We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 13 May 2010

first impressions were good the reception area etc was quite impressive. Paid extra for a sea view as it was my 40th birthday the room we were given was tiny with a very small window - it felt like a cupboard. My husband complained and we were moved to a much larger family room with a bigger sea view window. The furniture is very dated and the bathroom could do with a bit of work.
We did use the pool and jacuzzi which was a nice extra.
Breakfast - There wasn't a lot of choice at the buffet but you could order an english cooked breakfast which was ok.
We normally stay in the cheaper hotels in Newquay but thought we would treat ourselves for a change - to be honest it wasn't worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltashgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2010

This establishment is of the older better quality type of large British seaside hotel with definite pretentions to offering a good experience. The bar, reception and restaurant areas are all very good. Some of the decor is very grand. The staff are very capable and pleasant. The bedrooms are a bit faded at best although there are great views from those that are sea facing. That's the good.
The downside is that the hotel seems to us to think that it is just a base for those eating and drinking out. That's what we do but like to get back to base about 1000-1030 and relax in the bar. The only problem is that the bar closes at 1100 - at least it did during our visit. We didn't use the restaurant but I am sure I saw a notice somewhere saying that it only opens between 1900 and 2030! Bar staff are moved to the adjoining nightclub at 2300 - presumably where they can better help contribute to hotel profitability. You can still get a drink but only from the night porter. So first you find him and then wait until he serves you.
Whilst we were there there was a serious accident with the hotel lift. Six guests were in it when it crashed to the basement. At least one person was hospitalised. Did the hotel explain what had happened or offer help with suitcases etc? No. We didn't want or expect an apology and the fact that the hotel was surrounded by emergency services personnel told it's own story. But a nice circular letter or a word from hotel staff would have been reassuring. It just felt that the hotel had a very self-centred approach to service.
Finally by going to Newquay for the bank holiday we were revisiting very old haunts. It's certainly changed and there is no doubt that it now lives up to its reputation as a party town with stag parties everywhere. It was strange though that male groups outnumbered those of the "fairer" sex by what must have been 5 or more to 1. We had heard the stories in the media and did not expect too much from the town. It didn't disappoint in that way. We just got on with our break and got out and about but stayed away from the town. The beaches and views are still great anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekker512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We booked a last minute short break at this hotel and paid £204 for the two of us. We stayed for four nights in this hotel and after reading some of the write ups we were a little apprehensive. When we arrived it was apparent that the hotel was a Victorian built hotel and had aged accordingly, however when we got inside the hotel was decorated to a high standard. Some of the reports stated that this hotel’s décor was out dated. I disagree. This is a Victorian hotel and the décor reflected this. The hotel displayed photos of the construction and people enjoying what would have been the first British holidays, this would have not fitted in with a boutique hotel look!

When we checked in at reception the receptionist informed us that we had been up graded to a suit with a sea view. I thought that this was a lovely touch and a good move given that the hotel was not full and would probably ensure our return. The room was very large; the bed (king size) was very comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean and kept clean constantly whilst we were there. Some reports stated that the furniture was old fashioned, yet again I say that it was in keeping with the hotels era. I will admit that the sold wood furniture was in need of restoration were the colour had worn but this did not result in me being disappointed.

The breakfast offered choice and was delivered quickly and piping hot. There is a small swimming pool which appears to be well maintained although we did not use it.

This hotel in right in the centre of things and although we visited out of season I can imagine that in summer that it is very bustling. For me Newquey lacked what I was looking for in a seaside town and reminded me a little of Blackpool with the bars and night clubs. We went to St Ives one day and this is the place I will be returning to.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Great friendly family run hotel, great staff, clean, lovely regency decor, well positioned in Newquay. The occupancy rate was low, so that meant the resturant wasn't very enticing as you would be the only diner, and you may have to search out the waiter, but none the less it was a good area and brakfast was cerals juice etc and then cooked options with kippers as well, whih were well worth it. If you have booked for the gum and pool though, dont. It says a gym, you wont fing any pics on the net as they are not woth taking. It a few old machines concept rower, treadmill, stepper, and bike in a damp basement room. The pool is ok, but the boiler was broken and therefore cold, and the sauna was tepid. The steam room is just a damp hole Im afraid, and the whole area is not staffed so dont leave the kids! Value for money great, go for a run along the coast!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopseyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

nice hotel well positioned in centre of town,room very nice and clean,tho maybe wee bit dear.£85.00 for two of us including £20.00 for sea-view room.which was small window on side of hotel bit of a con really.Nice breakfast and dining hall but dont know what it would be like in holiday season as hotel very quiet maybe because travellers rest very close by.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drew1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Stayed there for one night in a single room. It was easily the worst room i have ever stayed in. First the bathroom - the shower attachment had long since come away from the wall and hung over the edge of the bath - not even working so i couldn't wash my hair. The bathroom carpet smelt like a cat had had an accident on it. The walls had no tiles just some strange plasterboard walls with stick on wall paper. The room - had no bedside lamp but a flurescent lighting strip over the bedhead! There was a mirror over the dressing table that was so low i had to kneel to put my make up on. Even the sea view could make up for this appalling room. I did complain and got some money off but they just didn't seem to understand that this was a totally unacceptable room to be renting out. Stay clear!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bethj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

friendly atmosphere
nice staff
nice rooms with free coffee/tea and bisquits
nice view from top of the cliff
*** main elevator going straight down through the rock into a tunnel ending at the beach --> a bit creepy but very comfortable and special ***
great beach for surf

Stayed: September 2009
1  Thank Tobias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
897 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £42 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing