We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food disappointing and bad service”
Review of Bank St Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Bank St Bar & Grill
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food disappointing and bad service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The food was extremely disappointing, since I've heard glowing reports of the restaurant. Even though the place was empty service was slow and the waitor sat at the bar talking to the other staff which was unprofessional. Food was overpriced for the quality, will not return

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    57
    17
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible service”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Me, my boyfriend and another couple went there for a meal, menu was really attractive, so we sat inside and immediately were told that they didn't have a few things of the menu. We said it was not a problem. So we choose our drinks and starters. The waitress who took our order was not really professional when she sat down the next table while taking the order. When our starters arrived we all ate, and later realised that we were not provided napkins. The waitress apologised. So I decided to get a cocktail, I called the waitress, she simply smiled for me and walked away! So I called another waitress who was on the bar, talking really loud about 'what she is going to be doing tomorrow', she came to us, and I ordered my cocktail, and she said she didn't really know how to make that, so I would have to choose one that she knows. I decided just to have a juice, which wouldn't be that hard I guess. So when we ordered our mains she said she didn't have that food as well, but she didn't mention that food before. While ordering she went to the chef a few times to check if they had that food. It was a horrible experience but at least great burgers.

Helpful?
Thank Helem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hell yeah!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

These are honestly some of the best tasting and best value burgers that I have ever had. The homemade inferno sauce is fantastic ... finding a good, fresh, smokey yet spiced, non chemical tasting jalapeño sauce is a rare thing and the patties are excellent. Service was incredibly friendly, laid back and welcoming. This is the only place to have lunch in the centre of Newquay!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hartrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So delicious!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great range of choice with specials midweek and so yummy! There was nothing that I did not like about it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessiebamboola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We ate here as a big group of 22. We didn't have to prebook and they even held our table for us as we were running late.

The menu was great, we ordered a beetroot and halloumi salad and a vege platter to share and these came fast and were fresh and hot. The food was absolutely brilliant and very enjoyable, and all of those in our party agreed whether they had had the steaks, salads or burgers. Great value for money but hadn't scrimped on quality.

Staff were very attentive and patient with us settling our bill. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyLW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bank St Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing