We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had the pleasure to stay at the Atlantic Hotel recently.”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I had the pleasure to stay at the Atlantic Hotel recently.”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The Atlantic Hotel is absolutely beautiful, in a historic, majestic way. It looms over Newquay in a prominent position overlooking the sea. Many of the rooms are newly decorated, but the feeling of nostagia and timelessness is still felt.

I would return tomorrow if I could because it is a place of refuge or adventure, relaxation or cliffside walks. There is something for everyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryPE04TMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    225
    75
    47
    75
See reviews for
166
555
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

my husband and i stayed at the atlantic before and was very fond of the old place but that was the problem old....so we stopped our stays and went elsewhere.We returned for our anniversary recently and was so impressed with the changes ,the staff was so friendly and helpful,our room was amazing the food was fantastic ,we ate in silks restaurant and was so impressed we ate there again for lunch the next day,and on our last night drank cocktails in silks andi felt i was a vip especially as the barman was mixing all these lovely concoctions for us ...superb!!!! we,ll shall be returning and would recommend this hotel,and have done so in telling all our family and friends. just one thing to note,the hotel is in the middle of upgrading so the pool and some other minor areas are still needing some tlc but the hotel takes that in consideration and reflects that in the tarriff so another good reason for staying.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopaholic1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The service was really good they couldnt do enough for us. The food was stunning ,the room was big and clean with a lovely bathroom. We wanted to have a nice couple of chilled out days in a luxury hotel and that is what we got, it was what we hoped for and more.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulirickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The Atlantic Hotel dominates the skyline of Newquay and can be seen from almost anywhere in the town. Its excellent location gives it outstanding seaviews with wonderful sunsets. The rooms are very large and very well established with freeview tv, desk, chair, settee and, of course an extremely large bed! There is a mini bar in the room if you are in need of refreshment and wi-fi will shortly be available in all areas of the hotel. The bathroom, again, was large with a free standing bath and seperate step-in shower.
As for food, the breakfast range is outstanding and the evening menus somthing to be recommended, All in all a very comfortable and satisfing weeks holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Initially I wanted to stay at the hotel where my conference was but due to cost avoided it and plumped for the Atlantic hotel. For the price I thought it would be a good location but a little run down. How wrong I was. The location is fantastic. The reception were staff excellent. My room( apparently a single) was immaculate with twin beds a huge plasma TV, bath robes and slippers. This has obviously undergone a recent refurbishment and they are still doing some of the window but it doesn't affect the internal structure.What was the catch? Oh! the view was only of the harbour and coast , unexpected novelty I thought. There must be a catch? The pool looked great, the decor was luxurious and the whole place made you feel very special indeed. I ate at the sushi bar that was mixed into the italian restaurant. Perfect for those who don't all like the same food. The decor in the front restaurant was very artistic. I took a drink on the balcony as the sun went down at sea, perfect. At breakfast I was asked if I wanted to take it on the small balcony overlooking the harbour. Breakfast was exceptional and I was glad I had shirt and trousers on because this place deserves a little respect, although they won't mind what you wear to breakfast. Where was the catch? There was none. I will be going back frequently for weekends due to this fantastic find and I will be recommending this to everybody if it were double the price I paid.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janshaw409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

So Sushi sushi bar in Atlantic Hotel was an incredible disappointment. I am not normally a "write-a-review type" but I really thought it was necessary to let others know. The advertisements and features about the restaurant were grossly misleading. The sushi was pre-prepared, with no sushi chef IN SIGHT (our miso was made by one of the cooks that was in the ITALIAN restaurant's prep kitchen) there were only 6/7 varieties of sushi (one of which was tomato on a ball of rice!!! and all of which were bland and disappointing), absolutely NO fresh or raw fish at all, the rice was mushy, soft and gloopy, and the miso tasted like boiled water with that cheap bulk buy pre-mix miso paste that you can buy in a big jar from tesco. Absolutely terrible. We have always hated Tesco's poor attempt at Sushi, but after that experience we actually contemplated driving up the road to buy some. In the end we left and went home, thoroughly disappointed... and more than just a little hungry. 0/5

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MrPEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We booked two rooms in june one for my parents and the other a family room for us. The room was very plush very nice decoration and bathroom. What spoiled it was the heat in the room. The windows don't open more than a crack and the room was boiling so much so I had to take the duvet out and just use the cover. My parents had a sea view and a bathroom window which opened, we were the other side with just one window. We were hot they weren't.

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, a massive selection of hot and cold food with a fantastic view, I would go back but maybe more towards the Autumn when it was a bit cooler !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_lotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Atlantic Hotel
Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing