We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Fort Inn

Fort Inn
Ranked #36 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on the edge of Newquay town and enjoying stunning views along the coast the Fort Inn is a welcoming and comfortable pub with that prides itself in catering for all members of the family from toddlers to grandparents. The Fort is also famous throughout Cornwall for its amazing Sunday carvery - a hit with all members of the family! So whatever the weather, and whatever the occasion the Fort Inn is the perfect destination for a family meal or get together
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Love this place, every time we visit Newquay we go to The Fort, it is located overlooking the harbour and has loads of seats outside along with a nice play area for the children.
Good varied menu but beware eating outdoors as the seagulls still try and get a bite even though there are wires overhead to deter them.
Beautiful harbour views and a good selection of various beers. Cornish lager was very nice!
Staff all seem very friendly too.......overall a great place catering for all ages.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darceysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    477
    206
    83
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Annoyed!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Would love to comment on the food BUT we arrived at the bar at a few minutes to 9pm, got our drinks and sat on a table laid out with cutlery and menus. After choosing our food approached the bar to be told they had stopped serving at 9 but we could order desserts!!! I then watched a member of staff clean a table and then reset it so had to ask why if they had stopped serving food, she smiled and replied "so we dont have to do it in the morning".

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We came across the Fort Inn by accident, and we were so glad that we did!

We'd had an amazing morning with Cornwall Segway for our daughters 21st and were looking for somewhere to continue the excellent start to the day. Fort Inn met our expectations far before we knew we had any!

It's a very busy place. Interestingly laid out with ample seating and dining facilities. The bar and food order areas were well laid out and the staff quickly and efficiently attended to customers with ease and a smile.

Fort Inn is sited in an enviable position overlooking the bay and has a fabulously spacious terrace which lends itself to al fresco dining as well as a perfect place to enjoy the view and a few drinks with friends.

There were 7 of us with ages ranging from 54 to 20 years of age. There were ample choices on the menu for all of us to chose from and the food was delivered in approximately 15 minutes, again from polite and smiling staff, and each meal was quality in all respects. Incidentally, the salmon bruschetta and the chicken and chorizo dishes received high praise from our table!

I have read the other reviews on here which puts the Fort Inn in a less favourable light, and from the experience we had I would unquestionably recommend Fort Inn to anyone thinking of trying it out.

I will say though, the only slightly negative aspect which has been touched on previously, that I agree with, concerns dogs. My personal opinion is that animals should not be in the vicinity of any food service. While I applaud the open policy of welcoming customers with four legged friends, I do think the location of such an area may need a rethink by the management.

Don't get me wrong - there was no zig zagging over and inbetween copious canine visitors, but the very large mastiff we encountered that was laying half under a table could have been a "reconsider moment" on another day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mads0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lovely views!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Food was lovely and came out quickly. Great location, terrace and sea views. Lovely play area for the children. Would visit again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yvette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food but tables tacky”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great value food with spectacular views, worth trying if the Red Lion is full.
Friendly staff, but the table surfaces were tacky, apparently it is the antibacterial cleaning solution they spray on reacting with the varnish on the table, just a bit off putting that whenever you come into contact with the table you stick to it...
Some of the chairs need replacing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Fort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing