We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming hotel, in a great location with ample size rooms and beautiful views.”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A welcoming hotel, in a great location with ample size rooms and beautiful views.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Atlantic hotel. We were really impressed. The staff were very friendly and we were even able to check in early after a long journey. The rooms are very comfortable and the sea views are a must! Breakfast was great as there was plenty of choice. A short walk down the hill to the centre of Newquay or Fistral beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we are looking forward to returning later in the year :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBLP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for posting your thoughts and comments on our lovely hotel. Customer care and experience is our main focus and so I'm very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Atlantic. We agree, the views are stunning! We will very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    225
    75
    47
    75
See reviews for
166
555
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay over the last 3 years and this time we stayed for 5 nights, we are so glad we did!
Everything again was beautiful, the food, the room, the staff and the view! Breakfast was our favourite part due to the wonderful food and very warm welcome from the chef and other staff in the breakfast room. We were very lucky to have such good weather and we certainly enjoyed afternoon and evening drinks in the bar! another brilliant stay and we can't wait to come again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and lovely photos and we'll look forward to seeing you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel, for 2 nights in April, only went in for a drink and ending up booking a 2 night stay. When you first walk into the hotel, there is this amazing bistro/restaurant, which is the first thing you see, very impressive. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea, but unfortunately there was a problem with the hot water, as we had just unpacked, we decided to sit it out till the next day, and still no hot water. Spoke to management and problem resolved yes we had to move to another room, but this was an upgrade so was really pleased how the situation was handled. We ate in the restaurant that evening and it was excellent, service and food. At breakfast next morning we were greeted by a superb chef, who dealt with our breakfast order. He cooked me a lovely omelette, one of the nicest omelettes I have had for a long time. Also reception very helpful and friendly. My last thank you is to the lovely lady that worked behind the bar in the lounge, so helpful polite and friendly see you next year, please keep these standards up it does make a difference.

Room Tip: Definately up grade to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. We work hard to make everyone's stay enjoyable and memorable and are happy that you will be joining us again next year... we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner recently stay here for the wedding of friends of ours. Food was fantastic and staff were very helpful, I turned my ankle over 1/2 way through the day and the receptionist and duty manager were angels, they phone docs and took me to A&E to have it looked at. The room was spotless and the beds very comfy. Would definitely come back and stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to join in the celebrations despite hurting your ankle. Hopefully you are feeling much better now and we can look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I have just had 3 nights here and the stay and service was great once again. The room we had had a great big window looking out to sea. The room was very clean and tidy and we only had breakfast here which was excellent. We used the pool and Jacuzzi which was good but would have liked the water to be a bit warmer but the facilities are very good though. Only a 10 minute walk into Newquay so is a ideal location for staying in Newquay. Would recommend this hotel to anybody but make sure you have a good seaview.

Room Tip: Have a room with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonMeadowbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your great comments about The Atlantic Hotel! We agree... our sea views are stunning! Maintaining an excellent level of customer service is so important to us which is why we're very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at The Atlantic. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, The Atlantic Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good points: Sea views to die for, very friendly, helpful, relaxed staff (esp Dave the porter), a charming large Edwardian seaside Hotel in the grand tradition, very recently completely refurnished and renovated to a standard, not to a price - our room was lovely, sunny and with a dual aspect over Fistral and Town/Tolcarne Beaches, with a quality roomy bathroom - food fine for the price, we were on a special offer admittedly but the price represented real value for money, pool, jacuzzi, sauna (collect operating tokens from reception before your swim), food OK, breakfast in the large dining room great and a Chef who seemed to genuinely care about customer satisfaction, family run establishment so refreshingly non corporate.

Bad points: Bit of rust on the loo brush holder, stain on shaving mirror, no herds of wildebeest crossing the Newquay skyline, it isn't until you have explored that you discover that there is parking around the side and rear of the Hotel as well as the opp the front entrance but if there is a function on, it is barely adequate despite the fact that the Hotel says it is set in 10 acres of grounds!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on customer care and satisfaction and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your constructive comments which we are now looking into. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to The Atlantic Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Utter pants, after being told by a friend who went the previous year not to go, we thought we give benefit of the doubt.....wish we didn't!!! 1st of all one of our party ordered the prawn cocktail when it came out is had more than 50% Salmon in it yet there was not mention of this on the menu, when it came to mains my sea food bisque was cold and almost water like, when the cheese cake came for desert I thought I must have ordered a cheese board as the mascarpone was over powering and I found it disgusting . So over the dinner was an absolute failure!

After we went into the bar where we couldn't get served for love nor money. In the end we left and went into town disgusted with the experience and will not be returning again !!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank D8mow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear D8mow,

Firstly may I thank you for your comments on your New Year’s Eve experience at The Atlantic Hotel and secondly can I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your evening to the fullest. It has concerned us very much that you were not satisfied with your evening meal and that we were not given the opportunity to change or rectify anything for you on that evening in order to improve it for you. We have recently received a Rosette for fine dining and in the rare case where a customer does not enjoy their meal we go to great lengths to provide an alternative meal or rectify the situation. We care greatly about the customer experience and certainly would not like the thought of a customer leaving unhappy.
In reference to bar service, the bar was naturally busy on New Year’s Eve and we are sorry that you had to wait for service. Again, we would have been happy to provide you with table service if the problem had been raised. However, we are looking at our bar staff to customer ratio and re-evaluating our New Year’s Eve bar staffing numbers.
Please contact the hotel on info@atlantichotelnewquay.co.uk where we will be able to discuss this further with you. Your comments have been greatly received and we hope that you will be in contact so that we can go some way to changing your mind about not returning.

Kind regards
The Atlantic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing