We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money with warm friendly atmosphere”
Review of Kandi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kandi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent value for money with warm friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Spent more than a week here and loved it. The location is great !, the staff is really nice and friendly, really clean . Would definitely recommend stay here .
Thank you for a great stay!
love it and recommend it after staying in more then 3 place in newquay, i like that one the most.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keremtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    13
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Firstly...there are some positives. It is clean and cheap and everything is very accessible. But...it really should say on the website about parking troubles. We got there around eight on the friday to find that the free on street parking, was free but very limited. We spent the first hour of our first night trying to find somewhere to park, which ended up costing us a further 20 bucks to park in the train station for two nights. I understand that is says on street,but there should really be a heads up for the limited availability. When a comment was made to the owner, she very bluntly replied that it does say on street and that most parties arrive a lot earlier. After nearly four hours of driving, the last thing u need is to drive around and unfamiliar place looking for parking and someone to basically say its our fault for not turning up earlier.

The free wifi is also very poor, I barely had signal all weekend, so dont rely on it.

For the money it was ok, it was small and only one area with sockets its not ideal for four girls sharing but its clean and does it job.

Overall, id rather pay a bit more next time and stay at the travel lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at Kandi lodge for one night booking the room on the drive down. Found the hostel easily and parked outside on the street no trouble. The complex was clean and fresh and smelt nice throughout! Was greeting by friendly staff and giving our room.

A small but very sufficient room with an ensuite. A bunk with double on bottom single on top. Comfy but a bit creaky (as always with bunks, no drama). The bathroom was large and the shower looked so clean it looked new! Room was clean and fresh.

Location was great, easy walking distance to lots of great restaurants as well as around to the harbour and beaches shops and supermarket.

Would definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Went last summer 2012 as a group of 6. Kirsty ran the place with her partner and they were very efficient and friendly. Gave us advice where the best places to go for a night out. Our rooms were spotless and clean. Even had an ensuite which was lovely. The kitchen was clean. I would recommend it to everyone. We had an amazing time here and had absolutely no trouble. Don't listen to the bad reviews. This place is cheap and great value for money. Right next to an Asda, beach, wetherspoons and lots of clubs. My group and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: One on the top floor with the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Went on a girls weekend away, great location, very clean for this type of accommodation, basic but substantial rooms. The communal area with tea/ coffee very clean, great there's an iron as you don't normally expect this. Staff very friendly and helpful would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who wants a cheap clean friendly accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurkyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty888, Manager at Kandi Lodge, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Was expected to share 1 towel between a room of 5 people! Asked at reception for another and was made to pay a £1 deposit and never got it back, the place is a shambles the owners are clueless! Place this hotel and guys that run it into the centre of Blackpool it would not last a minute! As for the stag, he got moved on by police simply because the guy who runs the hotel was out of order and not being cooperative and obviously could not cope with a simple drunken man situation. On more than one occasion we were threatened with them calling the police for something as simple as asking for our deposits back.. The guys who run the lodge are soon to spend all of the cash deposits but then in some cases you receive a cheque back and they try to come up with every excuse not to pay you back! The place is also a fire hazard and I'm pretty sure it's had no kind of fire safety report recently. Specially not with 5 beds in one small room! Don't be fooled by the cheap price and location guys!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty888, Manager at Kandi Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
This is the 3rd terrible review from your group and still the insults and accusations keep on coming…
We ask for £1 to hire the towels (not a deposit) as this covers the cost of washing and drying it. On our Website/Confirmation of Booking it states that we don’t supply t towels anyway. Why 5 of you shared 1 towel, I will never know! In every review you and your friends have wrote that we made it as difficult as possible and that we didn’t give you your security deposits back? When In actual fact we returned ALL of them back once every member of your party checked out, not individually! Again all of this is in the Confirmation of Booking. The police were only called on the Friday night! Your group was not threatened by police again! I hardly think we are clueless, we just don’t tolerate abusive behaviour and violence.
Our lodge has an up to date fire safety certificate, otherwise we simply would not be trading. It’s funny how your room are the only ones to question this as your room was on the ground floor anyway which was 2 metres from the front door! But then again with 2 of your group members smoking in their room I do understand your concern.
It is such a shame that the guest did not take a moment to use TripAdvisor before booking. Or look on our own website. Or even read the booking confirmation email or information email that we sent upon booking to explain exactly how we operate (to try to avoid any element of surprise/dissatisfaction). With respect of marketing and booking confirmation/communication, we are unsure what else we could do to confirm the style of accommodation we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Kandi lodge is run by a absolutely fantastic lady called Kirsty, she was an absolute diamond as was her partner Benny. They both answered any questions I had fully and seemed glad to do so.
The rooms are bunk beds with the size ranging from 3-6 spaces, each room with its own toilet and shower, the showers are surprising powerful and got the sand off my and my friends feet and hair no problem.
The reception is also a communal area which has 2 microwaves, toaster, fridge and kettle.
I Honestly do not know why a couple of people have given bad reviews to this place it is a great little place for large groups particularly the 18-25 age group.

The only bad point is there isn't anywhere to hang wet clothes in the rooms other than over the end of the beds, although I imagine if I had asked then something would've been sorted as they were very helpfull!

RECOMMENDED!!!!!

Room Tip: Book long in advance and try to get a non ground floor room as then during the day you can leave you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty888, Manager at Kandi Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your great review, Its nice to know we are doing some things right. Hope to see you guys next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Escape
The Escape
#4 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#3 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Invernook Hotel
Invernook Hotel
#13 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandi Lodge

Property: Kandi Lodge
Address: 4 Fairview Terrace, Newquay TR7 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kandi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandi Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing