We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day for the whole family (including our dog!)”

Lappa Valley Steam Railway
Ranked #6 of 61 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: OPEN DAILY FROM 10AM! Enjoy a day of family friendly fun all included in one ticket. Dog's welcome and under 3's are FREE! Everyone loves a train ride and Lappa Valley Steam Railway offers three different railways experiences, with over three miles of track! Your journey begins with the mile-long trip, from Benny Halt Station, on a miniature steam locomotive taking you through the picturesque wooded valley to East Wheal Rose. Here you will find more railways, a fabulous wooded valley to explore with a boating lake, a path maze, crazy golf, play area, plus delicious food in the Whistle Stop Cafe and a gift shop packed with everything about trains and more. Lappa Valley is the ideal day out for a family, loads for the children to do all day and plenty to entertain mums, dads and grandparents too!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely day for the whole family (including our dog!)”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Two adults, one over 3, two under 3s (free) and our dog had a lovely day out here today for just shy of £35.

Cafe was clean, reasonably priced and provided a good range of food; activities on site are family orientated and it was lovely to play on all of the equipment, ride the rails and have a go at crazy golf without having to put our hands in our pockets and pay out for each individual activity.

It's refreshing to have places you can take a dog whilst holidaying as a family, and appreciated that dispite the large number of dogs on site, not once did we contend with dog mess; generally, people appreciate that their dog is welcome, so do not abuse this privilege. Having spent around 5 hours on site, I think the only dog I saw pee was our own dog whom we took to the outskirts regularly, to give him the opportunity to relieve himself - again, I assume this to be true of most dog owners who are there with their own children and respect everyone's right to enjoy themselves in a clean environment.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank atravelergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    272
    77
    29
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wonderful day out”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Another great day out at Lappa Valley. Visited 3 times in the last year and my 3 year old loves it more each time! Lovely to see my 18 month old enjoying it today too. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Will be back soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very special place to stay (and play!)”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have been coming to Lappa Valley for the past 5 years and this year the boys wanted to stay at the recently refurbished flat above the station ticket office. It was a lovely and welcoming place to stay, with unlimited access to the trains, play areas, boating lake, crazy golf etc included during opening hours and use of the small adjoining play and garden area in a peaceful, relaxing setting after hours. The children loved exploring the neighbouring walks and countryside as well as revisiting the familiar play attractions. Most of all, the team working at Lappa Valley are extremely friendly and helpful, and passionate about their work, which creates a very special experience for visitors, whether staying for a day or for longer. Highly recommended - we'll definitely be back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank J h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muffin032, General Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank-you very much for such positive support for Lappa Valley and your stay in the holiday flat -always good to hear the views of regular visitors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great day out but they still need to ban dogs.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

First things first, if you are in Cornwall then keep an eye out for the vouchers in local newspapers, we came here because of a 'kids go free offer' which meant we paid £24 for a family of 4 which felt about right. There are no big rides here, it is good old fashioned fun, nice play parks, 3 different trains, canoes, pedal cars, enough to keep you going for a few hours but perhaps not the whole day. We ate here and the food was good and reasonably priced, in fact the prices for everything including ice creams and toys were all reasonable, the only chargeable add on's were the electric cars.

My biggest gripe is that I cannot understand why they still allow dogs in the children's play areas. Yes they are on leads but there is nothing worse than watching your young child run through grass that a dog has just wee'd over, it would put me off coming back. It is also worth noting that there is very little here to do if it rains, the indoor play areas are totally inadequate. That aside, the kids enjoyed it and we might come back again one day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatioKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muffin032, General Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for the feedback and glad that you enjoyed a value-for money visit. Sorry you felt frustrated over our dogs welcome policy and I note your suggestion ; however the vast majority of dog owners are very considerate when it comes to mess. We hope to increase the wet weather play areas in the next few years. I hope we see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good family day out”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Our youngest saw the leaflet and immediately choose where we were going.
Having read the reviews we weren't disappointed. Well maintained trains and grounds.
The youngest (3) thoroughly enjoyed the numerous train rides. While the eldest (8) enjoyed the boat rides. It was a pleasant surprise to visit somewhere that once you pay the entry fee you aren't fleeced for anymore money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muffin032, General Manager at Lappa Valley Steam Railway, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for your comments and glad that you enjoyed yourselves and that our all-inclusive pricing was appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lappa Valley Steam Railway also viewed

 

Been to Lappa Valley Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing