We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would definitely come back”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Exterior Kitchen Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Lounge
Exterior
Kitchen Diner
Master bed and en-suite
Manor House bar and function room
Indoor Pool
Outdoor Pool
Kids indoor play area
1 of the 3 bathrooms
Shower Room
Family size accommodation
Summer House
Gym at the Leisure Club
Indigo Spa
Reception Area
Open plan living
2nd bedroom
Cafe Area
Rear of property
Newquay Beach 1
Fistral Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
218Kelly2...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice- but not VIP!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this holiday online with Hoseasons, and the 4 bed cottage we booked claimed to be 'VIP' on the (quite impressive) website. In all honesty....it wasn't, but as chalet style accommodation goes, and considering it was the summer holidays, it wasn't bad, and certainly not the worst we have stayed in.

The entrance of the complex looked fairly classy, and promoted itself as a 'Spa and Golf Resort' which was a little optimistic in our opinion! As you drove into the holiday park, first impressions were.....it looks like a council estate!! The accommodation as you drove in looked quite shabby and unattractive. It got better as you drove further in, and the larger cottages were painted in pretty pastel colours, but every single one of them needed re-painting. You would expect that this would have been done during the winter months ready for the Summer season, but clearly not!

The cottage itself was in the process of being cleaned as we arrived, and eventually we were given the keys. The rooms were all a bit dated and could have done with a lick of paint, but the TV in the main living area was huge and looked quite new which was a nice surprise and our two little boys liked watching Cbeebies after a busy day at the beach. The kitchen was fairly modern and clean, and the dining table was a nice size. The small courtyard garden offered a hot tub, which was lush! It was so nice to get in the tub after a day out, and the boys liked getting in it once it had got dark in the evenings, as there were coloured flashing lights! A nice addition to the garden area would have been a BBQ. Upstairs was fairly bog-standard but clean enough and what you would expect from Holiday accommodation. The family bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath which was nice.

The facilities on site were good....the pool was a nice size and clean, there was a soft play area, but really designed for much younger children, (our 5 and 6 year old were not impressed at al!). There was a nice bar area and a restaurant. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the grandparents did, and said it was average, nothing special. The one thing this site desperately lacked was a shop!!! Absolutely nothing available on site to buy bread, milk and the daily essentials, so we had to stop off at Morrison's or Sainsbury's which was no hardship, but how much more convenient it would have been to have a shop on site!

My Mother-in-law and I went to the spa one afternoon which was very nice indeed. The spa was offering 2 treatments for £45 which was good value. The spa itself was ok....nothing wonderful, but the treatments were amazing!! I had a back and shoulder massage, and a facial and it was one of the best I have ever had, and I have been to some very nice Spas in my time.

Places to go- don't go to Newquay!! It has lost it's charm and is quite run down nowadays. Padstow is a lovely place to visit, the sea walk is to die for and the fishing village is very endearing. The hubby and kids enjoyed a morning crabbing whilst I meandered around the quaint, quirky little shops. We went on a speed ship ride around the bay which made us all laugh and it was very nice to have the sea breeze blowing through our hair. Worth doing!

Lusty Glaze beach was a real find, the boys enjoyed exploring the caves and we witnessed a few weddings going on there.....if I could get married again, that's where it would be! Hawkers Cove near Padstow was our favourite beach- just beautiful!! It can be tricky to find as it's down a long, winding, dusty path but once you get there it is a real gem of a beach. We all loved it. Not far from Hawkers Cove is a little tea garden (Rest a while tea garden) overlooking the sea (the views are sensational), and we enjoyed a lovely, delicious cream tea- one of the best I have tasted.

Evening restaurants- you have to book during the Summer season! The best we found was The Two Clomes nearby the holiday camp in a village called Quintrell Downs on the way to Newquay. Lovely pub serving good food. For families, try Table Table, linked to a Premier Inn. Basic pub food and no good for foodies, but great if you hungry kids with a preference for pizza and chips, and the meals were tasty enough for adults too.
We got a takeaway one night from Port and Starboard, a good fish and chip shop nearby.

All in all- a really nice break....the holiday site is in a good location and if you're just looking for a good base then it's perfect! Cornwall has so much beauty to offer and it really doesn't matter where you stay because the surrounding beaches and countryside are ultimately what you visit the West Country for.

Not sure if we will go back to Atlantic Reach but it's good, standard, family accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and spa
Liked least: no shop on site
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary k
loughton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely come back”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Just returned from a holiday stay at a four bedroom cottage stay here at Atlantic reach and was very impressed. With the cottage. Very clean with three good size bedrooms and one smaller room large enough for two children, excellent three bathrooms one with a jacuzzi built in bath and another in ensuite with master bedroom large downstairs layout with open plan kitchen lounge area. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and was impressed that they were able to change my holiday booking date due to unforeseen circumstances without any charges.Will without doubt come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage was bigger I expected
Liked least: Would have liked the pool to be larger
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalckSamu...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Atlantic Reach, we will be back.Great place and great city!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I was a bit worried before do my check in. I had a judo group team going for a 1 week training camp and we rented 10 lodges at Atlantic Reach. I did read few reviews and was bit worried but the place is ACE!
Great manager, great lodges, perfect ,clean and sweet indoor pool! Gym was better then my local fitness first
I loved this place, Newquay is also great place to chill with kids,wife or alone
Will be back , thanks Atlantic Reach
Manager and all staff real cool
Cheers and hope see you next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed 18 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in Lodge 35 at Atlantic Reach recently, with 8 friends. Lodge far surpassed our expectations.

The place was huge, very clean, brand new LCD TV in the front room, nice kitchen with plenty of cutlery, utensils, etc, nice bathrooms with very good showers.

Only downsides: No towels provided, and hot water went very quickly when you've got 9 people needing to shower at similar times.

Great location, Newquay was a 10-15 minute drive, and cost us no more than £30 in a taxi between the 9 of us.

Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicki1176
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of a refurb!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Just got back from our stay at Atlantic Reach. We had read some of the reviews before we left for Cornwall and were hoping they were wrong. Sadly they were right. The resort is dated, untidy with all of the cottages desperately needing a lick of paint to the outside. Our cottage was a 4 bed, 3 bath 'luxury' accomodation. It was damp, the kitchen seemed reasonably new but the smell of damp from the cupboards was awful. The downstairs bedroom had no heating and was freezing, the bed was damp too and smelt awful. All of the beds in all of the rooms were very uncomfortable, with paper thin duvets and really tired & dated bedding. The bathrooms were a good size and were clean. The ad for this place shows leather sofas and flat screen tv's. We had 3 very old, stained sofas with the tiniest tv you have ever seen. Don't be fooled into thinking this is standard in all the cottages The pool was warm and clean, but no WiFi as promised, We also booked the Eden tickets and Crealy tickets, paying a small amount for each on the intial booking, on arrival we were told we could have one or the other, not both, even though we had paid for them!! We got this accomodation at a discounted rate as they made an error with our initial booking, if we had paid the full amount I would be complaining and asking for a refund. For the price that they are asking for this holiday you could book somewhere much nicer and with genuine luxury. All in all, we made the most of our 4 night holiday, but I was glad to leave and can think of nothing worse than having to spend more than this period of time on the awful beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and large bathrooms
Liked least: the awful beds and horrid bedding
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2012
We are sorry to hear you didn't have the best of holidays. However, I must point out that you did not stay in the property that this listing relates to. We are private owners and take great care of our property at Atlantic Reach. During the winter months we have replaced all the beds and last year we installed leather sofas and a large wide screen TV.
We understand your frustrations and are pleased you are making known the problems that some of the cottages at AR currently offer. We will pass your review on to the on site management team but must stresss again that your complaints do not relate to the property in this listing. Kind Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E
Chippenham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place and very clean!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed at number 58 Atlantic Reach. This was a privately owned house managed by the agents Atlantic Reach. The process of renting the propertly through "owners direct" was seamless". There were 4 adults, 3 teenagers and 1 small child in our group. When we checked in on the Saturday, our first impression of the site was that it looked like "toy town". All the different coloured houses -it was lovely and reminds you of the seaside. Reception staff very friendly.

The house itself was spotless and laid out very well. Open plan which was great when we were cooking etc. The facilities at the site were also great. Our teenager daughters made friends and joined in with the "street dance" classes and junior gym sessions. The pools were great and child friendly too.

The great thing about Atlantic Reach is that you can choose to be as involved as much or as little as you want. Some days we just stayed in and watched a DVD and others we went and joined in with the quiz so it offers great flexibility.

The downsides for me were that we have a 1 year old! there are no stair gates with the propertly and the stairs come off of the lounge so we had to barracade him in with chairs! Other than the master bedroom upstairs you cannot fit a travel cot in. You just need to bear these things in mind if you do take a small child.

Mattresses were as with most of these types of houses very hard! I was pleased to get back in my own bed at the end of the week but there wernt springs sticking out!

Knives were blunt so if you like to cool, def take your own. There was no potatoe peeler or tongs either but I guess this could be easily rectified.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The cleanliness and good activities
Liked least: bed downstairs is only a queen not a double
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$159
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing