We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dinner dance evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilbirnie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilbirnie Hotel
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dinner dance evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We attended a dinner dance function here last night and
I would warn anyone doing the same to forget your evening clothes and put your thermal underwear on
on arriving the hotel felt cold ,there was little heating on.The lobby was heated by a calour gas heater and the same in dining room,although there is a large gas fire in ballroom it was not on and we had to request that it was turned on
I can say for sure that almost everyone was complaining of the cold including the men .
I believe this hotel is not open to guests at this time of the year and it appears that the main heating system is turned off .After sitting though the meal and speeches I was so cold that I felt
awful and we left long before the evening was over
This said the meal provided was excellent it was hot,plentiful and a good flavor but other than that there is nothing to recommend it
I will never go there again to an evening function as the whole event was ruined by inconsideration

Room Tip: did not stay night so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penjenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Penjenkin,

I am very sorry that you felt the cold the evening of your function on the 29th November.

The heating was on in the whole hotel and as we thought it was a cold evening we even put a calor gas heater into the reception entrance to stop any cool air blowing in from under the door. I felt that at 7 pm the reception was so toasty that i moved the gas heater into the dining room to give it a quick blast before your Dinner at 7.30.

The Large gas fire in the ballroom, which we put on when someone asked provided even more heat to the party.

I myself, the Manager who was working all night did not hear one mention of the Hotel being cold, i was only wearing a thin short sleeved top and skirt and did not feel the need to put on a jumper.

Again i apologize for the inconvenience caused for you feeling cold.

Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    66
    44
    21
    29
See reviews for
49
70
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel itself is well located for the Beaches. Not too much of a walk to the Bars / Shops. I booked this Hotel over the Premier Inn because it has a Pool, "Thermal Spa" and Sauna.

The Sauna was chargeable. Both the Pool and "Thermal Spa" where Cold. I had to pay for a Sauna to actually get so hot that I could brave the Pool. Both the Pool and Jacuzzi where more of an endurance challenge than a pleasure to use. They also had an outdoor pool which was really Cold but this is to be expected as it's outdoors !!

The shower had very poor pressure and I found myself hunched under it. The Heating did not come on until after Breakfast. By this time I had my shower and it wasn't required.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StormUk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from a two night break here, good position for the town centre if you can do a 15 min level walk, as that saves on parking costs. Free parking at the hotel.
Reception very helpful and quickly booked in. Lift to the bedrooms, sea view room was on the small side, very clean, good comfy bed, bedding and towels good. The room looked like it had recently been refurbished, unfortunately bathroom was dated. (A tip here to the hotel, get rid of bath and install walk in showers. )
Breakfast service was good, better quality sausages needed not the catering cheapest ones. But otherwise well worth the price we paid for the weekend. Can't comment on the pool as we didn't use it. Thanks for an enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Nice to wake up to a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shes186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

On arrival the reception staff were very welcoming and allowed us into our room early. The room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. There is ample parking and the hotel is within walking distance to all local amenities. The swimming pool and Spa are very good. The breakfast is adequate and again the staff are friendly and helpful. All this made for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

we found the staff warm and friendly. the pool was warm and clean and i had it to myself which was wonderful. breakfast was everything you could ask for. Our room was cleaned to a very high standard every day. we will definately stay at this hotel again, we highly recommend it to anyone going to Newquay. mrs mcfarlane

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Another year at this lovely family run hotel. This was our 6th time of coming here to do our crafts in the Conferrence Room. The staff are as always just lovely and make us so welcome, love you all. If you want stay in the quiet end of Newquay, there is no better hotel, just try it!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Another successful 'Crafts Circle Function' at the Kilbirnie Hotel. I am glad that you and your guests enjoyed their 4 night half-board stay at the Hotel, taking advance of our conference facilities. Its always nice to see you each year. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is a joke and full of comedians, however they are not so funny when you call to make a booking, on the telephone the staff are very polite and eager to tell you how great their hotel is, once they have got you there its a different story!
On arrival we were pleased to find our room was ready early, we were asked to settle the bill in full so we did, BIG MISTAKE!!!
Our room was on the outer corner wall of the hotel, and when booking the helpful staff had failed to mention there was a building site next door that started work, hammering and drilling at 7am , not the best start to the day when trying to relax.Not wanting to make a fuss we thought we we go and relax in the spa bath and have a swim in the "heated indoor pool" HA HA HA HA HA , The pool was freezing as was the spa bath , when i asked at reception why it was cold they casually told me the boiler was broken, so we asked the best way to walk in to town and the reply was "ON YOUR FEET" oh how i laughed!
At breakfast the next morning after being woken up to the tranquil sounds of hammering, we were shown to a table that sat almost on top of a dumb waiter that was loaded with dirty plates of left over food, i asked if there was any chance we could have a seat next to the window and was told "THERE ARE TWO WINDOWS OVER THERE" i took this to mean i could take my pick and started to move when i was told they were all taken, this was obviously another wise crack....the jokes just kept rolling in. When breakfast arrived it was swimming in grease and their idea of continental breakfast was cheap slices of what i can only think was attempting to be ham (not a selection of meats as described when booking) and dry croissants .
3 days in to the stay the pool was still not heated and when i complained to reception about the building work they just said that the builders were not supposed to start til 8, and gave no response about the pool or spa at all, basically they had your money and any customer service was not the agenda.
I now know why our room was ready so early, because no one in their right mind would stay in this dump any longer than they had to!!

Room Tip: book somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James_d4385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear James,
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you feel so negative about the Kilbirnie Hotel.
I am glad your room was cleaned before others to ensure you had an early check in as requested.
With regards to the building work next door to the hotel, we have been informed by Wainhomes that no work is to be carried out until 8 am, and that no 'heavy noise' work is to commence until after 9am. The what was once horrible derelict waste land is now being converted into modern apartments and houses, which will make the area look a lot better. Unfortunately, this means builders have to build, and with building comes sound. I do sincerely apologize, but as this is not our land, or our company there is very little we can do about it. All I can say is that when it is done, it will look 100% better than looking out onto a derelict building full of graffiti, and will be a good housing estate for the Newquay community!
The 'on your feet' comment, I think has been taken the wrong way. The best way to get into Newquay is walking as it is only 10-15 minutes away. Driving around Newquay's one way system can sometimes be quite tedious and there is not much parking to be found in the center. Of course, if you had let us know that walking was an issue we would have been more than happy to book you a taxi to where ever you wanted to go.
I apologize for the indoor pool, this was a problem. The main boiler had a fault, and of course when a boiler has a fault, just as in a normal home this causes problems with the heating. We tried to get the problem sorted as quickly as possible, but I am sure you can understand trying to get a plumber at the weekend, let alone a commercial plumber into the hotel to sort out the issue can be quite hard. The problem has be sorted since your visit. Of course if you really wanted to have a swim, our sister hotel, the Edgcumbe next door would have let you use their pool - you only need of asked. If this point was not made clear to you I apologize.
As the Kilbirnie is a big hotel with 66 bedrooms, we do have to allocate seating in our dining room. As without being organised, the dining room would be quite chaotic with guests coming in and sitting anywhere. I am sorry that you did not get a window seat, however you can see the same view out of the windows from any seat in the restaurant. With regards to the breakfast 'swimming in grease', the whole breakfast ; bacon, sausage, beans and tomato are all freshly grilled with only the egg being fried, hence I do not understand where all of this grease could have come from? I am sorry however that this was the case.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbirnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbirnie Hotel

Property: Kilbirnie Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbirnie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilbirnie Hotel ***, is located overlooking Tolcalne and Lusty Glaze beaches just a short stroll down onto the golden sands or into the surf,The Hotel offers comfortable en Suite bedrooms, some with fantastic sea views, our leisure facilites inc indoor heated swimming pool, hydro Spa, Sauna, Fitness centre , and outdoor plunge pool, Bar Restaurant and snooker room, We take the time to care about your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kilbirnie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbirnie Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing