We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
London UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and found it exceeded my expectations in every way. The shining feature which makes it stand out most is the quality, friendly efficiency and professionalism of the staff, many of whom I understand have been working there for many years. From the charming owners, right through to the restaurant, reception, bar staff and chambermaids, they are a class act. We stayed in room 250, which was a lovely turret room with wonderful sea views, and the room was spacious with plenty of wardrobe and cupboard/drawer space, good lighting, table and easy chairs and fresh flowers. The bed was comfortable and the quality of linens good. The bathroom, although small, had a very good bath and overhead shower - my only slight negative being that we could definitely have done with some shelf space in the bathroom as there was only one tiny glass shelf. We ate in the restaurant on two nights and on both occasions the food and wine were really excellent - and the service efficient, friendly and unobtrusive. On the Sunday evening there was a live pianist playing in the restaurant, creating a lovely ambience. We had one bar lunch and the choice and quality of the light snacks we ordered was impressive. The hotel as lovely fresh flower arrangements throughout the public rooms and a lovely friendly and welcoming feel that is very pleasant. I have stayed in many supposedly 4 and 5 star hotels in this country who would come a poor relation to this excellent establishment - this place does not have any delusions of grandeur; it is just really excellent in an impressively understated way. Add to this it's excellent position, a carpark, and a swimming pool, and I feel it cannot be bettered in the district.

Room Tip: The seaview is spectacular - sunsets are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaL.-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    149
    57
    18
    9
See reviews for
88
171
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Excellent location, view from my room was spectacular , I had the evening meal cream of mushroom soup home made really good, cheese omelette chips and salad, sticky toffee pudding with clotted cream , MMMMMMMMM

The service was really good, I have taken photos of the view and I have shown my husband we will be coming back, the receptionist Christine was very friendly giving lots of information on the area.

Room Tip: 245 sea views, you can lye on your bed as the windows are so low you can look out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.W. England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bristol in May 2014 and had a truly wonderful holiday experience. We have travelled extensively round the U.K. and Europe and have to say that The Hotel Bristol is truly one of the best for high-class food, comfort, ambience and staff- friendliness, coupled with professionalism. The wheelchair-friendly room was exactly that (so many state they offer wheelchair accommodation which turns out to be woeful); it was spacious and had a superb sea- view. Hats off to the owners, Mr. & Mrs. Young, and the Team at Hotel Bristol!! We hope to return later in the year.

Zoe & Paul

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly_zoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I am a Receptionist at another Best Western so I am aware of our very high standards we aim for our guests, and The Best Western Hotel Bristol is certainly following them well. Although a few areas could do with a spruce up, the bedrooms were a good size and well equip with everything needed for my first (of many) trips to Newquay. The bed was the most comfortable nights sleep I've had n a while, with the welcome (and unexpected) addition of a duvet. With the addition to the good sea front location, 5 min walk to the town and Tesco Express literally next door I was very impressed with the hotel in general. Although I opted for room service breakfast, the dining area is simply beautiful and I will no doubt enjoy it on a future visit. The bar and social lounges downstairs that overlook the seafront also looked very appealing. Being a dog friendly hotel also means next time I visit I can bring my beloved pooch. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional. They all seemed to enjoy their jobs within the hotel as much as I enjoy mine! Breakfast was delicious and brought to my room within a very short time of ordering, even though I ordered at a busy time. I think its important to give honest reviews for both the general public to choose the right hotel for their needs and for the hotel staff to see how they are doing. Hotel Bristol are doing a great job and I'd certainly recommend it to anyone who asks. My only criticism would be to invest some money with a little spruce up here and there, but other than that I honestly cant fault the place! Had a great weekend break here and I look forward to returning soon :) Many thanks

Room Tip: I was on the third floor which at first sounds daunting, however a lift made life much easier! Mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCole124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our second stay at Hotel Bristol was just as nice as the first last year. Always a lovely warm greeting both on the phone when booking and when there in person. The staff are genuinely lovely and helpful and seem to enjoy working there (none of this 'fake niceness' you sometimes get in places!). It is a family friendly hotel (we have a 4 and 6 year old) and our 2 children were welcomed and enjoyed themselves as we did. The hotel may not be as modern as others but it doesn't need to be in my mind - you have everything you need and more space than many modern hotels, and it is CLEAN! So nice to be in a lovely clean hotel - even under the beds!! Thanks to everyone - we will see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopscotch2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our stay at The Hotel Bristol was excellent and the room superb (Room 350). The staff were very professional, well motivated, friendly and cheerful.They certainly added to our enjoyment last weekend. We certainly hope to return there for another stay at sometime in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bristol

Property: Best Western Hotel Bristol
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family run hotel. Set above Tolcarne Beach with views of the Atlantic Ocean. Civil Wedding Licence, meeting rooms, free wi-fi, restaurant & bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newquay
Best Western Hotel Newquay
Newquay Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bristol Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing