We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carry on newquay”
Review of Kilbirnie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilbirnie Hotel
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“carry on newquay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is a joke and full of comedians, however they are not so funny when you call to make a booking, on the telephone the staff are very polite and eager to tell you how great their hotel is, once they have got you there its a different story!
On arrival we were pleased to find our room was ready early, we were asked to settle the bill in full so we did, BIG MISTAKE!!!
Our room was on the outer corner wall of the hotel, and when booking the helpful staff had failed to mention there was a building site next door that started work, hammering and drilling at 7am , not the best start to the day when trying to relax.Not wanting to make a fuss we thought we we go and relax in the spa bath and have a swim in the "heated indoor pool" HA HA HA HA HA , The pool was freezing as was the spa bath , when i asked at reception why it was cold they casually told me the boiler was broken, so we asked the best way to walk in to town and the reply was "ON YOUR FEET" oh how i laughed!
At breakfast the next morning after being woken up to the tranquil sounds of hammering, we were shown to a table that sat almost on top of a dumb waiter that was loaded with dirty plates of left over food, i asked if there was any chance we could have a seat next to the window and was told "THERE ARE TWO WINDOWS OVER THERE" i took this to mean i could take my pick and started to move when i was told they were all taken, this was obviously another wise crack....the jokes just kept rolling in. When breakfast arrived it was swimming in grease and their idea of continental breakfast was cheap slices of what i can only think was attempting to be ham (not a selection of meats as described when booking) and dry croissants .
3 days in to the stay the pool was still not heated and when i complained to reception about the building work they just said that the builders were not supposed to start til 8, and gave no response about the pool or spa at all, basically they had your money and any customer service was not the agenda.
I now know why our room was ready so early, because no one in their right mind would stay in this dump any longer than they had to!!

Room Tip: book somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James_d4385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear James,
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you feel so negative about the Kilbirnie Hotel.
I am glad your room was cleaned before others to ensure you had an early check in as requested.
With regards to the building work next door to the hotel, we have been informed by Wainhomes that no work is to be carried out until 8 am, and that no 'heavy noise' work is to commence until after 9am. The what was once horrible derelict waste land is now being converted into modern apartments and houses, which will make the area look a lot better. Unfortunately, this means builders have to build, and with building comes sound. I do sincerely apologize, but as this is not our land, or our company there is very little we can do about it. All I can say is that when it is done, it will look 100% better than looking out onto a derelict building full of graffiti, and will be a good housing estate for the Newquay community!
The 'on your feet' comment, I think has been taken the wrong way. The best way to get into Newquay is walking as it is only 10-15 minutes away. Driving around Newquay's one way system can sometimes be quite tedious and there is not much parking to be found in the center. Of course, if you had let us know that walking was an issue we would have been more than happy to book you a taxi to where ever you wanted to go.
I apologize for the indoor pool, this was a problem. The main boiler had a fault, and of course when a boiler has a fault, just as in a normal home this causes problems with the heating. We tried to get the problem sorted as quickly as possible, but I am sure you can understand trying to get a plumber at the weekend, let alone a commercial plumber into the hotel to sort out the issue can be quite hard. The problem has be sorted since your visit. Of course if you really wanted to have a swim, our sister hotel, the Edgcumbe next door would have let you use their pool - you only need of asked. If this point was not made clear to you I apologize.
As the Kilbirnie is a big hotel with 66 bedrooms, we do have to allocate seating in our dining room. As without being organised, the dining room would be quite chaotic with guests coming in and sitting anywhere. I am sorry that you did not get a window seat, however you can see the same view out of the windows from any seat in the restaurant. With regards to the breakfast 'swimming in grease', the whole breakfast ; bacon, sausage, beans and tomato are all freshly grilled with only the egg being fried, hence I do not understand where all of this grease could have come from? I am sorry however that this was the case.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    67
    51
    23
    29
See reviews for
52
77
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ideally located close to the more northern beaches and a short walk into the center of town. This works well as town can get noisy later on - if you want that stay in one of the central hostels / surf houses. The entrance is nicely furnished and there is plenty of parking out front and in the back. There were quite a few coach parties there during out stay but we didn't have to wait long for anything. The breakfast is nice although a slightly unusual experience with lots of waiters just milling round. I guess they must have dedicated tables as no one wanted to take our order or even make eye contact (apart from our dedicated guy who disappeared for a while!) The food was nice enough however.
The only thing that really let the room down was the fact that the shower didn't really work at all (perhaps this is an issue if you are staying longer than we did?!)
The hotel is a good steady choice for visiting Newquay and I would recommend it to most people on a normal budget.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Alex, thank you for your positive review.
Being just 5-10 minute's walking distance from the center of Newquay Town and 2 minutes from the beautiful Tolcarne beach, the Kilbirnie is able to offer a great location for everyone. We have lots of parking, as you say which we provide to our guests for free, another one of our little benefits.
I am pleased you got to enjoy our continental and freshly cooked Cornish Breakfast that we offer, and yes as you suggest all tables are given to designated waiting staff. We have a lot of people in to the breakfast room at the same time in the morning, due to tours around Cornwall, and we have found that this is the best way to serve everyone efficiently. I am sorry that you felt that you were not being served fast enough, and that your waiter disappeared. I have informed the staff that they must keep a look out for other tables. I apologize for the low water pressure, we have had problems with some of our rooms on the second floor this season. The problem has however now been resolved, and all of our rooms have better pressure and a quicker pull on the hot water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel did the job for 3nights. We are a family of 2 adults & 2 children ages 4 & 8years old. Hotel is Full of Germans on coach tours, but we prefer that to tacky Brits in a caravan site (which was last years Newquay experience). We were fairly lucky with noise levels from neighbours, we were located on the second floor in the end room 219, (which has lively sea views) the first 2nts we had a German couple-no bother and quiet. Last night British couple who had the tv on full blast and were load! We called reception at midnight to get them to turn the tv down, it was like they were in the same room! The night porter called them and sorted it-we heard that call too.

Our family room had a double bed and 2 singles-nice but my boys wanted bunk beds as per the pictures on the web site.

We booked breakfast, which was ok. Continental buffet was disapointing after 8.30am (breakfast is served till 9.45), and hot breakfasts are made to order-which were fair-but they need to change the cutlery, it looked brass with flaking off them. Staff were very friendly in the breakfast room.

The pool is nice, our boys loved it. Outdoors was too cold, even in August! The hot tub water smelt funny, and looked abit green..

Parking is tight, and some guests took two spaces-I can see why (esp if you drive a merc or Audi),but that doesn't help the rest of us staying here.

I would stay here again, but would want the same room in order to be in a quiet part if the hotel away from others!

There is building work going on next door but it didn't affect us at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Lydia, i am pleased that you got to enjoy one of our family rooms at the Kilbirnie. With a King sized bed for the adults, and room for up to 4 children our family rooms offer an affordable alternative to having to split the parents and children between rooms.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by guests next door to you, however pleased to see that our night porter was on the ball and phoned as soon as he knew their was a problem.

Im glad your boys got to enjoy our swimming pool, there is nothing like going for a swim whilst you are on holiday! I am sorry about the hot tub, it does get checked Monday to Friday, perhaps it had a HEAVY use over the weekend. I hope you were able to inform reception of this issue, whereby they would have got someone to sort out the problem immediately.

With regards to the parking, the hotel has 50 space which it provides free of charge. It is very annoying when people park over 2 spaces, its good to know you have good parking skills to get into that tight spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Well-positioned hotel;convenient for town and beaches. Good, clean and well-decorated bedrooms; good indoor pool. Outdoor pool overlooked, empty and small. Hotel exterior and grounds at rear needs updating; tired dining room and lounge areas. Cooked breakfasts fine; continental breakfast limited. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Wendy, it seems like the Kilbirnie Hotel was perfectly located for your holiday in Newquay - That's Great!
The hotel exterior is maintained every end of season, you came at the end of August, so only a few months to go for our yearly face lift. This year as well , during the winter season we are closing the hotel to refurbish the whole of the reception & lounge area, maybe if you come again you will be able to enjoy the difference...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanon
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A good deal for travelers, pool, sauna and inclusive evening meal proved good value for money. Dinner was good with a fair choice on the menu, and a substantial breakfast was available. The spa was clean and well kept with a good functioning sauna.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojord1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for this great review!

I am glad you got to enjoy our 4- course table d'hote evening meal, as well as relaxing in all of the Kilbirnie's 3 star facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Put simply, this is a decent friendly hotel. Staying for one night on business and it fits the bill fine. Better than several others I've used in Newquay. Hotel is towards the north end of town so seems quieter but still overlooks the sea. Great view of a summer sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oona1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
I agree Oona1234 - there really is nothing better than enjoying a nice drink on the front of the Kilbirnie Hotel terrace watching the beautiful colors of the sun setting over the Atlantic ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for four nights recently and found it to very comfortable and clean. Our room was very clean with a spotless bathroom and a great shower. The only fault was the rather thin walls, you could hear any conversation on either side. The outdoor pool was out of order due to a leak. However, the indoor pool was clean and warm. Breakfast was lovely and served by cheerful staff. Evening meals were delicious and big portions. All in all a great value hotel and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Jojo, i am sorry that you were not able to use the out door pool, as you say we had a leak and so the pool had to be drained to fix it and then re-filled. Glad you made use of our indoor pool though! Hope you also got to enjoy the spa bath and sauna?

Nice to hear that you stayed with us for dinner, most people go B&B or Room only these days and miss out on our traditional English Cuisine using local meat and freshly caught fish.

Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#34 of 38 in Newquay
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbirnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbirnie Hotel

Property: Kilbirnie Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbirnie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilbirnie Hotel ***, is located overlooking Tolcalne and Lusty Glaze beaches just a short stroll down onto the golden sands or into the surf,The Hotel offers comfortable en Suite bedrooms, some with fantastic sea views, our leisure facilites inc indoor heated swimming pool, hydro Spa, Sauna, Fitness centre , and outdoor plunge pool, Bar Restaurant and snooker room, We take the time to care about your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kilbirnie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbirnie Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing