We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choir Visit”
Review of Kilbirnie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilbirnie Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I went to the Kilbirnie with our local choir to take part in the Cornwall International Male Voice Choir Festival. We were allocated the hotel by the Festival. Some of the guys had read some mixed reviews online and as I was organising the trip, I was expecting some stick!
I am delighted to say I had no complaints from anyone of our party of over sixty choristers and their wives. Everyone was happy with the food and service, which was overall very good. Although the hotel was full we never had very long to wait to be served in the dining room.The décor is maybe a bit dated - but it is in our house as well! We could occasionally hear noise from other rooms but we slept well each night on comfortable beds in clean rooms. Some of the bathrooms weren't perfect, but I had one that had been recently refurbished and was very modern and pleasant.
The food was on time, well-cooked and well-served. Singers get thirsty and after our concerts it was great to get back to the Kilbirnie and find that staff had kept the bar open for us for a nightcap and didn't complain if we sang a few quiet hymns in the small hours.
The location is great - out of the town and with the open Barrowfields opposite a good start to many walks on the beautiful coastline. I didn't have time to use the facilities, but others did and found it helpful to have a laundry room and hairdressers on site. The indoor pool isn't huge but those that used it and the saunas etc. were perfectly happy with them.
A good stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms 119 - 127 and 219-227 have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldbill186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay. (02/04/13 - 06/04/13). Our family consists of 2 adults and 4 children aged 15,13,8 and 6). Stayed in G10 which was a fantastic size and very clean. Maids came daily and changed towels. Was very quiet in our room and walls didn't appear thin at all. Yes, it is dated, but the bathrooms look like they have been recently refurbished, as does the dining room. We had breakfast, which we thought was continental but it turned out it included Full English! Staff were all very helpful and pleasant and made you feel welcome. Swimming pool was great as was the Spa Bath. We have family in Newquay and needed somewhere suitable to stay and we will definitely be booking here again. My only gripe would be that the pillows could do be being replaced as they were very flat.

Room Tip: G10 is at the end of the hotel which is maybe why it wasn't noisy?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I feel quite sad having to write a less than satisfactory review about this hotel as I was excited to stay there after seeing good reviews on trip advisor. I found the kilbernie to be very out dated (everything in our room was orange - the carpet, blankets (which my boyfriend actually likened to a 'witches shawl' haha, curtains, lampshades etc) and the room was very badly lit - even with all the lights (which were wired up wrong) on. The walls were paper thin and I was kept up until the early hours as the ballroom downstairs was being used for a teenagers party. I woke up in the morning to a teenage tantrum in the room next door but what do I want for £22 a head a night? Staff were friendly, close to town and can't comment on the food as breakfast wasn't included. Average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel is dated but good value. Seemingly managed by husband and wife. She seemed to run reception with a smile, whereas he ran the breakfast room with a scowl! Word of warning: don't try and give him an innocuous "good morning!"

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank duncjags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I always stay here and use the conference room to have a footwear show . The room is very bright with natural lighting . This is a traditional hotel so has character . Great location just out of the main town but an easy walk down and lovely clifftop views . when the tide is out you can walk right along the whole beach which is lovely . The staff always look after me and are friendly and helpfull . nice breakfast and a nice little pool which i often have to myself . Remember you get what you pay for and this for the money is absolutely fine .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pumpadump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed for a saturday night, fist weekend in October. We took our small westie with us, as dogs are permitted on all the beaches out of season. It's ideally situated and is an easy stroll into town, and directly opposite the beach. The room was clean and tidy. We had a sea view and a bathroom with a bath. The tv was very old and the reception was bad. There was no wifi in the room. The breakfast was very nice, full english, choice of cereals and tea and coffee were in plentiful supply, served to your table. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: If there is a function on, ask for a room away from the ballroom, sound travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I booked in initially for two nights but decided we would like to stay an extra night. The staff were really helpful as at first the hotel was full but due to a cancellation they jiggled it so we could stay in the same room. The room was comfortable and clean, the full English breakfast was nicely cooked and there was also a good selection of cereals, fruit etc. We liked the fact that the hotel was just on the edge of Newquay so not noisy and we enjoyed walking to the cliff edge and taking in the view. There was always space to park the car though sometimes a little difficult but this may have been because two coaches were taking up several parking spaces at the front of the hotel and we had to park at the back. It has two pools but these were closed when I went to check them out . The hotel may not be ultra modern but it is perfectly adequate and excellent value for money. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: worth paying a little extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanesra9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
0.9 mi away
Whipsiderry Hotel
Whipsiderry Hotel
#17 of 37 in Newquay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbirnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbirnie Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £53 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbirnie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilbirnie Hotel ***, is located overlooking Tolcalne and Lusty Glaze beaches just a short stroll down onto the golden sands or into the surf,The Hotel offers comfortable en Suite bedrooms, some with fantastic sea views, our leisure facilites inc indoor heated swimming pool, hydro Spa, Sauna, Fitness centre , and outdoor plunge pool, Bar Restaurant and snooker room, We take the time to care about your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilbirnie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbirnie Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing