We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice house and gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trerice

Trerice
Ranked #9 of 57 things to do in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice house and gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Trerice is well worth a visit but at present the house is being restored so there is not a lot to see inside although the staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and keen to pass on the information. The gardens however are a delight. I would recommend allowing about 3 hours for a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 23Graham101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    204
    82
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous 50's themed weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We visited on the 27th July when there was a special 50's themed event which really added to our enjoyment of our visit.

The gardens held a garden party event where the children guessed the weight of the sweets, guessed where the treasure was, had a go in a sack race, played on the coconut shy and made paper caterpillars! There was also a thoroughly enjoyable puppet show, all included in the entrance fee (bar the £1 for the coconut shy!)

A beautiful, peaceful place to visit on it's own, this event truly made it a lovely day out!

Thank you to the thoroughly helpful and friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pinkapple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An afternoon well spent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my parents are all NT members – in fact, Trerice was the first place I’ve used my card! It wasn’t the biggest property and some of it is being renovated but what stood out to me was the knowledge and friendliness of the staff! I have not experienced this in many other NT properties (all staff at NT properties are friendly but the staff at Trerice seemed to know everything! We learnt a lot that day). The gardens (especially the vegetable plot) and tea rooms are a hit; the shop is very well presented. Good for all ages.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyLou1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A beautiful Elizabethan Manor house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A National Trust Gem with very friendly staff. I was really impressed by the staff at this property who were so friendly and easy to approach to ask questions. The property is small however nicely presented and preserved and is worth visiting. One of the highlights of our week in Cornwall. The tea rooms were excellent and worth a mention. The grand room was closed for renovation but you could still see inside to get a quick glimpse of the room and the workers at their work. A must visit if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

House is well look after with lots of helpers very committed and knowledgable. Gardens nice and lengthy of open space after the house to enjoy. House takes 30 mins max but you can spend nice couple of hours here. Recommended esp if you have NT membership

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trerice also viewed

 

Been to Trerice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing