We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room was outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“room was outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel, both times we booked a room with a balcony and both times were impressed. A works xmas party on both occasions drew me to the hotel and although that part could have been better the rooms we have stayed in were well worth the stay.

The balcony rooms give you plenty of space, are laid out in different aspects and are all on the 1st floor (so don't expect to sleep early if there is a party on below you). Events below will be very noisy but there is a notice in the room saying if that affects you then they will attempt to move you if other rooms are available.

Unfortunately the Xmas meal left something to be desired, a steak knife would have made more sense for the roast potatoes and the sprouts. The disco afterwards was fine, my staff had a really good time.

The views from the room were magnificent, a sea view over the cliffs and along the headland stunned your senses even in rough weather with the waves crashing over the rocks.

I would happily recommend the hotel and the balcony rooms as long as you are either attending an event below you or there is no event. The rooms as I said are stunning but if you are after a quiet stay get a room away from the affected noise area.

Room Tip: I would happily recommend the hotel and the balcony rooms as long as you are either attending an eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Trish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    223
    75
    46
    74
See reviews for
164
550
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Food was lovely, and the atmosphere was great until the disco. Unfortunately about 40 of us were on tables that had to be taken away to make room for the dancing. There was an upstairs area where you could sit, but it overlooked the dance floor so there was no escaping the noise. Some of us wanted to chat so went to the bar area. The tables were already set up for another party (presumably the day after, as this was at 10pm) and the small tv area was full, so for anyone who wants the music to be in the background while you chat, and then go in and out for a dance, there was no opportunity to sit down and do so.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank residentemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Residentemmett
Thank you for your review. On this particular occasion the tables were required to be moved due to the requested function room and lay out. It was unfortunate that the tables had to be moved. However we needed to allow space for all parties to dance and enjoy the music.
Thank you again for your feedback and kind comments regarding the food. We do hope you enjoyed your Christmas Party.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed here for my birthday in November. I couldn't have asked for a better location or hotel.The staff were very friendly and professional, the room with balconey was stunning, everywhere was very clean and well decorated and the price was a bargain. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Jennifer M
Thank you for all the feedback in your recent review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and yes we agree, we are so lucky to have such beautiful sea views from the Hotel and we couldn’t ask for a better location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I first came to The Atlantic Hotel in 1990 for my wedding reception and have visited many times since - both as a guest and to attend other (mostly wedding) functions.

The hotel is situated in a fantastic position on the headland with amazing views - added to that this is Newquay - arguably one of the biggest (if not THE biggest) centre for stag and hen party weekends in the UK, so it is always busy. This might be why they feel they can charge prices they do for the accommodation?

The place is magnificent and I can see why people would still want to book their wedings here - it would be especially nice if you had releatives attending who do not live in Cornwall and would appreciate the sea views from the restaurant etc. Your wedding pictures are going to probaly be spectacular too.

However, the place seems to me to be catering mainly for the big functions and big money from weddings rather than individual travellers. The rooms were small and unimpressive. The shower had very little water pressure and the room was very cold. There were TWO funvctions on at the same time in adjoining rooms and the noise levelo was incredible! The licence for music goes on til 1 a.m. so beware!! We had a live band (fabulous tho' they were!) in one room and a DJ in another. You can only imagine the noise that generates! Added to that the general (and I am not making assumptions here about all wedding guests!) merriment of wedding guets and amount of alcohol consumed and you can see why the coridoors were very loud until the early hours of the morning. Be very carfeul is all I am saying!

Room Tip: AVoid anything over the ballroom - Go fir as high as you can with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthWestLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Cornwall-Liz-Darren
Thank you for your recent review. Our Guests feedback is always very important to us and all your comments have been passed over to the Hotels Directors to help make improvements for the future.
It is always a very rare occasion for us to have two functions running at the same time. However due to the time of year we have been holding a large amount of Christmas parties, arrangements had been made to have the use of both functions rooms.
We record and monitor the sound levels throughout each function or wedding evening. If the levels are over the legal guideline we are always on hand to inform the Band or DJ.
As you have mentioned we have one of the best locations and facilities within Newquay to hold weddings and functions. We are pleased to hear that you also had your wedding reception here in 1990. Information regarding functions and wedding can be found in the Hotel terms and conditions or on our website.
We do our utmost to cater for all individual guests. Our Receptionist are always available to help and give advice when making a reservation or any other enquiry. They will find the best room to suit our potential guests.
Again thank you for your review and best wishes for the future.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed for a friends wedding and paid £120 for a sea view room with balcony. Which I think I'd a bargain. Room was clean and staff polite. However tried to use the indoor pool but found it to be in need of repair and a good clean. It was also freezing cold. As was the hot tub for some reason?!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomatobullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Tomatobullock
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear your feedback on the bedrooms and staff. I am also very pleased to inform you, that we now have plans to refurbish the indoor swimming pool and improve all the facilities within this area. This work is due to commence in the New Year. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a training course in Cornwall. The location is lovely, right next to the sea. I reccomend the sea view rooms for the terrific views of most of the beaches. Breakfast very nice, plenty of options. Evening meals were just as nice (lamb shank not much taste though). Staff at the hotel were very proffessional and friendly. I don't know if it is different at peak summer time though. Only downside.......bed too warm, although some may like this.

Room Tip: room 300 has excellent views and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easylife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Easylife1
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear of your enjoyable stay. Your feedback has also been passed over to our Head Chef in the Silks Bistro for further improvements. Room 300 is one of a kind and great value at a Superior room price. Again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

What a lovely hotel!! Situated looking out over the Atlantic Ocean, with a wild and rough coast. Plenty of historic sites to visit - Plymouth, Falmouth, Penzance, Tintagel.
The staff were welcoming, professional and very efficient.
Two points of disappointment - we deliberately booked the hotel for free Wi-Fi and free parking. The Wi-fi may have been free but it was hopeless. We could only access emails. The In-Room literature asked us not to download videos/use Skype, which was fine but we couldn't even get onto the internet to view static pages because the internet access had been constricted. It may have been "Free" parking but there was none available. There was a function on Saturday night and all the parking was taken up by those attending, leaving the hotel guests with nowhere to park. They need to get this sorted.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertF619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear RobertF619
Thank you for your feedback and such lovely comments, we are please to see you enjoyed your time at the Hotel and in Cornwall. I am also sorry to hear of your disappointments. We are currently working on the Wi-Fi connections throughout the hotel and improving the performance. We also have plans to improve our car parking system. At the moment we only offer free parking to Hotel residents, all other guests attending functions or weddings are advised to use alternative parking near the Hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel when you next visit Cornwall.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing