We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic night stay - want to go again”
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We won a dinner in a local raffle and decided to stay over, the room was superb (pity we were too old to make good use of the chandeliers..lovely) bathroom including lovely fluffy robes was spotless. Had dinner in Champagne bar which was lively with a good atmosphere, watching the chef's work was a treat, food excellent. Breakfast gets top marks plus a few more for the friendly service. This hotel is 25 minutes from home but we will be going back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenPCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

In these difficult times the Cobley family who have ran the Atlantic hotel for last 25 years have hit all the right buttons for producing luxury and excellent value for money.
This was our second visit and we found the standards to be very consistent, there is a warm welcoming atmosphere from the moment you walk the through the doors, something which is missing in the big company hotels where you are never allowed to feel at home.
Forget your luxury cooperate hotels the rooms here are up with the best, all the bedrooms have been refurbished they are extremely comfortable with excellent en suits, the rooms are very good sized with panoramic views looking out over the breaking surf. these rooms really are five star luxury.
The hotel being away from the town but only a short walking distant to the harbour and the town centre, enjoys a secluded peaceful environment situated on a peninsular at the top of Dane road with spectacular views of the Atlantic on both sides, with the invigorating walks along the cliff tops you can feel at peace with the world again.
The hotel was constructed in the early part of the 20th centaury or maybe just before, and is a very solid building which has very good insulation from the spectacular winter storms, which are a feature of a winter break, but also being far south west the weather can be very clement and spring likein the winter. but what a place to get a sun tan in the summer.
The breakfast is sumptuous you can help yourself to full English or a very good selection of continental style breakfasts, there is table service if you wish with very friendly staff to help with all your requirements, and room service is available.
We found all the staff friendly helpful and approachable which really adds something to the Atlantic experience, along with the fine cuisine that the Silks Bistro offers we shall certainly return again.
I would like to add that my wife and myself have been in the catering industry all our working lives and we live on the south coast in Sussex, obviously we intend to be critical but without nit-picking, however I can say with hand on heart that this is a good establishment which I would recommend to anyone looking for a break in Cornwall or wishing to be central to Cornish attractions or indeed looking for good value with a sensible tariff.
Roger E Smith

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithyEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

First went in July 2010 and was delighted with what we found. Spectacular rooms, very comfortable, no complaints there. Location perfect, sea views, shortwalk to town and beaches. Staff very helfpful and accommodating with one exception, one female bar tender seemed to look down on us which was a little intimidating, but didnt put us off as we returned within the month with our 3 year old Grandson. Very pleasantly surprised by the breakfast, staff were charming and helpful, food was very good and the best cup of tea ever had in any hotel anywhere! The cream tea in the bistro was to die for, had a job to eat it all! Didnt get round to sampling bistro in the evening, but it looked and smelled very nice, will try it next time. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifiholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The service when arrived was efficient, although would have been nice to have been provided with tourist information.
Thought the room was amazing completley unexpected, rate it 10/10.
The location was excellent as it was away from the town but still within a 10 minute walking distance and 5 minute walk from the main beach. The view was also exceptional.
The best things about the hotel include the rooms, breakfast as there was a wide range of choice and the location.
I dont have anything to say negative about the hotel, overall i rate it 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Not only did my wife get food poison from dinner there last Friday night, the hotel never called me back after I called them three times. i spoke to reception many times, and each time they told me the person I needed to speak with was not in. I still have not received a call back, it's been 4 days!

The service was awful, rude waitresses too busy to being menus!!

We ordered the seafood platter. The other seafood, they were not sure of the prices, and needed to ask someone who was not there for 30 minutes. We waited 30 minutes, and that person never showed up. Note to the Atlantic - KNOW HOW MUCH TO CHARGE FOR MENU ITEMS....

Also, not getting a phone call back from someone was very disappointing. I would not recommend this place just based on the attitude of the people working in the restaurant, their incompetence, and the food quality!

Overpriced and pretentious! And a little 80s (in a bad way)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vman2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Anyone who finds faults in this hotel must be looking for them. Gorgeous Decor,rooms,views,and all staff very attentive, friendly and with smiles on their faces. Food excellent, i just didnt want to leave. Definately got to be the best i have ever stayed in the UK.
This place knocks the socks off the rest, cannot wait to go back there!! Many thanks for providing us with the lovliest of memories.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have just spent 3 lovely nights in this hotel and enjoyed it very much. After staying at the Headland last year and being really dissapointed we decided to try the Atlantic and there was no comparison, its a million times better than the Headland, the staff are all happy and smiling, the breakfast excellent, the dining room warm and inviting with fab views of the ocean. We had a sea view balcony suite on the 1st floor which was a lovely room with leather suite, huge bed, huge TV, and a big bathroom with shower and tub, the shower looked amazing with all different sprays etc but in fact was the weak point in the bathroom, very little water came out of it! Our only complaint was that the room was sold as sea view which technically it was as you could see the harbour and the town but it was not the sweeping seas views we were expecting, so if you book these rooms make sure you ask for one with full ocean views. All in all though a lovely hotel and we would definitely stay there again without hesitation. Silks restaurant is quite nice but very expensive and the food is ok but doesnt warrant the prices, unfortunately Newquay is very short on decent places to eat, our best meal was at The Fort the pub down the road. the fish and chips there were excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#5 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#13 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £112 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, set in 10 acres of private headland, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The 4 star, award-winning Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. With 57 sea view bedrooms (from our Classic Double to sumptuous Suites) and newly renovated indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, Ocean view Spa and an AA Rosette Resturant open daily, the Atlantic Hotel offers the ultimate luxury break. Whether it is a family holiday, wedding, conference or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing