We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vastly overpriced and disappointing.”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Vastly overpriced and disappointing.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one week from the 17th August until the 24th August 2013. We paid £1900. 00 for one weeks stay on a bed and breakfast only basis staying in a balcony suite on the first floor. Because of the amount we were paying, which we felt was very expensive, we expected an outstanding stay at this hotel. We did not get it, and judging from some of the other reviews I have read, neither did other guests. In all the bill came to £2,170 as we had some room service. I intended to give this review just two stars ( poor rating) but because of the room and sea views and the pleasant and helptful staff, I have decided on an average rating. For the price we paid, I should be doing an five star review, not an average one.
We were happy with the room, the bathroom was very nice and the sea views from the balcony were superb. The bed was comfy and the decor plesant. However, the large TV did not work and neither did the 'cooler' which was warm. The balcony needed a good clean as it was covered in seagull muck and throughout the duration of our stay no hot water came out of my husbands sink and we had to wait a long time for hot water for a shower/bath. I also noticed that there was no air conditoning, which again, for the price, one would have expected. We slept with the windows open as otherwise we would have been too hot to sleep. I feel for people who stayed at this hotel during the July heatwave.

I was very disappointed with the poor selection of meals/sandwiches on the room service menu. Only three types of sandwiches to choose of and only 6 main meals. These meals were vastly overpriced for what you were given, and watch out for £4 charge that is added on every time you order room service. The mini bar in the room had no price list ( despite the hotel saying it does), it does not. Only when we checked out did we realise that we had been charged £20 for half a bottle of wine and £36 for half a bottle of champagne, which is very expensive. Even the small bottles of spirits were £7.50 each!

We ate in the hotels Silks Bistro restaurant a few times and felt rushed throughtout our meal. Once again we were disappointed with the menu and noticed that the menu consisted mostly of seafood or fish, which we do not like. On the last day of our stay the entire menu consisted of seafood/fish and we were forced to order a takeaway. We were not allowed to sit where we wanted to but were shown to the same table each time ( as is the case for breakfast) and we were seated in front of the doorw which were open and both myself and my husband were cold throughout our meal and eventually had to ask for the doors to be closed, which there were.

There was no entertainment on in the hotel during our stay, and for the price we paid we expected some form of entertainment to be put on. We ended up going for walks on watching TV which is exactly what we do at home! We were lucky during our stay as there were no weddings on so we had a peaceful nights sleep.

Of all the things we were disappointed with during our stay at the Atlantic was the so called 'Spa'. We were really looking forward to using the swimming pool and other facilities. We were shocked to find the pool area in dire need of repair and maintanence work. There were tiles missing and there was no steam room which was a personal disaster for me, as I am severely asthmatic and needed the use of the steam room; I am not allowed to use saunas. The Jacuzzi was very difficult to get in and out of and the pole for using to help a person in and out was loose at the base. The sun beds were far too low making it very difficult for people to get down and up from. An elderly person would really stuggle to use the facilities. There were no lockers to protect your items and I noticed dirty mats all over the pool area, which is a breeding ground for bacteria, and something I have never seen before whilst using a spa. The pool itself is very shallow, so shallow in fact, you cannot swim in it properly without bashing your feet and hands on the floor, which both myself and my husband did. We only used the pool once and throughout our stay we never saw anyone else use the pool even though we did pop in and have a look around. The hotel need to spend a lot of money on the spa area. I am aware they are doing this next year, but that is not fair on guests who are paying a lot of money now.

There is a small car park which we did not use. What made up for the poor standards on this hotel was the beautiful views from our balcony of the beaches and the effort the reception staff did make for our benefit when we asked for help. I would not go back to this hotel again. I found it particularly annoying that once back home, the hotel called me to tell me that some items had not been paid for from the the mini bar. I know they had to do this but it added insult to injury. In all we had a pleasant and nice holiday, but this was due to the beauty of cornwall, its people and the weather, not the Atlantic Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room and if you have problems do not suffer in silence ask for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondlady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear
Thank you for your recent review on this site and sharing your experience we take all guest feedback very seriously. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy you stay as much as you thought you would but am glad that you were happy with your room and enjoyed the stunning views we are so lucky to have and that found the staff very helpful during your stay.
I am disappointed to read that you say one of your TV’s and the mini cooler were not working during your stay as we never received report of this during the period of your stay with us. All rooms are checked personally by our head housekeeper to ensure everything is in order before anyone checks into their room. That way we can ensure every single room also has a price list over the mini bar by the safe and tea & coffee making facilities, ensuring all guests are aware of the price before deciding whether to use items from the mini bar. I will be sure to discuss your comments with regards to this with out Housekeeper. The hotel does not provide air conditioning however we provide fans for all rooms on request should you feel your room is too hot.
With regards to our room service menu we have a wide selection of meals and sandwiches available as well as the addition of the lunch and evening specials which change daily, the menu only becomes slightly more limited after 10pm and between 7am. I can only apologise that you felt rushed through your meal in the bistro and I would like to assure that this aspect of your stay has been shared with our team to help towards improving service in the future. The menu in Silks does contain a large amount of seafood being that we are only a stones throw from the harbour allowing us to provide our guests with the freshest local produce possible. However we do ensure that there is always something available for everyone; our standard menu and daily specials both contain a range of seafood, and a range of meat and vegetarian dishes. If there isn’t something you fancy on the menu our chef is always happy to make an alternative dish of your choice when possible. The same applies for tables if you are unhappy with the table you are shown to any staff member will be more than happy to show you to another table of your choice, and you are then also able to reserve this table should you wish to dine the bistro again during your stay.

As a hotel we do not currently have a spa and therefore do not advertise that we have a spa to avoid misleading anyone, however until works starts next year on creating a new state of art spa and wellness facilities we provide guests with complimentary use of heated in door and outdoor pool both with Jacuzzi’s and two saunas in our indoor pool area and these facilities are still maintained to a four star standard , our pool is cleaned regularly throughout the day and receives a deep clean at night once the facilities have closed for the day, and have never before received a comment from any guest stating that the pool is too shallow and is very popular with many of our guests.

I thank you once again for taking the time to share you constructive comments helping us to continue maintaining and improving the hotels standard of facilities and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    228
    76
    47
    74
See reviews for
168
559
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from a wonderful bank holiday weekend at the Atlantic Hotel in Newquay.
What makes the hotel extra special is the lovely staff. The chef at breakfast (I'm afraid I don't know his name) was fantastic and I'm sure the Atlantic know how lucky they are to have such a great employee.
The pool does need some attention, but I believe the hotel are planning on doing work in the future with this, having said that myself and my family still enjoyed a nice swim and the facilities were very clean.
Will definitely return!
Views fantastic, room lovely, breakfast superb, staff absolutely great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnathc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Gnathc
Thank you for posting your feedback on your bank holiday stay, we are pleased to read what a wonderful weekend you had. We do indeed realise how lucky we are to have Majic our breakfast chef as with all of our employees, they play a big part in making everyone’s stay as special and memorable as possible. You are right in saying that we have plans to renovate and add additional facilities to our pool area, we can’t wait. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Atlantic Hotel again soon for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great hotel, fantastic Double Superior with Sea View. Bed great, room high class, and bathroom palatial ! Staff extreemly pleasant, professional and friendly. Nothing seems to be of any trouble. Had the buffet breakfast - exceptional - and chef on hand to see if he could do anything else for customer....hands on !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Adrian_chivers

It great to read you had such a wonderful stay with us. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our wide range of items we have to offer, ensuring there is something for everyone. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future for another fantastic stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My Husband and myself have just got married at the Atlantic hotel and it was amazing, the whole day was prefect. The staff were lovely, polite and very helpful. The food was outstanding, all of our guests commented on how lovely it was and how beautiful the hotel is. We both spent the night at the hotel and so did some of our family and everyone was extremely happy with their stay. Also it wasn't just the hotel, staff and food that were amazing the rooms and views are breath taking! We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, all couples, friends and families because the Atlantic is prefect for anyone. Just make sure that if you stay at the hotel that you make time to visit the swimming pool, sauna and spa, they all are very relaxing! My husband and myself have decided that we will be revisiting the hotel for our anniversary, I can't wait :)

Room Tip: My mum had room 312 (sea view suite) on the top floor which was prefect with full surrounding views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Carolyn A

Thank you for sharing your experience of getting married at the hotel. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your special day and stay with us. It will be our pleasure you welcome you both back to the hotel to celebrate your first year anniversary, we would love to see some of your photos from the happy day. Congratulations once again and best wishes from all the team at Atlantic Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

we held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Atlantic Hotel on 9th August. the day was perfect, the ceremony on the terrace and reception in the Atlantic café afterwards. The view is spectacular, the food was amazing and plenty to choose from. we had an overnight stay in one of the superior rooms with balcony including a lovely breakfast brought to the room the next morning.
thanks again to Lorraine and staff. we had an amazing day. xxxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed at the Atlantic Hotel for 4 nights 12th August-16thAugust.
We stayed here for my wife's 50th birthday and we had a fantastic time.Our room was super and had lovely views.The breakfast was great and the chef a lovely person as we're all the staff in the hotel. We ate in the Silks bistro for my wife's birthday and the food and service was excellent.
All over the hotel you can see that the management are working very hard to make this a superb hotel. Will definitely be back,thank you for a lovely break!

Room Tip: Sea view classic was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear caryboy,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback after your recent visit for your wife’s 50th Birthday. I am so delighted to read you had such a lovely stay and that you found the food and service excellence also that you will definitely be returning, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Atlantic Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We are a family of four and stayed at this hotel for four nights. We found the experience thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. Some great examples of this excellent customer service are:
- it was no issue for them to sterilise my daughters milk bottles in the microwave, this was twice a day!
- the staff managed to find availability for us to stay an additional night during this very busy time at short notice.
- I was particularly impressed with how friendly the whole team were and in particular with the chef who cooked breakfast, he seemed exceptionally enthusiastic and offered loads of different options to cook eggs etc and my son said that he cooked the best pancakes ever which is quite an accolade!
- the hotel was very child friendly!
All in all there seemed to be a great atmosphere about the place. I have to say that it would have been helpful to have had wifi in the room so that my son could watch his Jake the Pirate on the iPad!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lionel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Lionel L
Thank you very much for taking time to review the Atlantic Hotel. It is always so nice to read such complimentary reviews and that you received the highest level of customer service. All of our staff take great pleasure in making your stay as enjoyable as possible. Our Wi-Fi is currently being updated as I write to correct a few issues we have recently received with regards to limited access in some rooms, so next time you visit your son will definitely be able Jake the Pirate in the comfort of your room. We hope to see you again at the Atlantic Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing