We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic way to learn about Cornwall's pirate past!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pirate's Quest

Pirate's Quest
Ranked #11 of 58 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Get ready to embark on a swashbucklin’ voyage through Cornwall’s pirating past at Pirate’s Quest, Newquay – Come face to face with smugglers, mermaids, and real LIVE buccaneers! A brand new storyline for 2017 will see visitors transported back over 300 years to the Golden Age of Piracy and the dawn of The Republic of Pirates. A notorious band of buccaneers known as ‘The Flying Gang’ have been sent to Cornwall by their illustrious leader, Captain Blackbeard, in hopes of finding new recruits to join The Republic of Pirates. A real LIVE pirate from the infamous ‘Flying Gang’ will help you escape a shipwreck then lead you through the mystical caves and murky streets of eighteenth century Cornwall to the crew’s recruitment base; Blackbeard’s Tavern. Eventually you’ll arrive at the Captain’s Ship, ready to set sail to an exotic Caribbean island and The Republic of Pirates. The hour-long walk-through experience will allow pirate fans and their crew mates the chance to feel, hear, smell, and see Cornwall’s intriguing legends and exciting history. Every performance is pitched for each individual group making Pirate’s Quest an adventure the whole family can enjoy together
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to learn about Cornwall's pirate past!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of a guided tour by pirates Anne Bonny and John Hawkins who were both fabulous. They kept all of us entertained (age 3 up) with lots of tongue in cheek jokes interspersed between interesting facts about life in Cornwall in the pirate days.
A well thought out attraction for Newquay and one not to be missed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    97
    33
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Living history. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

History, Myths and Legends, brought to life by pirate story tellers.
An enjoyable hour was spent here, good for the whole family. We took our children aged 4, 8 and 14.
The younger one was enthralled and the 8 year old suitable mystified.
Worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank coopercat38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“amusing fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The pirates that showed you around were very funny and really good actors in the role. Humour for adults and kids and lots of interesting facts. There was a little scare element (though I was more scared than my 8yr old!) and it was good fun. Lots of facts to take in and information about Cornish myth/legend. £28 for family of 4 for just over half hour was reasonably priced for what you got. The displays were good - there was no photography though which was a shame as no souvenirs of the experience though can understand why they want people to visit not look at others photos instead! Overall would recommend and the kids enjoyed it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joi811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Manager at Pirate's Quest, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for your review - we do restrict photos but only because the flash can be a bit off-putting for the Pirates - they are not used to modern technology! Generally though the Pirates usually invite photos at a couple of points during the tour - and I'm sorry that this did not happen during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truths myths and legends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Didn't know what to expect when we went to this attraction but the experience started as soon as we walk through the door. We were shown around by two guys who I'm sure were REAL pirates. Each exhibit had it's own story and these were relayed to us in a very educational but realistic pirate way. There is a scary part but you are informed of this if you choose not to enter. I understand Buccaneer Bay is now under new management who have some great ideals for the future this can only add to what already is a great attraction which is a fun time for all

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S, Manager at Pirate's Quest, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for posting the review and glad you enjoyed the experience. We only took over in May so had limited time this year to get our Pirates back on board and ready for the Summer - we have lots of plans for the future so we hope you will come back and see us again for more pirating adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's well.......ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

It's ok - not sure it's worth the price though. Good levels of knowledge and the inside is well designed and maintained. Just needs a little more.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirate's Quest also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Pirate's Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing