We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kandi Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Berties Lodge(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eliot Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
52
14
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
14
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop bunkbacon sandwichtea and coffeeroom was cleanthe location is perfectnewquay centreminute walkhostelensuitetvhosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stopped there and wont be stopping again, the owners are not friendly or helpful. The rooms are small and stink of piss. The shower is to small and couldn't fit in it properly. Also the owners make it difficult to get your deposits back when leaving. Avoid avoid avoid

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muzza1686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty888, Manager at Kandi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

We try to pride ourselves on friendliness, cleanliness and professionalism. Unfortunately this review cannot be any further from the truth.
To pay £25pppn to stay in a box room which stank of urine, Why nobody asked to see the Manager and complain to either change rooms or to get a full refund!?? Not stay for 2 nights then decide to tell tripadvisor! The lodge is always cleaned on a daily basis. All of your £20 deposits were returned once the whole group checked out, not individually! Your the only stag party out of many that have stayed with us, that have caused so much upset and distress. When a member of your group acts like such an animal and then has to be escorted of the premises by the police.
Please stop writing reviews that are untrue as it’s really quite embarrassing on your behalf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Firstly the location is great, near to everything. Unfortunately that's the only positive from the weekend. Rooms were tiny with flimsy bunkbeds. Clean but small. We were hassled for the money on arrival. Half the group were in the town so a few of us went to secure the rooms. They wouldn't let us in until everyone came. The staff were quite rude about this. Later on the night the owner/manager wouldn't let a few of the group in because of a forgotten key. Instead of sorting it out calmly he physically attacked a member of the group and bit his leg! The police were called and a massive argument ensued. This guy is an absolute joke and its a wonder how this business functions. On departure he made it difficult to retrieve our £20 deposits.
To conclude if you go to newquay avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APS7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed in a double room last weekend, and was really impressed. The room was excellent. It was spacious, clean and had a very nice bathroom. We hired wetsuits and surfboards for a bargain at £8, and the lodge is in a great location just 5 minutes walk from the beach. The hospitality was superb and I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This place did exactly what we required, which was to provide a clean, secure and budget place for my friends and I to sleep during a stag-weekend to Newquay. Location, was again, spot-on and well in line with the super-low price per person. The fact that there was no breakfast per se was no issue, because the unbeatable value at the Wetherspoons was to be found just around the corner on the main drag.. That said, there were facilities for making your own tea/coffee/toast etc. in the handy little reception/hangout room, as well as there being a fridge for storing the cheese sandwiches and our bottle of vodka. We received a warm welcome on arrival and had nothing but positive vibes from the two staff whilst we were there. I was impressed with the attention to finer details prevalent throughout the establishment, in spite of the relative simplicity of the place. A very well thought-through business. The fact that the place was coloured orange *and* in very good taste says a lot to me personally. I will admit I have stayed in 'better' places in Newquay, yet for the price-point the value this joint offers is quite simply untouchable in my opinion. Loved the subtle 'Kandi' theme, having had a cracking night at one of the DJ's gigs in Portugal only last year... This lodge does the artist's brand integrity proud, or possibly even a favour! I think someone was complaining that the toilet-roll holder was too close to the seat, but I reckon he was probably just a slightly too-big human being for that to be much of an issue :-D Five out of Five for sure. Will certainly recommend to anyone who wants to listen, if not head down again at some stage. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucKerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter holidays and found the location to be perfect for everything that we needed including local bus connections, nightlife, places to eat and walking to the beach.

The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped with everything that we could possibly need for our stay.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the price that we paid was very reasonable.

We would without a doubt go back to this hostel if in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews