We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newquay in May at the Atlantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Newquay in May at the Atlantic”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Had a fantastic four day stay at the Atlantic. This was our third visit and the hotel which continued to live up to our expectations and in our opinion represented good value for money. Members of staff were polite and helpful and were keen to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. Our double room on the third floor was excellent with panoramic views over Newquay bay and beyond to as far as the lighthouse in the direction of Padstow. Breakfast was of excellent quality with sea views surrounding the dining room. We did not use the fitness centre or spa but we cannot imagine them being any different to the rest of the hotel and have scored these facilities on that basis. We very much look forward to our next stay at the Atlantic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_porter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    222
    75
    46
    73
See reviews for
163
549
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

When we decided to get married in Crantock Cornwall, we had no idea where we should hold our wedding reception.... We decided to take short break to Newquay to look around and decide where to have our wedding reception. All our family and friends made the journey from the Midlands to help us celebrate our special day. The Atlantic Hotel was simply PERFECT !!! We had a wedding to remember. The food was excellent, the location was beautiful, and the hotel rooms where simply brillant. All our guests had a fantastic break and all commented on the hotel. Its well worth the money. The staff could not do enough for us. Lorraine the wedding corodinator was very professional and friendly. We could not have asked for more. Thank you.

Room Tip: Dont aways go for the wedding suite- look at the other rooms - our room was beautiful. Lots of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have just returned home after spending two weeks at the Atlantic and really did not want it to end. The food,cleanliness and friendliness given by the staff and the owners are second to none.

The hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the sea and in the quiet part of Newquay.

We have visited the hotel annually for more than twenty five years which is evidence of our
complete satisfaction and enjoyment

Robert Lytham St Annes

Room Tip: We have always found that the rooms on the north side are coolest in hot weather as those on the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevagissey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed overnight on 19th/20th May for my son's wedding - had a wonderful day! The food was divine as was the view from the dining room. Room very spacious and luxurious, excellent tea and coffee making facilities, en-suite spotless and well stocked with toiletries and the hairdryer came with an extra of a diffuser - good for curly hair like mine! First-rate bed, nice and quiet well-equipped room with no noise from Newquay town centre! Breakfast was whatever you wanted and as much of it you wanted too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia13Mevagissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Atlantic Hotel has one of the best locations in Newquay. Looking out on three side to the ocean.

Now down to the nitty gritty of the hotel, staff and service
Reception, ok, perhaps I come from a different era, I always thought you could book a room and your food and drink would be charged to your room without having to take out, what they call, "Extras" bit confusing!!
Rooms very well appointed and very very clean, just need to make sure that maintenance are informed about a leak under one of the glass sinks in room 133.
Staff, pleasant enough, perhaps they need to work on their customer relations skills, don't just turn your attention to guests that are repeat bookers you need to work on the next repeat booking and spend time talking to customers old and new.
Overall not bad but Newquay has nothing to offer the more discerning visitors. Newquay needs to clean up and aim higher than the surfing community!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Spent Easter in Newquay and stayed 2 nights at the Atlantic Hotel. Good location and had rooms with balcony and sea view, and worth the extra as you will have one of the best sunset view you could enjoy. Service is excellent and check in and out is hassle free and the ease of use of internet booking really made our holiday a memorable one. Would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Newquay.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s00ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My partner and I spend 3 nights at the Alantic over the May bank holiday and enjoyed every minute of it. Our bedroom was spotless and the seaview was stunning!Both my partner and I work in Hotels and know how hard it can be, all of the staff were welcoming and friendly, eapecially Sue the Supervisor Waitress, whom we saw at dinner and breakfast. We ended up eating in the restaurant 2 of the nights during our stay and the food was great!!Perfectly situated for walking in to town,would definately return to the Alantic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandSarah8875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing