We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic yet again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic yet again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have been guests since 2002 and can't resist coming back year after year. This is an amazing hotel and knowing Newquay like we do this is the best place to stay. The location is perfect and the views simply breath taking. The breakfasts are amazing.
We travelled as a couple and have learned from experience to avoid the weekends. For us Mon - Fri is just right!
This is such a great base to drive and explore other areas in Cornwall.
The staff are helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble.
Would we return again next year... YOU BET!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    223
    75
    46
    74
See reviews for
164
550
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The staff were wonderful and very helpful. The food was excellent especially the breakfasts. the room was clean and so comfortable. The views were to die for. We had a room overlooking the bay. It was spectacular. The whole ambience of thehotel and surrounds was perfect. guests could even eat their breakfasts outside in the lovely courtyards full of flowers. We have a very special memory of this hotel and would like to thank all the staff for this stay.

Room Tip: not sure about this question
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhoward32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Went to a wedding in Newquay and stayed in the Atlantic (first time). On entering the hotel I was taken aback by the quality of the decor and the general appearance of the public areas. The receptionist was very helpful and allowed us access to the room early as we needed to get ready for the wedding. The room was superb and not only was quality inside but had the most spectacular view over the coastline. The bathroom was particularly special with a stand alone bath and a seperate shower that hit you from all directions. The bed was very large and everything was spotless. We had a drink in the bar and walked around the facilities which we felt were above a 4 star standard. The breakfast in the morning was relaxed and the food was superb.

I really didn't want to leave and will definitely go back to this hotel when I am next in Newquay! The trouble is that this has set a benchmark which I think most seaside hotels in the UK would struggle to reach. Well done for spending the money and making the stay such a memorable experience. This hotel is 4 star - I think it should be 5!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malpasnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I visited the Atlantic hotel to celebrate our 11th wedding anniversary in May 2011 and from the moment we pulled up in the car park, outside the hotel, we knew that we had made the correct choice! Our room was nothing short of stunning with the most magnificient views you could ever imagine - we just could not get enough of the ocean views from virtually every window in the hotel. The room had everything you could ever wish for and was beautifully decorated, clean and well equipped! The staff were professional, helpful and polite and could not do enough to make you feel welcome and valued. The food at the Silks Bistro was first class as was the breakfast in the morning. The hotel is also within easy walking distance to Newquay town centre, Fistral beach and the walks around the headland are breath-taking. This hotel is by far the most superior one that we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in many both here and abroad), from every aspect, so much so that we have already stayed there again and are due to go back in 3 weeks time! We believe we have found a "Hidden Gem" and love to think that we can escape to the Atlantic hotel for some much needed R & R when we feel the need.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen180372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

we went to atlantic hotel for our 44th wedding aniversary,and we had a lovely weekend.We had a lovely room with seaview over newquay.We had a lovely meal on the Friday in the bistro.we would highley recomend staff were very friendly and helpful,hope to go back soon and stay a little longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonychristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We arrived after a long car journey from the north of England on a lovely sunny day to be greeted very warmly by an attentive member of the Reception team. This professional and friendly service was very evident during our weekend visit. We experienced a slight hic up with our room, offered the only vacant room for that evening along with an upgrade the following day. Both rooms was beautifully furnished and decorated to an extremely high standard, however the upgrade to a suite (at no extra charge due to the inconvenience on arrival) was just wonderful. Sea views, sitting room, large bedroom and bathroom and along with a balcony with views to Fristral Beach were just lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for the team at the Atlantic, the breakfast staff and chef on duty ensured that we enjoyed a varied and fresh meal - smiles all round. We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings on this visit however, on a previous visit last year we did and once again can only comment on that occasion we were delighted with the service and food in the Silks Restaurant. The sun shone the whole weekend and along with the hotel's location, ideal for walking into the town or along the headland, this all added to a very enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony to enjoy the sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynCrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Lovely staff good food nice comfortable rooms would recommend to everyone

Room Tip: We booked superior room with lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing