We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!”

Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar
Ranked #62 of 250 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the four star Atlantic Hotel, Silks Bistro and Champagne Bar is one the finest restaurants in Newquay. The bistro exudes a distinctively modern vibe with monochrome upholstery and sky high palms.Open seven days a week serving coffees, teas and light bites and with daily lunch and evening specials, the AA Rosette awarding-winning Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar is the perfect place to unwind at any time of the day. Fresh, locally caught fish dishes are always on the menu and wherever possible local produce is used to create a mouth-watering variety of dishes. With Sunday lunches being served from midday and afternoon tea daily until 6pm.
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here last sunday evening, it was quiet enough inside, which we were both surprised about due to how gorgeous the restaurant itself is, it's appearance is absolutely beautiful!

The service was impeccable, our waitress was polite and professional throughout, as well as the gentleman who served our champagne, he poured our drinks professionally and elegantly.

The food was also fantastic, everything we ate was nigh on perfect, the crab cakes and mussels were fabulously cooked and presented. The pasta dish for my partners main was ginormous and she couldn't finish it all! I ordered the sirloin steak, a little chewy for my liking but it's hardly a complaint to make.

All in all the evening was great, my only upset was when we went to tip the waitress, she was unable to put a tip through the card machine, I'd recommend changing this as many people pay with their cards for evenings out, and the restaurant unfortunately missed out on a large service tip from myself :(

Thank you very much silks we will be visiting again soon!

1  Thank Levi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Levi N

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic comments about Silks. We certainly strive to provide value for money in our portion sizes and all of our food is fresh, local and cooked by our Rosette standard chefs, so to hear that you had a great experience with us is wonderful.
We are very proud of our front of house team and so I will pass your comments onto them. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and we will look into card tipping for our customers. Kind regards, the Silks Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived late after a long road trip and as soon as we put our luggage in our room we went to dine at Silks which the receptionist organised for us.We were served immediately by a very friendly waiter.Decor was old Hollywood elegance and believe it or not we wanted good old pommie fish and chips which we heard were the best and they didn't disappoint.Chips hand cut and chunky fish melt in the mouth with extra crispy coating.We ate in Silks once more before leaving for home(Australia)and were just as impressed as the first time,only one complaint they ran out of mussels but had enough for one serve which was delicious.All meals were yummie and staff and service was friendly and very obliging.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slimsam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Slimsam2013.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We're so pleased you enjoyed dining with us at Silks and yes, the fish and chips is an absolute favourite from the menu! A simple tasty British dish, cooked to order and completely fresh! We're glad we could provide you with what you were looking for and we have now started a special Silks Moules Mariniere evening on a Thursday as they are so popular. Our interior design is art deco based and very dramatic, light and airy so thank you for your comments on that also. I know it's a long way to come but we do hope to welcome you back to Silks at some point in the future. Kind regards, the Silks Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We rang at 8pm on a busy Saturday night, and secured a reservation for 9pm. We loved it so much that we returned for Sunday lunch the next day and were not disappointed. Put simply, its some of the best food we have ever had, not overly expensive considering the fantastic quality, and such elegant surroundings. Staff were friendly, and the chef even took time to ask us if we had enjoyed our meal. What a superb experience. On a nice sunny day you can take your drinks to the outdoor terrace and enjoy those stunning views too.

Thank deb621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Deb621
Many thanks for your lovely comments and also for coming back again to sample our Sunday lunch! We consistently strive to offer fresh local, well cooked and presented food at a price that is value for money, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed Silks so much. Thanks again for taking the time to post and we hope to see you back dining with us in the near future. Kind regards, the Silks team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We didn't stay here but had dinner here one evening. Lovely hotel, beautiful setting, gorgeous food and decently priced in my opinion. Would recommend dining here !

Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Judy G

Thanks so much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your comments and review and we hope to welcome you back to Silks in the future. Kind regards, The Atlantic and The Silks Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Went to Silks Bistro & Champagne bar for our brothers birthday and was impressed with the surroundings and flamboyantly grand decor. In arriving to the restaurant we were eventually shown our table when a member of staff decided to take control and 'deal' with us. Once seated we were left at the table with no drinks menu or offer of a drink for well over fifteen minutes so we asked twice if we could get a menu. After drinks arriving half an hour into our evening we were again still waiting for a food order to be taken. It was a Saturday evening but we had an early reservation, the level of business was quiet and there seemed to be more than enough waiting and bar staff on but thy all seemed to be milling around busting themselves with what appeared to be nothing to do with waiting tables. Eventually one lovely pregnant waitress saw that we has been left for a while and attended to us although I don't believe we were a table in her area. She wa lovely and friendly unlike the other two ladies who had dealt with us who appeared to feel customer service or manners were beneath them. Food came and was not bad although for some of the pricing I would have been disappointed with a couple of dishes ordered by our party but that aside everyone enjoyed their meal. No one came back to the table to cler glasses, check if meal was ok or if we neede anything else and so I went to the bar myself to be told 'yeah we'll come to the table and take your order'. Ok. Waited and nothing. Went I the bar insisted I would order as waitresses must have been busy and was til the drinks would be bought to the table.......20minutes later that is. Again the restaurant still was not very busy. Same thing with waiting for the dessert menus, delivery and the bill. I have worked in restaurants mysel and I am aware if leaving sufficient time so as not to rush diners but this turned into well over 4 and a half hours. Overall I was definitely not known away and was slightly disappointed overall. Shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K-Row84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Owner at Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear K-Row
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Silks Bistro and Champagne Bar. I'm very sorry to hear that you experienced these unusual problems as we pride ourselves our friendly, efficient service and good quality food with value for money. We have recently received an AA standard Rosette for these elements of the restaurant, however I will be looking into your comments and investigating this further in order to continue to make improvements. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future where we will endeavor to alter your initial thoughts and experience within Silks Bistro. Kind regards, The Atlantic Hotel and Silks Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing