We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Mount Bures, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very efficient, friendly staff. Great location for betting about, we spent a few days at Holywell Bay - great family beach. Restaurant OK - didn't get into the evening entertainment which we didn't hear after 10pm'ish, and overall the park is very quiet. Lots of families, and great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Go for a Padstow staic caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on the Park, it is great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    95
    52
    36
    25
See reviews for
266
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked a Crantock caravan for a week. Firstly, strict on picking up keys for accommodation at 4pm. Arrived at 3pm, but could only be issued our wristbands and were welcome to look around the site, but no keys for an hour. By 4pm a big queue had formed. Never been anywhere this strict before, considering only about 40 statics and the rest of the site is for camping.

Not a great deal for teenagers and most of the facilities for all ages had 'out of order' signs on them. Saw the animal enclosure on the first day and after that it was shut with a sign saying 'due to customers ill-treating the animals'. Says it all really about some of the other guests on the site.

I was impressed with the website and made a saving for booking early, but to be honest it wasn't the greatest site we have been to and didn't live up to our expectations. The caravan was clean (the decking/patio area could have done with a jetwash though- shame UK doesn't learn from sites in France etc). The welcome pack was great - sachets of tea/coffee/sugar, pint of milk, loaf of bread and tub of butter in fridge. Fantastic as first thing you do is open the windows and put the kettle on!

Beds were made up on arrival too, but can I suggest that mattress covers should be used on all mattresses. These can be removed after each guest and washed too, as mattresses had seen better days.

Had a drink in the summer nights bar on several evenings, listening to the singer or band on for that night. Tried to get into the main entertainment hall for the remainder of the entertainment after the Bingo, but no chance. Full to the brim. It really annoys me that sites never allow enough room for the amount of guests they are quite happy to accommodate in peak times.

Swimming pool - don't bother! Firstly, it shouldn't be that cloudy - PH levels need looking at and it was filthy.

Takeaway was good and prices reasonable and also the drink prices were reasonable too so that was a result. The staff in both those areas were very friendly. The shop prices were inflated as you would expect - fill up with shopping at the local Morrisons.

A holiday is what you make of it - and we still enjoyed ourselves but would not recommend this site. However, Perranporth beach is beautiful, so look for other sites to visit this area.

Room Tip: Sun seemed to be on the decking areas of caravans in the middle of Birch Field all day, as opposed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diam0nd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Owner at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Park. With regard to the 4pm check-in, we make all of our guests aware of this time on their confirmation letters/ emails. We don’t allow arrivals earlier than 4pm in busy periods so as we can ensure static caravans are thoroughly cleaned and checked for any maintenance issues prior to new customers arriving. Therefore as departing guests only leave by 10am it requires until 4pm to change over all caravans.
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed by the closure of “Animal Corner”. It wasn’t an easy decision to make but unfortunately the actions of one guest left us with no choice. I am not sure as to which other facilities you refer to when you mention them as being “out of order” as our maintenance team attend to any maintenance issues on a daily basis. I am glad that you enjoyed the welcome hamper and found the website to be impressive. The decking areas of the Holiday Homes are jet washed regularly throughout the season.
The Bingo is a very popular feature in the evening entertainment and we do open up the seating area in the restaurant to allow extra seating room adjacent to the Club. With regard to your comments about the swimming pool, the PH levels and Chlorine levels are tested throughout the day by both Maintenance Staff and Lifeguards. Chemicals are added as and when required. The water is also regularly tested by an external company. The cloudiness can be caused by sun creams etc. when the pool is exceptionally busy.
Thank you for the positive comments about the friendliness of the staff as well as how reasonable prices are on the Park in the takeaway, bar and shop etc. I am sorry to hear that you feel you wouldn't recommend us, although we do have a lot of returning guests as well as those guests referring us to their friends and family. If you had any specific issues whilst you were here we would have happily dealt with them for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked our family holiday last minute and our normal camp site was fully booked so we had a quick look at other places in and around Newquay. And i am really glad we did because i think Monkey Tree is fantastic. It's not perfect but i did not pay a 5* price so did not expect perfection. The welcome was great and very helpful. Now because we booked last minute we were in one of the overflow pitches which to be honest was fine. Toilet/shower blocks were constantly clean. The pitch size is great (although there were bits of dead hedgehog on it on arrival but probably killed by another animal). We used the club house several times in our 7 night stay and the kids and adult entertainment were good. We also made our own entertainment sat outside our tent BBQing and having a good family time. We have booked for next year already and have lots of friends now booking for the same time because of our recommendation. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gandkrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Monkey Tree. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and are coming back again next year with some friends also. Sorry to hear about the Hedgehog on your pitch. I look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, myself and my partner with 5 children, we booked Monkey Tree due to its impressive website and location. The reception staff on arrival were friendly and helpful, The pitch size for our tent was of good size. The shower cubicle and toilets were filthy, there was blood on the floor from 8 am until 6.30pm despite complaining at reception!
The entertainment was ok, the children all enjoyed it. In particular, Daisy was excellent and the children enjoyed the activities with her! It wasn't a dreadful place, however the cleanliness of the place and a particular unpleasant member of staff in the shop, made our stay with 5 children more difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Owner at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the entertainment and found the Reception team to be helpful and friendly. I am surprised to read that you had reported the issue of the cleanliness of the toilets to Reception and that it wasn't attended to. We have a team of cleaners that circulate between all of the toilet blocks throughout the day cleaning and I would have expected that to have been attended to. Clean toilets and showers are our highest priority and if matters of cleanliness have been reported to Reception I feel certain this would have been attended to. You will see from other comments that the facilities and the Park as a whole is kept exceptionally clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was the worst site we have ever stayed on by a long way. The toilets were filthy, we stayed for 12 nights and the same Dead Flies were in the same places in the toilets and showers for the whole stay.

Decent sized pitches but the site attracts the worst kind of camper. Its difficult to say this without sounding like a snob. but the chances of being next door to pleasent regular people was pretty slim. You might say that the type of customers are not the fault of the site managment but they encourage the something for nothing mentality by offering free beer vouchers with every pitch.

Its a real shame

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ralph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Owner at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we are disappointed at the comments made about other customers on site. At this time of year the Park is very busy and unfortunately we cannot vet the behaviour of our customers before we take them on site. All Parks inevitably will have an element of undesirable and badly behaved people. However we are a Family Park and endeavour to keep behaviour by all to a good standard so that everyone visiting Monkey Tree has an enjoyable experience. We do not allow single sex parties and can confirm that the number of difficult situations we have encountered this Season have been negligible. Therefore we can only conclude that you were unfortunate with the neighbours to your pitch. If you had contacted Reception we could have re-located you or alternatively spoken to those that you were unhappy with. With regard to Food & Drink Vouchers these are offered on occasions as part of our package but are really no different to other discounts and offers that businesses elsewhere offer. It is no different in approach to hotels that offer “all inclusive” packages. The offer certainly does not encourage solely badly behaved “Chavs”. We are disappointed therefore that you refer to other people on the Park in this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Just comeback from a week at monkey tree, camped in ash field. Great large pitches, plenty of room for car gazebo, tent and dining equipment. Main problem was a lot of wasps, luckily the shop on site sold wasp traps which we had to empty at regular intervals!!! But at this time of year it is to be expected.
Went to the on site clubhouse once, entertainment fine for youngsters, only stayed for an hour so can't comment on the adult entertainment. Drink prices reasonable and staff really friendly.
My daughter went to the kids activity a few times and played rounders, the girls were great, but most of the time we played our own cricket and rounders as there were quite a few of us and people always came and joined in.
Shower cubicles and toilets however where undesirable at times, this however is not due to monkey tree but the amount of people who didn't flush the toilets and left rubbish lying around. A few times we saw unsupervised children playing with the toilet seats and throwing paper everywhere. Beyond me why you would want to do that on a beautiful day! Did report the blockages to the reception who were really helpful and sorted them out.
Never tried the food so can't comment on that but shop reasonable priced and staff friendly, would definitely return though due to location and pitch sizes, however toilets blocks do need updating and checking more frequent.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank betty1Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of Monkey Tree, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the outdoor space with games of cricket and rounders. In regards to the toilets, we have cleaners that work throughout the day and evening to keep the toilets clean. Unfortunately sometimes in between cleaning each of the blocks guests do go in and make a mess of the toilets. We are always very grateful then when customers like yourselves report it to reception so as we can rectify any issues as soon as possible.
I do hope that we can welcome yourselves back to stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed here several times now, both in statics and our own tourer. Statics 1st, as some people have said, the beds are not the best but having stayed in statics at various other sites (Parkdean & Haven), we have the beds to be no worse, we simply put an extra duvet under the sheet and hey presto lovely & comfy! The welcome pack is a welcome sight as it saves having to go shopping before having a brew or snack before going shopping. We have also always found the cleanliness to be excellent. With regards the touring/camping facilities, we have stayed on 3 different pitches and have found the pitch sizes more than adequate. The overflow field is, however, rather exposed to the elements, however, it has 2 brand new toilet blocks in addition to 2 older blocks which personally I prefer. There are also several super pitches with which you get a private toilet/shower room but not having used them I can't comment on them. A previous reviewer commented on the lack of showers on Palm Field, there is a very new shower block just adjacent to this field which also includes the launderette facilties. With regards the entertainment, the childrens play soft play area can be a problem with older children running amok in there, this could be attributed to the park management (it should really be supervised) and parents not caring what their children are getting up to. The main park area looked like it had had some maintenance before we got there although the slide was still broken (apparently caused by teenagers jumping on it). A new one was fitted a few days into our stay. The arcade is a bit of a waste of time, but then maybe that will save some money for people! The clubhouse is perhaps a little small for the site, but then during the high season the secondary bar area is open for a more relaxed experience. There is entertainment on most nights during high season and between 7 & 9 it is all for the kids so if you don't fancy kids runniing round shoutiing, screaming and generally enjoying themselves, avoid! My 5 year old daughter loves the place, the funky monkey & especially Lucy and I love the draft San Miguel which I am forced to sit and drink whilst my daughter is having fun!
All in all, it is a big site, it isn't perfect but I believe it is good value for money compared to the likes of Haven & Parkdean which is why myself & my family have been there 7 times since 2010 either in a static or our tourer.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phildoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonkeyTreeManager, Manager at Monkey Tree Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of Monkey Tree; I am pleased you have had yet another enjoyable stay with us. We value your comments about the Indoor Play Area and although we have CCTV in there which is monitored by the staff in the Arcade and signs up stating children must be accompanied by an adult, there are still some customers that continue to be a nuisance in this area.
Thank you once again for your review, and I hope we can welcome you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
4.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
5.4 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Tree Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Property: Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Address: Scotland Road | Rejerrah, Newquay TR8 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Tree Holiday Park & Campsite, Newquay, Cornwall is an award-winning family Holiday Park just minutes away from Perranporth & Newquay. Situated on the North Coast of Cornwall Monkey Tree Holiday Park & camping the benefit of having some of Europe’s finest beaches just minutes away. Monkey Tree Holiday Park has an excellent range of static holiday homes to suit all tastes and budgets. The choice of caravan and camping pitches is superb, from standard non electric to those with hard standing, electricity, water supply and main drainage and even private bathroom facilities if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Tree Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing