We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

The Good.. Restaurant Food excellent. Breakfast excellent and the (french?) chef at the hot buffet was a delightfully attentive fellow. Good size room. Smart Bathroom . The beds were very comfortable.

The Bad... Pillows hard and uncomfortable. Fridge didn't work and promises to get someone to look at it never materialised.
Restaurant Service poor... plates whisked away whilst your mouths still full (even trying to take them before we'd finished).. reaching across your plate... standard phrase responses of 'no problems' and 'no worries' etc,
TV in room above was very intrusive.
Superior Room was 'seaview' but looked out on ugly flat roof in want of white shingle and the kingdom of a mean Seagull who incessantly banged his beak on the window (presumably for food) - no blame on the hotel for this one! .
Wind hummed loudly through double glazed window locking gear (whether open or closed ) Tip: stick a bit of tissue paper in them..
Table at breakfast is fixed from day one - sad for us as it again looked out on an unsightly flat roof,... also in want of fresh white shingle.

The Ugly... Try taking a pillow case off - (which we only did because we enquired after a feather pillow and were told they were feather pillows. ) Two out of the four pillows were covered in various types of yellow stains.. both sides... some of which may have only been tea.. Felt quite ill thinking of close proximity all night ,breathing who knows what in... (photos taken) . Tempted to check mattress but thought best not to... Incidently, pillows turned out to be 80% hollow fibre, 20% feather. Replacements were 100% hollow fibre (sadly worse). We bought a pair of feather pillows for £7.50 at Morrisons down the road and slept divinely. (Having heard of £18,000 spent on restaurant curtains, one wondered on priorities...)
Rooms not made up by 3 p.m .. 2nd day, I asked at desk what time they did the rooms as it was 3.15p.m. and was told rather defensively and curtly how busy they were and would get to us eventually (actually, the hotel was fairly quiet all week, and few people in the restaurant or at breakfast - I think they had simply run their staffing level down). Considering this was a 'superior room' in a 4 star hotel, I was rather suprised... and eventually felt brave enough to say so.

This is the first time I've given a generally unfavourable review on a hotel .
Love giving good reviews on hotels (like the excellent Two Bridges at Princetown from where we'd just come). Sadly the standard of this hotel - and particularly the reception staff who begin with a smile but quickly go on the defensive and on more than one matter, 'lacked honest replies'..., has led me to take time to share our experience on this ocassion.

Room Tip: try the Esplanade or Bay Hotel... great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pondstrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    221
    74
    46
    72
See reviews for
160
545
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had a superb room on the 1st floor of the Atlantic Hotel which had been rennovated over the last year or so. Our room was luxuriously decorated which was extremely comfortable and felt like a home from home. High quality furnishings, equipment and ensuite was all in keeping to a room of this standard. Dinner was very good in Silks restaurant and breakfast selection was excellent. Indoor pool was heated and very clean, some maintenance is needed around the pool area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellySteve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Warm welcome good clean rooms fantasic views great breakfast loved it that much goin back in September great value for money this hotel will not disappoint

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzle38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband and I booked 2 nights in a superior room with balcony with Laterooms. This hotel has recently been refurbished and we were very impressed with the standard of accommodation throughout. Our bedroom was huge and extremely comfortable with a spotlessly clean, modern bathroom. Sea views are wonderful here. Most importantly, all staff, especially the duty manager at reception, was extremely polite and professional. Food at breakfast was lovely too. We did not try the indoor swimming pool, so cannot comment on this but we would have used a gym had there been one on site: I think a small well-equipped fitness suite would certainly complete this hotel's facilities. All round, we had a super short break which was well worth the money and will return here again later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandigirlSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We were in Cornwall for 2 nights for a wedding and chose The Atlantic because it was close to the venue.
From the moment we stepped inside the front door, we knew we had made a good choice. The decor is plush,traditional, comfortable.
Reception was pleasant and helpful, in spite of the difficulties they were working under due to a sudden power cut in their area of Newquay.
Our room had the luxury of a walk-in wardrobe, which, having all our wedding clothes to hang up, was a real plus for us. An iron and ironing board was provided as soon we requested them and we were invited to keep them for the the weekend, which we did.
The breakfast choice was probably the best I have seen.
The hotel is in a commanding position overlooking the beach, and we were lucky enough to have been allocated a window table for both mornings of our stay.
We had one evening meal in Silks, a lively and informal bistro which is part of the hotel.
The price we paid in late March was £180 for two nights B & B per room. Given the high standard of the establishment, we consider that to be excellent value for money.
(Pity they do not provide free WIFI)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
545 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Having stay here on many occasions up to 3 years ago when we stopped going due the the tired facilities and rooms. What a transformation now.
Big new rooms decorated to a high standard. All new bathrooms windows,balconies, furniture and good beds.
This time of the year is quiet so no dinner other than in Silks Bistro, which is very good,but plenty of choice a short walk away.
The outside pool is being refurbished and will be good by the summer.
Not the cheapest of hotels but well worth paying for quality.
Now lets hope they improve the lounge and bar area.
Fantastic views of the beaches from the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Had a number of problems - Including shower not working properly/scafolding outside window/filthy dirty spa bath/another guest sick on my shoes/fire alarm going off
Emailed hotel and after 3 further emails to chase response/rcvd email from owner saying every point raised was a lie and advised me not to ever go there again - no chance of that...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scottyboy209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing