely stayshort breakbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

On first arrival it is a lovely old building, looks like a hotel should look. On entering, through the big brass revolving door, it looks like a real old style "proper hotel", big solid wood staircase (though could do with a new carpet) wide enough for families to pass on.
Reception were friendly and professional.
My room was big enough for me, clean and tidy. Had tea and coffee making facilities, a good sized tv and free Wi-Fi, the view did overlook the car park, but then I didn't specify a view after all the room is for sleeping in.
The bar was well stocked and they were reasonably priced for a hotel, they also had perfectly kept "Tribute ale" which was absolutely delicious Matt the barman new his stuff and was always very polite and professional.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent, a buffet style so you could have as much as you wanted of, constantly topped up, delicious food. As well as the view of the Atlantic ocean. Evening meal was also very good with a daily special menu.
I will definitely be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi, Thank you for staying at The Legacy Hotel Victoria. We welcome all guest feedback as it helps us to provide all of our guests with a positive experience.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are proud of the friendly welcome that our guests receive from our team and it was great to read that you enjoyed our spacious room, excellent breakfast and complimentary facilities!

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Please book directly with us for the best rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I wasn’t going to write a review as I felt so sad that what could be a really great hotel and what it could offer could all become so neglected.
Firstly I need to say that our impression from the online description of this hotel-even on Trip Advisors site-is that it stands high above the town. No it doesn’t. Unless you have been allocated a room with a sea view you will look out at Tesco’s and a tattoo shop. The hotel is not elevated, you walk in off the street and there it is. Our room was horrible-old battered furniture, old bathroom with broken tiles and a weak shower and a filthy bathroom window and a really stained carpet in the bedroom. It did feel very 3 star but then we have since stayed in a 3 star hotel in Cumbria that was much much better. I know you get what you pay for but for the small cubbyhole room we had for a week for £600 frankly was not even value for money-next time I would prefer to pay that in Madeira for a much better, bigger decent room. A town resident we spoke to in the hotel pool told us the steam room (advertised) hasn’t worked for about two years. There was a bucket, poolside, catching water coming from a leak in the roof and when we looked up to see the source of the problem, the pine roof was all rotten and had just been left to deteriorate. My husband and I brought our clothes out to the poolside as the lockers didn’t have locks. I did not see a staff member water test or even pop in to check everything was okay. Up in the main hotel it is, frankly, dead. Beautiful old Victorian surroundings but not one soul. No vibrancy, no background music, no cheer. No main bar open through the day, nowhere in the lounge areas to just buy an afternoon cuppa, a cake, nothing. Breakfast, stated on the hotel’s own site as complementary, as shown to the girl on reception, was not included in our price and at £16 each per day was a step too far so we went to a lovely cafe along the road each day for a great £5 each full English. We called reception to ask for milk one morning as we were in our pyjamas and had forgotten to ask for some at the desk the night before and was told room service attracted a £5 charge! Sorry Victoria, lovely building, but you have been neglected and we were so looking forward to your elevated position that really wasn’t, we would never recommend you and trekking from Scotland, we won’t be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 555JayDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi, Thank you for staying at The Legacy Hotel Victoria. We welcome all guest feedback as it helps us to provide all of our guests with a positive experience.

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I was sorry to lean that you were disappointed that you were not sufficiently elevated at the Hotel. We offer a range of different rooms and price categories and where ever possible will reallocate a room if it does not meet guest expectations.

We do offer a range of pricing options, some including breakfast, depending on which website or booking agent is used to book the room. We are proud of the friendly welcome that our guests receive from our team and I was sorry to learn that you felt this did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are due to undertake a refurbishment later in the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Please book directly with us for the best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

This was our 5th trip to hotel Victoria,this being our first trip back since getting married here in may.
As always the hotel looked after us really well with an upgrade to a sea view room and a bottle of prosecco in our room on arrival,with breakfast included.
We had a lovely evening meal and we
Would highly recommend this well situated hotel in the heart of newquay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi, Thank you for staying at The Legacy Hotel Victoria. We welcome all guest feedback as it helps us to provide all of our guests with a positive experience.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is always nice to hear from returning guests! We are proud of the friendly welcome that our guests receive from our team and it was great to read that you enjoyed our delicious food, sea view room and convenient location!

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Please book directly with us for the best rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Online it seems like an ideal hotel full of charm and history, unfortunately it was full of disappointment. Now I know I'm not given for staying in 3 star hotels( usually 4 star) so maybe I've come to expect too much but some things are unacceptable. The room including en-suit was in need of refurbishment and the hotel as a whole seemed tatty. The worst experience however was the indoor pool and jacuzzi. It just needs updating and better security. My wife actually felt vulnerable in the pool area as it is open to the public and valuables are on show because the gym members have taken the keys to the lockers. All in all a shame to let the place go to ruin.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi, Thank you for staying at The Legacy Hotel Victoria. We welcome all guest feedback as it helps us to provide all of our guests with a positive experience.

Thank you for your constructive feedback I was sorry to learn of your comments. We are due to undertake a refurbishment later in the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Please book directly with us for the best rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We booked the hotel for a weekend away as we were visiting family who live in Newquay. The hotel was lovely and traditional, it does need an update but it was clean, the breakfast was plentiful and the staff were lovely. I can only imagine how beautiful this hotel must have been in its heyday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carlos190385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LegacyGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi, Thank you for staying at The Legacy Hotel Victoria. We welcome all guest feedback as it helps us to provide all of our guests with a positive experience.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are proud of the friendly welcome that our guests receive from our team and it was great to read that you enjoyed our traditional, clean Hotel, lovely staff and great breakfast!

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Please book directly with us for the best rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews