We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“full of charm”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We went to a wedding here,last October and decided to stay as a treat although we live five miles away, we found it had character and retained the old charm of years gone by.
Our feelings were it would be a shame to revamp it as all areas are in good condition.The rooms are spotless and most rooms have great views of the coast, we had bed and breakfast which was faultless being waiter service,which we thought was nice nothing was too much trouble for any staff. Being a wedding we had a main meal with very efficient silver service.
We will probably have no reason to stay again as we live close by,but would thoroughly reccommend it to anyone,we found it very homely and relaxed.

Room Tip: frontal and east side for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay last year. Even if you only live a few miles away why not visit us for Sunday lunch or a bar snack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    153
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
90
172
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I have stayed at the Bristol on many occasions while on business in Newquay. The reception staff are very helpful & friendly as are the Maitre d` and the restaurant staff. The rooms are always very clean and maintained to a very high standard. Views of Tolcarne beach & out across the bay are fantastic. Would highly recommend yto anyone who wants to stay in Newquay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oblbilston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thanks for writing a review. Its great to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The staff could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, with special thanks to the lovely porter who helped us with putting our things in the Dryng Room on the Saturday night when my boyfriend & I came back soaking wet from an Eden Sessions gig! Although not a wheelchair accessible room, it could well have been and as well as the requisite ramp at front entrance and lift to rooms, there was a fantastic lift in the dining room and a lower table overlooking the sea which suited me very well. I thought the 'wash with me' style toiletries gave it a friendly touch and I LOVE that the rooms use proper keys and not cards! The only downside was that the lift would not be able to fit an adult's size wheelchair and the buttons need to be lower.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 358Jo_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thanks for posting a review. I am pleased that my staff looked after you so well. The lift will accommodate wheelchairs but not the powered ones. We are always happy to discuss guests' individual access requirements. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Have used the hotel and facilities many times and love to spend time taking in the art deco styling and ambience . Fantastic service by experienced staff .Great location right on top of Tolcarne beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanticmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I, both found the Hotel Bristol a lovely hotel, the accommodation was spacious and comfortable. The sea view from our room was perfect, and given we booked late due to events in Falmouth, it was nice to have such a lovely stay in Newquay.
The service offered at the hotel is very good, staff are most polite and helpful, the food was vey nice, evening meal price is a little pricey.
The overall feel of the interior is quite art deco, which does make it qaint, although it is dated in areas. The main suggestion we would convey would centre on the bar and entertainment which is sparse, meaning we retired to our room most evenings. Overall a nice hotel to stay at.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We recently had two reasons for dining at the Hotel Bristol Newquay, during April and May and on both occasions a varied and excellant menu was presented. The first was a group luncheon, the second was a family occasion and on each visit the food and service by all staff was 1st class, well presented and enjoyed. Your chef, the waiting staff both in the restaurant together with the bar staff should be commended, they are a credit to you, which is why we shall be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellview011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have dined at the Hotel Bristol for many, many years, I must commend them for the quality of their food and eating experience. No school like the old school!
Looking forward to the next one!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Mark R,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
904 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bristol

Property: Best Western Hotel Bristol
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family run hotel. Set above Tolcarne Beach with views of the Atlantic Ocean. Civil Wedding Licence, meeting rooms, free wi-fi, restaurant & bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newquay
Best Western Hotel Newquay
Newquay Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bristol Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing