We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed overnight at the Atlantic Hotel in a sea view superior with balcony. The room was good and had clearly been refurbished. Although the view is lovely it is only so if you don't look down. The narrow balcony is directly above a flat asphalt roof complete with litter, cigarette ends and other debris. Knowing this in advance I would not have booked this room and had no desire to use a facility charged for in the room price. The Hotel has a traditional style and charm in most areas but also provides a modern twist with the silks bistro. The food was very nice service friendly and quick. The restaurant did lack atmosphere but we put this down to being a Sunday evening. Breakfast is served in an alternative dining room with lovely views along the coast. Although the balcony was a disappointment the hotel is nice. Staff are friendly and professional and the beds very comfortable. Be aware that the hotel is situated at the top a steep hill in case this would be an issue for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fradfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Fradfour
Thank you for your for your review. I am disappointed to read that small flat roof below your balcony was dirty. In the few areas that the hotel has flat roofs these are cleaned on a regular basis to ensure this doesn’t detract from our stunning sea views, and can only apologise that this wasn’t the case during your stay, if you had made us aware during your stay we would have been sure to have correct this straight away. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of the hotel and are stunning views along the coast. We hope to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    221
    74
    46
    72
See reviews for
160
545
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

..my partner and just got back from a fortnights holiday ,staying at the Atlantic hotel, what a fantastic hotel, as I suffer from health problems I was dreading bedtime as i have fibromyalgia ,so we took a memory foam mattress topper, but never needed it as their beds have memory foam , so that was great!, everything kept nice and clean all staff seemed happy and obliging from the front line staff to the cleaning staff, the restaurant called silks was great top notch food, bit on the pricey side so couldn't eat there every night but you definitely got what you paid for and service with a dedicated smile , the restaurant layout was really spacious and there were plenty of tables and to one side round a corner you could sit just for drinks, coffee, etc...
the view of the sea from our room was fab, and we even got to see dolphins through binoculars from the open door by our small balcony!
we had a
twin superior room ourselves
breakfast was a array of different fruit ,cheese and ham ,cereals ,toast and of course the good old full English
we were so taken with the hotel we added on another two nights!!..
would definitely recommend this hotel, would we stay there again?? you bet!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Sally p
Thank you for your review. It is lovely to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and our delighted that you would definitely stay with us again. We are so lucky to have such stunning sea views on all four sides of the hotel, made even better when the dolphins decide to visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just got back from our summer holiday, a lovely hotel, staff very friendly and obliging.The whole hotel was imaculate and very clean it smelled lovely everywhere.Where ever you went in Newquay you could see the hotel sitting high on the cliff, the views were well, breathtaking from every side .Silks restaurant was nice but did not eat there every night ,we found it hard to find nice places to eat outside.The outdoor pool was lovely, indoor one need a face lift but again very clean.To walk anywhere is quite hard , quite hilly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Sandra A
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. We are so lucky to have sea views from all four sides of the hotel making that walk up the hill so worth it. Our staff are a real credit to us they do a fantastic job and always ensure the little touches that make a difference are given to all our guests so they will be so pleased to have received such positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel for another enjoyable holiday in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location,all though we found it is a steep walk back on an evening! It over looks Newquay and the beaches. Our balcony room was beautifully furnished and had stunning sea views . The staff were very welcoming, friendly and attentive. Thoroughly enjoyed a well cooked breakfast on the terrace over looking the sea! The only negative thing lwe can say about the hotel is that the indoor pool area could do with a little TLC . Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSHK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear TSHK16,
Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our stunning sea views as much as we do. We understand that our indoor pool area needs some attention to bring it up to grandeur of the rest of our newly refurbished areas; this is why we are currently working on plans to totally revamp and add to these facilities. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again when you will hopefully be able to make the most of these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A great hotel which is always improving its services (this is the first time we have stayed here as a family) but NOT the first time we have dined here "Silks is amazing (all the staff are gr88888888) We have NEVER had a bad meal here and have been dining here for years!!!" The Breakfast is a breath of fresh air and NOTHING is too much for the staff...

Accommodation is always being checked and cleaned and as said previoulsy the hotel is always moving on..

We will be back
Regards
The Drews

Room Tip: Sea View (Essential) Views out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Richard D,

Thank you for your lovely comments about The Atlantic Hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that the whole family enjoyed staying at the hotel. We are always trying to deliver the best services possible to make our guests stay memorable.

Thank you very much again for taking the time to write a review for us and we look forward to welcoming back at The Atlantic Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

I've paid the ultimate price for not doing my homework and instead making a quick decision on a weekend stay. Too much to list and unfortunately here for 1 more night - maybe... A suite and a sea view room with intentions of working while the others play - no WiFi in either room!!! A £1000+ spent and I am resulting to my iPhone hotspot with no assistance from staff after 3 requests. Tired, tired old hotel that needs to see the working end of a wrecking ball. The bar has hope but unfortunately the remainder is doomed. Please have a look around before you regret this one. I'll post some unbelievable pics one I get somewhere with WiFi..

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank cpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear cpa1

Thank for taking the time to review the hotel. The hotel has complimentary Wi-Fi available for all guests, which is accessible in all public areas and the hotels bedrooms. Unfortunately over the few days that you stayed with ourselves we were experiencing some issues with guests not being able to access Wi-Fi from their room in certain areas which we can only apologise for. It was something we were working on rectifying as quickly and with as little inconvenience as possible, I am pleased to say that during this time we were still able to provide complimentary Wi-Fi access to all of our residents in our public areas and lounges.

I am extremely concerned about your comment of ‘Tired, tired old hotel that needs to see the working end of a wrecking ball.’ As mentioned in previous reviews we work extremely hard at the hotel to maintain our original features and carry out on-going refurbishment of the hotel all year round, with our dining room, function suite, lobby and reception all being newly refurbished at the beginning of this year and the work is continuing with our main stairs and landings to match our recently refurbished bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a good hotel in a lovely position, we had fantastic sea views from the balcony of our room. The majority of the hotel is in a very plush decorative order however the swimming pool facilities were looking a little tired (the indoor pool and spa were lovely and warm though). The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and very pleasant. The full english buffet breakfast was fantastic, served hot and fresh with lots of choice.

Room Tip: for a good view of the sea and north Cornwall coast , a balcony room or suite on the east side would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Alison j
Thank for your review, I am so glad you were able to enjoy and make the most of our fantastic sea views from your balcony. We are hoping to start work on our new spa and gym facilities to match the rest of the décor within the hotel. I am pleased to read your kind comments with regards to staff and will be sure to pass these on, as they take great pride ensuring all of our guests receive the best service possible. We hope to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#4 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing