We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Venue but needs updating !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Venue but needs updating !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a wonderful weekend with family and friends. Our pitch was clean and had ample space for all our needs . We used a groupon deal to stay for 2 nights and was very reasonable.
If the campsite use these deals to highlight there facilites to encourage return custom then they seriously need to look at a few things.

The toilets and shower blocks were shabby to say the least and let down such a beautiful venue.
Cleaning your teeth looking at the plug holes full of hair and debri make your stomach churn. The toilets did not seem to get cleaned on a regular basis.

Monkey tree need to be recommended on there recycling bins but the day we arrived they were over flowing which again made let the site down.

Yes it's early season but if the site is open then health and safety concerns need to be address , there were numerous holes where I can only guess lightning ballards will be erected. Children could quite easily hurt themselves.

We would love to return again as the site and location are fantastic but would have to be reassured that the blocks were demolished and rebuilt !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank whomenoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    93
    52
    35
    23
See reviews for
257
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week in May half term in a Crantock static caravan. Caravan was good value for money, the beds were already made up and the welcome hamper a really nice touch especially the wine chilling in the fridge.
The site itself is fantastic with great facilities. Its very family orientated, friendly and most importantly safe for kids.
Location wise its ideal for trips out and about in Cornwall.
We will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie_tom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to the Monkey Tree Holiday Park camping for the most part of a week after finding an offer on Groupon. We were a bit apprehensive as it was so cheap but we were pleasantly surprised. The pitch was the perfect size for our large tent, the toilet and shower facilities although could do with some attention were sufficient and the location was great (only 4 miles drive to Newquay). All in all we found the park to be great value for money, our only complaint would be that the onsite attractions and the shower/toilet blocks could perhaps do with some TLC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goonie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Writtle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here over May bank holiday pitch was ok bar and entertainment good but let down by dirty old showers and toilets with the showers running cold most of the time. The location is good and the site was well priced but I would not bother going back unless they upgraded the toilet / showers

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve-Chivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stays - August 2013 & April 2014

Both times we have had fantastic short breaks at Monkey Tree the welcome is great, the facilities in Ash Field are modern, clean and warm and there is plenty of facilities to keep you occupied.

The Tarmac roads for scooters and playgrounds in every field are a huge hit with our kids (age 8 & 6).

It is in a good location being close enough to explore Cornwall in any direction but not actually in Newquay.

The only criticisms I do have which I shared with reception on our last visit is the outdoor pool area. The pool had been given a good clean and the surround a lick of paint on our last visit. However it still looks and feels slightly neglected, the surrounding sun beds being grey and looking dirty are a big part of this I think.

Also in comparison to other sites we have stayed on the food offering isn't great with a take away or a very small, un-inviting conservatory tagged on the end of the bar.

However this site is a favourite we will be back and I would and have recommended it.

Room Tip: Ash Field has the best facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just returned home from a great week at monkey tree.
Fantastic location, caravan was the cleanest we have arrived to at any camp with beds made up and a decent welcome hamper including a cheeky bottle of white in the fridge :-)
Our little one loved the soft play area but at times it got let down by unsupervised older children
The Entertainment team made the week for us and the kids with something different each day they work long days tirelessly always with a smile thank you Liam Kirsty Charlie and all the multi taskers around the bar shop and arcade.
Nice fishing spot for family's day out but not great for the serious fishermen as is overstocked and tends to be the windiest part of the park but plenty of lakes nearby.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaJonck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

After returning home to Cambridge from my 3 days at Monkey Tree, I visited the park with my wife and two sons, and had a very enjoyable holiday.
The bar staff were friendly and we always had service with a smile. Bertie in particular is an asset to the holiday park as he was always professional in his duties.
I found the staff very accommodating, especially the entertainment team. It was nice to think that I could see my two boys with Charlie and Liam knowing that they were in safe hands and were with very responsible staff. I can not believe that Charlie has only been in this position for two weeks as she has a natural ability with children. We found that after watching Liam and Charlie, they worked well together as a team.
The rest of the park's amenities were very pleasant, especially the animal encounter, my children really enjoyed seeing the goats.
The only area of criticism was that the swimming pool was not yet ready. Maybe an indoor pool should be something to look for in the future.
But all in all a very pleasant 3 days in Cornwall, which I will be glad to bring my family back to.
After reading some of the negative reviews, I wonder if they were staying at the same park that we stayed at?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
4.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
4.3 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
5.9 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#7 of 74 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Tree Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Property: Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Address: Scotland Road | Rejerrah, Newquay TR8 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Tree Holiday Park & Campsite, Newquay, Cornwall is an award-winning family Holiday Park just minutes away from Perranporth & Newquay. Situated on the North Coast of Cornwall Monkey Tree Holiday Park & camping the benefit of having some of Europe’s finest beaches just minutes away. Monkey Tree Holiday Park has an excellent range of static holiday homes to suit all tastes and budgets. The choice of caravan and camping pitches is superb, from standard non electric to those with hard standing, electricity, water supply and main drainage and even private bathroom facilities if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Tree Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing