We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location shame about the park on a whole!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkey Tree Holiday Park
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Park is in fantastic location and close to newquay and perranporth, we stayed for a week on ash field,toilets and showes best on site, had a look at other blocks on others pitches and felt quiet sorry for the other people on the park, kids arcade a waste of time old and all broke, no go karts diggers etc, pool was ok but could be cleaner on surrounding areas, some people on park were friendly others were rude, the kids entertainers were cheesy and abit dull , the park could do and be so much more then what it is. A real shame

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sier1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We really enjoyed our time at monkey tree holiday park the staff are all friendly and helpful the entertainment team this year were great best entertainment team we have had in the 4 year we have been coming to monkey tree they really made our time really enjoyable and fun and we hope its the same team next year and as a whole the entertainment is great. Best year we have had at the holiday park so far be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertDavies96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here from the 26th July - 2nd August with my boyfriend, his parents, his sister and husband their 2 kids (4 and 2) and 2 dogs. We had booked a super pitch and a super deluxe (private bathroom) we were placed in Fir Tree Field which is lovely as it is away from everything and is nice and quiet. On arrival the campsite looked lovely, alot of the pitches near the main area were heavily populated and I was glad we were away from here. Had a couple of teething issues to start with, we were meant to have pitch 706 and 707 but we ended up with 707 and 707?! this was queried but apparently its just a mistake. We were given our packs but not our bathroom key so we had to chase this up - we were also short of 2 wristbands which took a while to get as well as a main gate keycard. The pitches were of a good size and the hardstanding for the cars came in handy. We had paid for an additional charge and were unsure if the spare car would have to stay in the carpark which was miles away but the hardstanding was massive and easily took 2 cars. the private bathroom was spotless and was kept clean and this came in handy - the super duluxe pitches are worth the extra money - the pitches are also enclosed on 3 sides. the toilet block was literally opposite our pitches so this was handy in the night. on the other side of the block was the communal toilets/showers which were also kept clean however in the ladies one of the showers was broken and was constantly on which caused the toilets to become like a sauna - unfortunately this took the staff about 2/3 days to fix. the dishwashing facilities were adequate. The so called 'Dog Walk' was very very disappointing - there was dog poo EVERYWHERE which just made it disgusting to walk down so this needs to be addressed by the site ASAP seeing as this seems to be the only available dog walk within the park. it was getting to the stage where we were just walking our dogs across the empty pitches behind us as were everyone else, The entertainment was cringey and the kids were scared of 'funky monkey' on one occasion the person in the suit seemed to have had a heavy night the night before as he/she fell over and crashed into the stage scaring all the children. The girl from entertaintment who wears the red lipstick was 45 mins late for work one evening and the guy who also works on the team attempted some embarrassing banter regarding the lateness and she came back with 'oh am I sacked yet' which was a little awkward to watch. We didnt really spend much time at the campsite as wanted to explore but the kids did use the softplay areas and enjoyed this but spent as little time as possible using the clubhouse/bar facilities. used the fish and chip takeaway which was very tasty but the service is slow and staff dont really know what they are doing. found the security almost non existent - we weren't bothered once during the stay and wristbands weren't checked. Generally speaking the site was fine as somewhere to stay but some issues need addressing.

Room Tip: go for super deluxe, pitches bigger, enclosed on 3 sides and have area of hardstanding as well as pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank corrosivelement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

just got back from a week in a caravan... well what can i say... caravan smelt of damp and when looking into the cupbards mould was everywhere ... woke up everymorning with bites everywhere and when we complained they didnt seem too bothered... will defo not be going back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sexyGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have been to Monkey Trees several times whilst our boys have been growing up as it always has had something for each age group but this time will definitely be our last.

The staff are lovely and do all they can but the place is falling apart and needs some serious updating.

Our pitch was the stoniest pitch we have ever camped on and we have ruined lots of tent pegs trying to get them into the ground.

The new shower blocks are lovely and are kept as clean as can be with a park full of people but whilst we were there the gents urinal packed up in our toilet block and was overflowing and it took them 3 days to fix it. My husband reported it to the cleaners, who were french and didnt seem to understand much english, and he just shrugged his shoulders and in the end we had to phone reception and report it ourselves before anything was done and then they just taped it off until it was fixed 3 days later - in the meantime all the men had to use the limited amount of cubicles and this caused a lot of mess and the smell was overpowering, also the whole 10 days we were there my husband said the urinal never flushed !!! Also out of the 8 sinks in the gents only 3 had working hot taps, 1 had no hot tap at all and the other 4 just didnt work.

Being there for 10 days we had to do some laundry - the laundry had 4 small washing machines at £4 each and a larger one which cost £6 to use - 3 out of the 4 smaller ones were out of order and 1 out of the 4 dryers didnt work either.

The kids arcade was another story - most of the machines didnt work at some point or were broken completely, if you needed some help with a broken machine or lost money there was never anyone around and you had to walk all the way over to the main bar to find someone even though they had a kiosk in the arcade, but this was never manned. We also had to report gangs of teenagers who were taking over the arcade and who were stealing the basketballs from a game and throwing them all over the arcade, hitting the smaller children with them - we reported to the security guards who were still stood chatting half an hour later and by then the damage was done and the kids had moved on to destroying something else.

We also needed some help late one evening as one of their chickens had escaped and crashed into our tent 3 times. We eventually managed to calm the animal down and she took roost in our electric cabling. We phoned the help numbers we had been given but no-one answered any of them. My husband then had to traipse all the way down to the bar yet again to find someone to come and get their chicken who was eventually rescued.

They also advertise fishing facilities which my husband and son were really looking forward to using - what a joke. The guy who looks after the fishing lake is also their night security guard so never makes an appearance much before 9am, he is also supposed to run the tackle shop which was never open and the water level was so low they had to climb down onto the lake lining to land any fish. They were also charged £4 per day for the "privilege" of using this facility which is not mentioned in the brochure.

The pool area is nice but the water is cold. There is a nice little food shack in the pool yard but yet again its a joke trying to get any food from them. We decided to have lunch by the pool one day and went upto the shack to see what they had - there was 5 of us and all she had in there was 2 baguettes and chips, even though their advertising board said they had baguettes, chips, burgers etc etc - she told us that was all that was available as she hadnt yet been trained to cook burgers !!!!! How hard is it to cook burgers - my 10 year old can do that !!!

Anyhow, we asked for the 2 baguettes and were quite willing to share them and also asked for some chips - oh no it couldnt be that simple could it !!! She couldnt just sell them to us we had to go into the main bar (yet again) and tell them what we wanted, pay for it and then take a ticket back out to the shack before we could have any food - by now we are getting mad, all we wanted was lunch - it was not the staff members fault this was just the way they had been told to do it - would it not be much easier to just give the poor girl a cash float and let her sell direct instead of having to put up with everyone complaining at her???

The clubhouse is also a joke - its nice enough if the park is only 20% full but as soon as the school holidays started and everyone arrived you couldnt get in there let alone get a table or any seating the place is much too small for the size of the complex and it was so hot in there as there are no fans or air con.

The shop wasnt too bad, it stocked pretty much everything you might need and if it doesnt then there is a Morrisons about a 10 min drive away so no problems there, but of course the site shop is more expensive, but was clean and tidy.

The takeaway was nice and we always had nice hot food from there and the Summer Nights Bar is also kept nice and clean and is a fab alternative to the main clubhouse and bar.

The campsite itself is kept clean and tidy and there is always someone picking up litter or cutting grass etc but kids and teenagers are left to run riot and we were woken up most nights by teens coming back in the early hours of the morning worse for wear and shouting and screaming all the way back to their tents. Groups of teens, and stag and hen parties should not be allowed on family sites like this.

Anyway as I said the staff are lovely and the park is clean and tidy but we wont be going back again, in fact this holiday has probably put us off camping again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank chunkymunky678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have just booked a break at monkey tree and just had to say how friendly and helpful the receptionist was, her name was Laura and nothing was too much trouble for her. Thank you Laura, you are a credit to your employer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 9 nights here. Our 5th visit to Cornwall but first to this site.
Positives : large serviced pitch.
Staff were friendly, especially Tom who helped us out of an awkward spot where we were pitched.
In easy reach of gorgeous dog friendly beach at Perranporth.

Negatives :
Lots of dog poo around the site.
General cleanliness not great. Never saw a cleaner at the showers. Same dirty bit of Elastoplast was in the showers from the first day to the last day.
Showers in need of upgrade. One day all were full except one but that one had no water pressure left.
Shower doors have had plastic along the bottom but mostly gone which means the floor gets soaked from water coming under the shower door so prepare for wet trouser bottoms.
Pool area - weeds growing through the patio and furniture in need of some tlc.
Overall the facilities were very dated. Ate in it once. Food was ok but wouldn't go back. Barman had to call on chef to make a milkshake !
Entertainment : very 80's. Bingo and tribute acts. May suit some but not our cup of tea.
Arcade : lot of broken machines
Play area : ok for younger kids but not much for over 10's.
Reception staff don't have great local knowledge Were told bus times for bus stop called Cubert which was miles away and ended up waiting an hour for a bus having walked 15 mins to the bus stop - no pavement so bear in mind if travelling with young children. Passed an unchained guard dog who made a bee line for our tiny puppy. Had the owner not reacted quickly pretty sure he would have got through the gap in the the fence and enjoyed him for lunch !
Bus journey was pretty rough too £5 for 3 of us one way. Don't think bus had any suspension and took about 35 mins into Newquay. We opted for taxi back (£10) was well worth it (5 mins) and took car after that !
Overall : having been to other parks in Cornwall and Devon - Polmanter and Cofton which were far superior. We were really disappointed with Monkey Tree. I think they spend too much money on fancy advertising and not enough on the actual park.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank pmg1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
4.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
3.9 mi away
Hendra Holiday Park
Hendra Holiday Park
#2 of 79 in Newquay
1,910 reviews
5.3 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
776 reviews
4.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
4.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Tree Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Tree Holiday Park

Address: Scotland Road | Rejerrah, Newquay TR8 5QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Tree Holiday Park & Campsite, Newquay, Cornwall is an award-winning family Holiday Park just minutes away from Perranporth & Newquay. Situated on the North Coast of Cornwall Monkey Tree Holiday Park & camping the benefit of having some of Europe’s finest beaches just minutes away. Monkey Tree Holiday Park has an excellent range of static holiday homes to suit all tastes and budgets. The choice of caravan and camping pitches is superb, from standard non electric to those with hard standing, electricity, water supply and main drainage and even private bathroom facilities if required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monkey Tree Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing