We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why pay more”
Review of Kilbirnie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilbirnie Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 22 July 2012

In the course of my business I stay in a lot of hotels around the West Country and occasionally I am lucky enough to find a little gem.The Kilbirnie is one of these gems.
From the outset I was greeted by a cheerie efficient receptionist who sold me a room that was clean, comparatively spacious and well appointed for what I considered to be the bargain price of £54.00 for full board.
This is the epitome of a small outfitt showing the big chains how to run a business without charging extortionate prices.
I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Kilbirnie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Wonderful stay. We weren't lucky with the weather on this visit but the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel more than made up for it. We all feel totally refreshed and will be sure to visit again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMJahShaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel was really amazing value for money. We booked very last minute and being so reasonably priced we were surprised to find that the hotel has a great swimming pool, sauna, gym, a good restaurant, and WIFI. It by far exceeded our expectations for facilities, cleanliness, and quality of food. The other thing that really stands out is the hotels location, it is directly opposite the beach, and is the right side of Newquay to get to Watergate Bay and Padstow quickly. Main advice- I would definitive recommend paying the extra £5 for sea views!

Room Tip: Main advice- I would definitive recommend paying the extra £5 for sea views!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Helpful, attentive staff. Clean rooms and bloody good food. Don't eat out at any of the nearby restaurants, we made that mistake - food was great value and very nice at the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here for a weekend. The rooms were good and reasonably priced especially for this time of year in Newquay. The hotel over looks the beach n is in the perfect location- close to everything without being ontop of the town centre and very easy to find too. The staff r really helpful and gave us lots of tips on places to eat out etc. would definately recommend as a decent hotel in Newquay

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lb1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have to admit that we have stayed at this hotel for many years, before we had our son and 3 or 4 times each year since. So why the review now?
Newquay has seen many changes over the years and so has the hotel trade, but one thing remains constant. - The beautiful beaches (soft sand and patrolled safe bathing) magnificent cliffs and cliff walks, amazing scenery and so many places to visit. The Kilbirnie is in the best position to enjoy all these facilities, overlooking the sea on the cliff tops with just a road between the hotel and every beach/cliff benefits.
So where are all the families? And why not come to this family hotel.
The rooms are comfotable and recently refurnished, the reception area is large and comfortable, the ballroom area has plenty of seating which leads out on to a sun terrace complete with loungers and overlooking the outdoor pool (for the brave). A large heated indoor pool and sauna and even a fully equiped fitness room completes the leisure facilities, so why is this hotel not better supported? As this is the best all round hotel in Newquay.
The dining room is elegant and breakfast has multiple choices, well cooked and served at your table. The dinner is wholesome with good choice of menu, this is not "fancy" or fiddly food but is great eating and both tasty and fulfilling.
The staff are long serving proffesionals who maintain traditional values although sign of the times mean they are often overworked and multitasking to make up for less numbers of staff.
I would love to see more families supporting the Kilbirnie as many regular faces return again and again once they have been to Newquay and the Kilbirnie. It may not rate 5 stars in everones opinion, but we give it 5 stars because this is the best place to stay in Newquay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank TheDesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Good:-

- 5 mins away from the town cear nter and easy access to various transaportation facilities
Train station only 10 mins away.
- Friendly staff - we checked out at 11a.m and they still allows us to use the swimming pool
and car parking facility.
- Room was clean and tidy (Looks as thou they have just done some work on the toliet - so it
was clean and spotness)
-Walking distance from the hotel to the beach
-At first I thought this is B&B but I was wrong as I discovered there is a pool (reasonable
size) inside the hotel along with other facilities

Bad:-

- Noise in the moring as you can hear people talking next room and hear people walking
upstairs.
-The hotel overall is old (deco looks like 80's or even older)

Room Tip: Good for value of money
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Review105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.1 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbirnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbirnie Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £54 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbirnie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilbirnie Hotel ***, is located overlooking Tolcalne and Lusty Glaze beaches just a short stroll down onto the golden sands or into the surf,The Hotel offers comfortable en Suite bedrooms, some with fantastic sea views, our leisure facilites inc indoor heated swimming pool, hydro Spa, Sauna, Fitness centre , and outdoor plunge pool, Bar Restaurant and snooker room, We take the time to care about your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kilbirnie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbirnie Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing