We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect couples weekend”
Review of Kilbirnie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilbirnie Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Perfect hotel location 5mins walk from the beautiful beaches and coastal paths for walking. Rooms were very clean, cosy and comfortable with great decor. We booked DBB and enjoyed fantastic 3 course meals each evening, and a great full English to set us up for the day. After making the most out of the lovely town relaxing in the pool, spa bath and having a sauna was a great end to each day. And then enjoy a drink on the front watching the sun set and the world go by. Would definatley recommend this awesome family run hotel to everyone. A perfect get away for a great price!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view a bit more expensive but worth it...waking up to the sea each morning is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0rn0nthec0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, General Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thankyou for your kind reponse, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Kilbirnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

we stayed here last weekend for one night b&b and for what we paid it was well worth it, we got a family room for two adults loads of room space. room decor wasn`t super modern but it was clean & very comfy bed & bathroom was modern.we were at the back of hotel as all sea view rooms were being refubished. indoor pool very nice all to ourselves.free car parking,walk into town 5 minutes.breakfast next morning nice and plenty of it.yes it was mostly pensioners but it is tinstle & turkey season. yes we would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A beautiful local hotel, with lots of atmosphere, warmth and cosiness which we wanted from a Seaside hotel in Newquay. The Owner was so welcoming as were all the Staff who were like a family and the rooms were fairly basic but impeccable with lovely views over the Sea. The Dining Room with its chandeliers and the lounge and ballroom were very cosy. Selection for Breakfast was great and the roast dinner delicious! The indoor pool was perfect after a stroll into the town (with a fantastic Indian Restaurant) or along the beautiful surfing beaches. Plus easy access to other venues like the Eden Project which was very worthwhile visiting. All in all a lovely place to stay for the price we paid - clean and friendly and good food - what more do you want!

Room Tip: Seaview of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinese10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

decor very dated inside and out. room i wrote my name in the dust on the tv unwanted hair in bath tub. all this for £90 a night rubbish. don't do it

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirl053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

lovely hotel, great views. enjoyed the room for what it is. ITs an old school hotel with character. you can see that it was probably the crown of newquay in its hay day. though somewhat tired now it still delivers. Its good to stay in a hotel which has charm. Normally i would stay in premier inns or other corporate non descript hotels for business. Parking was fine and ample, which is lacking in newquay. Breakfast was tasty and the gentleman serving remembered that i like earl grey and delivered it on the second morning without me having to ask for it... I cannot say that i would be back as this was a one off trip with friends that dont like to camp in the rain, and we normally camp as a couple. though i would reccomend this hotel for its service and charm.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamienokia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Great jacuzzi & heated pool. Too many "oldies" on reunion dues making noise to the early hours of the morning & again too many oldies laughing loud at the breakfast table. The management could alleviate the laughing by proscribing the oldies from looking in the mirror & then passing it on!
Average age - 80+

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billy-the-cheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had a great weekend break. Newquay has lots to offer with lovely views, great beaches and plenty of bars, restaurants. I can recommend the value of the breaks at the Kilbirnie, the staff made us feel welcome, the breakfast was good and room clean. Don't expect 5 star pampering, or huge room but you will not find too much better for the price. If we have another weekend break would definitley stay here again. Well done and thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beechowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#25 of 37 in Newquay
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Newquay
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbirnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbirnie Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £118 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbirnie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilbirnie Hotel ***, is located overlooking Tolcalne and Lusty Glaze beaches just a short stroll down onto the golden sands or into the surf,The Hotel offers comfortable en Suite bedrooms, some with fantastic sea views, our leisure facilites inc indoor heated swimming pool, hydro Spa, Sauna, Fitness centre , and outdoor plunge pool, Bar Restaurant and snooker room, We take the time to care about your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilbirnie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbirnie Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing