We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improving!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkey Tree Holiday Park
2 reviews
“Needs improving!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, myself and my partner with 5 children, we booked Monkey Tree due to its impressive website and location. The reception staff on arrival were friendly and helpful, The pitch size for our tent was of good size. The shower cubicle and toilets were filthy, there was blood on the floor from 8 am until 6.30pm despite complaining at reception!
The entertainment was ok, the children all enjoyed it. In particular, Daisy was excellent and the children enjoyed the activities with her! It wasn't a dreadful place, however the cleanliness of the place and a particular unpleasant member of staff in the shop, made our stay with 5 children more difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Owner at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the entertainment and found the Reception team to be helpful and friendly. I am surprised to read that you had reported the issue of the cleanliness of the toilets to Reception and that it wasn't attended to. We have a team of cleaners that circulate between all of the toilet blocks throughout the day cleaning and I would have expected that to have been attended to. Clean toilets and showers are our highest priority and if matters of cleanliness have been reported to Reception I feel certain this would have been attended to. You will see from other comments that the facilities and the Park as a whole is kept exceptionally clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    95
    52
    36
    25
See reviews for
266
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was the worst site we have ever stayed on by a long way. The toilets were filthy, we stayed for 12 nights and the same Dead Flies were in the same places in the toilets and showers for the whole stay.

Decent sized pitches but the site attracts the worst kind of camper. Its difficult to say this without sounding like a snob. but the chances of being next door to pleasent regular people was pretty slim. You might say that the type of customers are not the fault of the site managment but they encourage the something for nothing mentality by offering free beer vouchers with every pitch.

Its a real shame

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ralph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Owner at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we are disappointed at the comments made about other customers on site. At this time of year the Park is very busy and unfortunately we cannot vet the behaviour of our customers before we take them on site. All Parks inevitably will have an element of undesirable and badly behaved people. However we are a Family Park and endeavour to keep behaviour by all to a good standard so that everyone visiting Monkey Tree has an enjoyable experience. We do not allow single sex parties and can confirm that the number of difficult situations we have encountered this Season have been negligible. Therefore we can only conclude that you were unfortunate with the neighbours to your pitch. If you had contacted Reception we could have re-located you or alternatively spoken to those that you were unhappy with. With regard to Food & Drink Vouchers these are offered on occasions as part of our package but are really no different to other discounts and offers that businesses elsewhere offer. It is no different in approach to hotels that offer “all inclusive” packages. The offer certainly does not encourage solely badly behaved “Chavs”. We are disappointed therefore that you refer to other people on the Park in this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Just comeback from a week at monkey tree, camped in ash field. Great large pitches, plenty of room for car gazebo, tent and dining equipment. Main problem was a lot of wasps, luckily the shop on site sold wasp traps which we had to empty at regular intervals!!! But at this time of year it is to be expected.
Went to the on site clubhouse once, entertainment fine for youngsters, only stayed for an hour so can't comment on the adult entertainment. Drink prices reasonable and staff really friendly.
My daughter went to the kids activity a few times and played rounders, the girls were great, but most of the time we played our own cricket and rounders as there were quite a few of us and people always came and joined in.
Shower cubicles and toilets however where undesirable at times, this however is not due to monkey tree but the amount of people who didn't flush the toilets and left rubbish lying around. A few times we saw unsupervised children playing with the toilet seats and throwing paper everywhere. Beyond me why you would want to do that on a beautiful day! Did report the blockages to the reception who were really helpful and sorted them out.
Never tried the food so can't comment on that but shop reasonable priced and staff friendly, would definitely return though due to location and pitch sizes, however toilets blocks do need updating and checking more frequent.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank betty1Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Monkey Tree, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the outdoor space with games of cricket and rounders. In regards to the toilets, we have cleaners that work throughout the day and evening to keep the toilets clean. Unfortunately sometimes in between cleaning each of the blocks guests do go in and make a mess of the toilets. We are always very grateful then when customers like yourselves report it to reception so as we can rectify any issues as soon as possible.
I do hope that we can welcome yourselves back to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed here several times now, both in statics and our own tourer. Statics 1st, as some people have said, the beds are not the best but having stayed in statics at various other sites (Parkdean & Haven), we have the beds to be no worse, we simply put an extra duvet under the sheet and hey presto lovely & comfy! The welcome pack is a welcome sight as it saves having to go shopping before having a brew or snack before going shopping. We have also always found the cleanliness to be excellent. With regards the touring/camping facilities, we have stayed on 3 different pitches and have found the pitch sizes more than adequate. The overflow field is, however, rather exposed to the elements, however, it has 2 brand new toilet blocks in addition to 2 older blocks which personally I prefer. There are also several super pitches with which you get a private toilet/shower room but not having used them I can't comment on them. A previous reviewer commented on the lack of showers on Palm Field, there is a very new shower block just adjacent to this field which also includes the launderette facilties. With regards the entertainment, the childrens play soft play area can be a problem with older children running amok in there, this could be attributed to the park management (it should really be supervised) and parents not caring what their children are getting up to. The main park area looked like it had had some maintenance before we got there although the slide was still broken (apparently caused by teenagers jumping on it). A new one was fitted a few days into our stay. The arcade is a bit of a waste of time, but then maybe that will save some money for people! The clubhouse is perhaps a little small for the site, but then during the high season the secondary bar area is open for a more relaxed experience. There is entertainment on most nights during high season and between 7 & 9 it is all for the kids so if you don't fancy kids runniing round shoutiing, screaming and generally enjoying themselves, avoid! My 5 year old daughter loves the place, the funky monkey & especially Lucy and I love the draft San Miguel which I am forced to sit and drink whilst my daughter is having fun!
All in all, it is a big site, it isn't perfect but I believe it is good value for money compared to the likes of Haven & Parkdean which is why myself & my family have been there 7 times since 2010 either in a static or our tourer.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phildoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of Monkey Tree; I am pleased you have had yet another enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments about the Indoor Play Area and although we have CCTV in there which is monitored by the staff in the Arcade and signs up stating children must be accompanied by an adult, there are still some customers that continue to be a nuisance in this area.
Thank you once again for your review, and I hope we can welcome you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at monkey tree for the 1st 2weeks of August. We looked all over on Internet & due to reviews on this site when we booked back in may & the impressive website we booked our holiday & oh my what a mistake.
Our pitch was in adequate for our caravan with rocks to one side and the street lamp on the other. My partner had to move the rock himself so we could get car on pitch as they need to be at the side of your caravan. Our pitch was located on the palm field outside of pool and park only 1min walk which was great for the kids. However staff failed to tell us that there was no shower facilities on our field. They were a short walk away but were very poor standard only half lit, toilets with no seats & roof tiles missing bird poo inside shower cubicle (was still there 4days later when we left) Ive seen better on a very basic site. Even my 6yr old son complained about them being dirty.
On our second night we checked out the clubhouse we sat outside due to nice weather were staff were preparing BBQ for Caribbean night. Well raw food was left outside in direct sunlight; uncovered. salad uncovered for at least 30 minutes due to this we never ate any food on site our whole 14night stay! We only ever used the clubhouse once seats and floor were dirty sticky tables n felt like sardines as was far to small for how big site is. Kids park was falling apart slide was cracked n coming off train had wood rott definitely not safe for little ones. Again as other reviews arcades were minimal & most out of order. All in all we will not come back to this site very poor however much they try to make it look good with all the flowers (which are nice)around. If they invested the money spent on flowers on their facilities there maybe an improvement. Only thing this site was good for was its location for us. Definitely don't visit here pay a little more for another site

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Owner at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we are disappointed with some of your comments because as you can see from other reviews prior to yours and subsequently customers are extremely happy with the Park and the facilities. Your pitch was within 100 metres of two toilet blocks, the one you refer to is the older one and the second was brand new just 2 years ago. Unfortunately during the peak weeks we can suffer from vandalism from a minority of customers and we do our best to address any issues as quickly as possible.
With regards to the issues of cleanliness you raise we have cleaners who start at 7am and continue throughout the day until 9pm. At busy times especially as some customers do not leave facilities as one would like to find them, this can be an issue.
In terms of the Caribbean Night we are obviously BBQing food throughout the evening and whilst you may have seen food adjacent to the BBQ it was constantly being cooked and served.
In relation to the Children's Play Area the slide and train were damaged by teenage customers and as the most recent review confirms was repaired as soon as possible. The Arcade is appropriate in size for the Park we do not hold ourselves out as being a "Butlins" with huge amusement areas. We provide a sufficient facility for a Park of this size, and at no point during the season have there been a significant number of machines out of action. Any repairs have also been made as quickly as possible.
Unfortunately the majority of your comments relate to items which are as a result of the poor behaviour of a minority of other customers. We do our best to address these as quickly as we can and operate a policy of excluding persons who cause damage and a nuisance on the Park. We whilst you were on the Park would have been grateful if you had contacted Reception and conveyed your concerns so that we may have been able to deal with some of these for you and ensured that you had a more enjoyable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Due to the lovely summer in Great Britain! We at the last minute decided to book a weeks holiday down in Newquay. But could not get a week on any other camp we tried. After googling camp sites Newquay, we came across Monkey Tree. They had vacancies for the week 3rd August, the week we wanted. Really nice camp, very friendly staff, it suited our needs and was located very well for our trips out. Shop bit over priced, the family room was okay, but then our daughter 15, so didn't appeal much to her. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiemc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found all of the staff to be friendly. I hope that we can welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in a nice little caravan which in comparison to the houses in Barnsley was quite good. Good facilities and nice nightlife. Entertainment was decent and the monkey and Patrick stood out, bravo guys. The good lady wife really had a ball of a time and i knew it was holiday because we didn't have to book a hotel to see the serene views. The good lady child had a superb time in the club, the animal park and the chip shop. I gave some money to a local charity whilst down there to satisfy the catholic guilt. I saw the manager and he said to me "I'm the manager me" and I said "I'm a Goodman me". You're able to get a good night's sleep here, the noise from the club is limited and all I could hear was the wind at night, in-fact, at one point the wind was so tranquil that it actually sounded like 'I dreamed a dream' from Les Mis. Very good park.

Room Tip: Rooms with a massive picture of Zayn Malik are better in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments of the Park and your holiday with us. It is great to hear that your whole family enjoyed your stay; I hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
4.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,207 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
5.9 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 76 in Newquay
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Tree Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Property: Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Address: Scotland Road | Rejerrah, Newquay TR8 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Tree Holiday Park & Campsite, Newquay, Cornwall is an award-winning family Holiday Park just minutes away from Perranporth & Newquay. Situated on the North Coast of Cornwall Monkey Tree Holiday Park & camping the benefit of having some of Europe’s finest beaches just minutes away. Monkey Tree Holiday Park has an excellent range of static holiday homes to suit all tastes and budgets. The choice of caravan and camping pitches is superb, from standard non electric to those with hard standing, electricity, water supply and main drainage and even private bathroom facilities if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Tree Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing