We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Atlantic Experience”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Atlantic Experience”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We wanted to renew our experience of Newquay after 50 Golden Years of our marriage and the subsequent honeymoon spent in the resort way back in 1963. We were not disappointed! The whole place is still as wonderful as ever! We stayed in the Atlantic Hotel on this occasion (our original honeymoon hotel no longer exists) which is very near our original stay in 1963. The hotel is a lovely old Victorian property tastefully furnished and facilitated to the most modern and luxurious standard. The views from the bedroom were stunning, looking out to, and across, Newquay Bay and the Headland. Truly fantastic! The hotel provided fine dining with great food and ambience. The staff throughout were brilliant without exception. They were friendly, cheerful, with plenty of smiles and always wanting to be of service. They really did make us feel that we were welcome! A GREAT HOTEL! Certainly we will re-visit. This probably says it all - we were originally booked in for THREE NIGHTS but on day two we arranged to extend our stay for SIX NIGHTS.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWP410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Public Relations Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear DWP410,

It's great to hear that you chose us as the destination for your wedding anniversary break. It must have been lovely to come back to Newquay to celebrate 50 years of marriage and we are extremely pleased that you chose The Atlantic Hotel for this special occasion.

Our Victorian style combined with the vast coastal views make The Atlantic one of the best places to stay in Newquay. Our customer service means a lot to us so it's great to hear such wonderful comments about the staff.

The extension of your stay shows that you thoroughly enjoyed the time you spent here, something which means a great deal to us.

We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Atlantic Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Caroline Willis
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    226
    75
    47
    75
See reviews for
166
556
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Have just returned from our first visit to the Atlantic Hotel. Check in was very efficient and the Staff were most polite and obliging. The restaurant staff were particularly friendly and the service they provided was the very best. Breakfast was excellent and the best we have ever had on all our holidays. Nothing was too much trouble and a big thank you to Luke who looked after us and cooked the poached eggs to perfection. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had an amazing view over the sea with balcony which unfortunately we couldnt make use of due to the inclement weather. We shared it with the seagulls and their 3 chicks!! We pre-booked a table in Silks Bistro for our first night and the food was excellent. A lovely hotel situated in a perfect location for touring around the west coast of Cornwall. Only downfall was the lift being out of action for the whole of our stay which meant we had to climb a considerable amount of stairs!! Not very satisfactory if you were elderly or had walking problems. Having said that we would have no hesitation to revisit this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room to get more spectacular views i.e. 2nd or 3rd Floor however make sure lift is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueWhit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Public Relations Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear SueWhit_11,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Atlantic Hotel. I see it was the first time you have stayed with us and I'm glad that everything was to your satisfaction. I appreciate the weather was typically English which unfortunately meant you were unable to make full use of your balcony facilities!

It's pleasing to hear that you had a great meal at Silks Bistro, we are very proud of our onsite eatery. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our location, we are very fortunate to have such fabulous views and we are glad that our guests enjoy them as much as we do.

It is unfortunate that you stayed during a period in which our lift was broken, however this problem has now been fixed and the lift is in full working order again!

Thank you for reviewing The Atlantic Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Caroline Willis
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Atlantic Hotel really is where dreams come true !
We were married there in 2012 and returned last week
to celebrate our first anniversary, the staff remembered us
and we were made to feel very special as we had been throughout
the wedding preparations and the wedding itself
We had 60+ guests, many staying at the hotel and the whole Experience
will stay with us forever.
We cannot say enough about the staff, food and excellent rooms/facilities
and intend to return for many years to come.
Andrew & Adele Rice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Public Relations Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear AndrewAdele,

We were honoured to be the chosen venue for your 2012 wedding and it was delightful to see you back this year. It is always a pleasure to host a wedding and provide guests with accommodation.

We are glad that your special day was everything you'd hoped it would be and that you enjoyed the food and facilities we have available.

We thank you very much for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Atlantic Hotel.

Kindest Regards,
Caroline Willis
Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed for two nights at The Atlantic Hotel with my three sons and a few friends. It has the best location in Newquay on a headland overlooking the town and with views of a long stretch of coastline. I stayed in a balcony suite - a well appointed room with stylish bathroom and sea views but an extortionately expensive mini-bar. A half bottle of chardonnay was £20.00! A notice in the room said it might be noisy if the hotel was hosting a function and it was. There was an offer to try to move you if you objected to the noise, but I suspect this was an empty gesture if the hotel is full and obviously it would involve a downgrade. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. When I asked about cooling the room down I was provided with a large fan - no air conditioning. There was no access for guests to a computer (very surprising for a four star) and the WiFi was patchy which meant we could not book in online for our flight home.
The restaurant, Silk Bistro, was a great disappointment. It claims to be a champagne bar, but when one of my sons ordered a bottle the very surly and unsmiling barman questioned his ability to pay for it. He is not a youngster, but a 29 year old dentist! When we arrived for dinner we were told we had to order straight away with no reason given. As only about six other couples arrived after us there seemed no reason. The staff attempted to rush us through the meal without any attempt at civility, it felt rather like eating in a canteen and the surly barman was clearly reluctant to bring us what we asked for. We were not a noisy or difficult bunch, by the way, the table had been booked for 6.15 after a day clay-pigeon shooting and we all know how to behave in a restaurant.
Overall I gained the impression the staff run the place to their entire satisfaction. I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John_B190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights early June. What a gem of a hotel. The weather was wonderful which made our visit great as we were on motorbikes. Rooms quite large and very comfortable. The views were fab. Food really good everything you could wish for at breakfast. Staff very friendly. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for double de-luxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziek51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Lizziek51
Thank you for giving such a positive review from your recent 3 night stay, It also make a huge difference when the sun is shining! We look forward to welcoming back to the Atlantic Hotel in the near future.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Atlantic Hotel three times now and been impressed on each occasion. The food being served in the Spirit dining Room is superb and compares very favourably with higher profile hotels nationally in our opinion. Of particular note is the friendliness and professionalism shown by all of the staff we came into contact with, both in the dining room and elsewhere in the hotel, particularly the reception staff. The breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cooked and cold foods catering for all dietary requirements and tastes.
The only negative was a lift out of order on the first visit and a seagull tapping the window at regular intervals asking to be fed, presumably as a result of previous guests feeding them! However, the seagull did give up once it realised we were not a source of food! Also the WiFi signal in some rooms is weak.
We look forward to our next visit and would heartily recommend The Atlantic to anyone contemplating a stay in Newquay.

Room Tip: Worth requesting a sea view and if WiFi signal is strong if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenaj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stunning setting on coast of Newquay incredible views. Was at a wedding here and it was gorgeous. Helpful staff too. Some bits of it look a bit dated, but most of it very elegant and pleasant. Couldn't afford to stay there unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esmivram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Esmivram
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear of your enjoyable experience at one of our recent weddings and also sorry to hear you were unable to stay with us overnight. Please do keep track of the special offers page on the Atlantic Hotel website, as we would love to invite you back for next visit to Newquay.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing