We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Recently stayed 2 nights at the Atlantic Hotel Newquay Cornwall as wedding guests. The hotel was superb -spotlessly clean, excelllent service from friendly and helpful staff.
Room was perfect, clean warm and comfortable with lovely sea view. all facilities you would expect from a high standard hotel.
Breakfast was excellent - plenty of freshly prepared food in an amazing room with fab views.
Wedding was first class with the excellent food and service extended to all the guests.
Would definatley recommend and return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank she1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

The first room we were allocated smelt damp and was cold. We were then shown other rooms and chose one with an electric heater which broke after an hour of usage. We were then given two fan heaters - and told the heating was being put on! Wanted to read in the room but had to wear a coat it was so cold......The heating wasn`t put on - a fault they said.
It felt like a two star hotel being run on a shoestring.
Never again.

Room Tip: Only go when the heating is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great location and I had booked a "superior room with sea views" - which is what I got. Good large room and refurbished bathroom. Comfortable bed - so far so good. Went downhill from there as I had arrived on 1 April and when I asked why my radiators weren't working I was told "there is no central heating after 1st April" ! The night time temps were 4 degrees C and it was only 6 degrees outside at 7pm according to my car thermometer. This is Cornwall - not the Caribbean! I said it wasn't good enough for a room costing over £100/night b&b and eventually the lone receptionist on Sunday evening (this is a big hotel) said she'd bring me up a portable elec heater. Which I then kept and used continuously when I was in the room - which faced north/west toward the sea so sunshine didn't get to the room at all in April. The breakfasts are OK, but the cooked options are kept warm in hot trays - more like a 2-3 star hotel which this isn't. Good marks for fresh fruit/dried fruits and fresh orange juice though - despite the ubiquitous tinned grapefruit segments. Staff seemed minimal and only one eating option was open at this time. If you're going after 1 April and before - what? Xmas? (joke) then take a portable heater with you as I can't believe they have dozens to hand.......

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hotel first impressions good, room OK staff quite friendly however the room ,despite opening the window, balcont door & switching off the radiator was like a sauna ,far to hot to get a good nights sleep.
On the 3rd day the lift broke down hopeless when you have to climb two flights of stairs with a wife who was just recovering from hospital treatment. Wrote to the hotel director & mentioned two other relatively small housekeeping issues, received a rather patronising letter & offer of an upgrade if we were to stay again. Rather poor response & will definitely NOT be staying again,pity the owners don't really understand customer service despite there boasts of real 4* treatment, Agree with the last review Newquay is rather run down!!.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

went to this hotel for four days, found the hotel was excellent.The staff were friendly and the rooms lovely only problem was that our room was really hot as the radiator did not turn off. The swimming pool was lovely and is going to be upgraded, one complaint was the position of the tv it was on the side wall and did not have a swivel bracket so watching tv gave you a neck ache the other down side was the actual town (Newquay) l know its March but there were quite a lot of shops closed and to be honest the town was quite run down, l would definately go back to the hotel but not the town!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Fantastic experience.Food gorgeous.unbelievable service from all staff.will not wait long before returning to dine.Well done to all at the Atlantic.
paul and family

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

A superb hotel!! This was our second visit and once again we were more than happy with all aspects.

The room, a suite with sea view, couldn't have been cleaner and was equipped with everything you would need. The bathroom was an impressive size with lovely large sky light, bath & shower, huge mirror and his and her glass sinks.

We enjoyed champagne & oysters and also had an outstanding steak in the restaurant. I'm not surprised it was busy all through the evening.

The staff were all more than helpful and even extended our departure time. I very much look forward to visiting again in the near future and thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassymiss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
16.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £107 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, set in 10 acres of private headland, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The 4 star, award-winning Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. With 57 sea view bedrooms (from our Classic Double to sumptuous Suites) and newly renovated indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, Ocean view Spa and an AA Rosette Resturant open daily, the Atlantic Hotel offers the ultimate luxury break. Whether it is a family holiday, wedding, conference or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing