We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth a Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trerice

Trerice
Ranked #8 of 57 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This National Trust property is surely one of the gems of North Cornwall. Located in the depths of the countryside, Trerice is worth seeking out. It is an interesting example of Elizabethan architecture that has survived the centuries. Although some restoration has taken place, the house is largely as originally built. Like many National Trust properties, Trerice is blessed with a lovely tea room, with Cornish cream teas a speciality. We must admit that, as NT members we didn't have to pay an admission charge, so the non-members admission charge could be a deterrent for families.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank philbennett1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    197
    78
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Candle Light Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This special event was an evening at Trerice by candle light as part of the house has no electricity.
We first went to the barn, also in candle light, and had a very enjoyable and relaxing meal. After we toured the house which was a really interesting experience by candle light.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A glimpse of Medieval Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Such an interesting house and gardens to enjoy, one of the first Manor Houses built with separate rooms.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank StarlightLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small House, Quick to Get Round”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We visited on a rainy day when they were holding a vintage special with lots of activities for children and it was a shame that after all the hard work much had to be cancelled due to the weather. I think they have regular special events so there may often be things going on to keep the little ones entertained, possibly worth checking on their website. The house and gardens are attractive but rather small in size and there are not that many rooms to explore so you can easily see everything in an hour or two, As NT members we did not have to pay admission but if we had paid to enter at normal prices I would have considered it expensive in comparison to other places/attractions we visited in Cornwall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have been a member of the national trust for many,many years. I am increasingly concerned at there dogs policy. We were assured that we would be able to take our dog in the grounds, on arrival dogs are now only aloud in the car park area. As a disabled person and needing my husband with me, I had to go in the house alone. this splits us up when visiting NT properties. I'm not sure if we will continue our membership as this is true of most places now. In contrast the Eden Project is now allowing dogs in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarmar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trerice also viewed

 

Been to Trerice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing