We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have just had a two night stay in October and found this hotel to be good value for one of the better hotels in Newquay,its position that overlooked the sea is excellent along with the room which was clean , comfortable and well equiped. We dined on the first evening in the hotel and the meal and service was very good. The indoor pool was adequate and we had it completly to ourselves although it is in need of the planned refurbishment due in 2012. The only down side was that as we were on the 3rd floor it took a while for the hot water to run through and the pressure in the shower was poor ,a power shower would have done the trick.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigm1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    228
    76
    47
    74
See reviews for
168
559
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We returned to the hotel after our first visit 20 years ago and were very impressed with its modernisation. We could not have wished for a warmer or more friendly welcome.The room was well appointed with a great sea view.Silks Bistro is an excellent addition with fantastic food and first class service.The breakfast experience was superb with very good service and a wide selection of well cooked food.We now look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Very helpful and friendly staff.

Comfortable, clean room with a balcony.

Good restaurant with very helpul and friendly wait staff.
.
Hotel is quite old but has been well kept and decorated in keeping
with its period

Room Tip: No air conditioning so not sure for the summer.....but Uk never get ...very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hotel in an ideal spot staff very helpful would stay again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinvoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Lovely hotel with modern rooms, fantastic bathroom suites and great food in restaurant. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senttocoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed in room 137, unfortunately my stay wasn't as good as last year.

Again, the nature of the visit was for the Cornwall Construction Training Group function held at the hotel.

The room was nice, spacious and warm, however, the tv reception was very poor, one sachet of coffee and one sachet of tea, last year, there were a lot more, Atlantic Hotel, please sort this out as for a four star hotel, you can do better.

The bathroom was very nice, clean and spacious, however, we really struggled to get any hot water so couldn't really take a shower, following advice from reception, we were told to run the taps for 10 minutes to allow hot water to reach the taps, unfortunately the hot water never arrived.

Food and service was great though, can't fault that. Swimming pool was nice and warm.

Plenty of parking spaces available as you now require parking permits to park at the front for residents only which is an improvement on last year.

Atlantic Hotel, please please sort out your hot water as I will be back next year for the same function.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slappymarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at Atlantic for a week in a balcony seaview suite. The room was very comfortable, although could have swopped tv's lounge into bedroom, bedroom too small! Staff excellent, very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts very good, but Silks restaurant disappointing, felt a little overpriced to the quality served. The indoor pool is very dated, however they are planning new for 2012. Situated some 15 minutes walk to town centre. Parking very limited, don't know how they cope in summer. Overall a very good weeks break at the hotel and would go again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molby_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing