We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estrella Morada Bar de Tapas

Estrella Morada Bar de Tapas
Ranked #56 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small family run Tapas Bar facing the beach in Porth Nr Newquay. Sorry we do not allow children under 14 as we are a fully licensed public bar, adults haven, adults have to have somewhere to go without children. You can sit & enjoy a glass or bottle (from £14 per bottle) of Spanish wine/ sangria (£8 per half litre or £15 per litre)or beer in our relaxing bar or out looking over the beach or if you feel a bit hungry why not try some our our tapas. All our tapas dishes are cooked fresh to order (if hot) & are from authentic Spanish recipes. Dishes cost from £3 (olives) to £6.75 (scallops & morcia) We say for a snack 1-2 dishes or substanial meal average of 5 dishes per couple if you want a full meal
Swindon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We visited this restaurant two years ago for our first experience of tapas - we loved it so much we sought it out this week when we returned to the area. Wonderful food, great service, relaxed atmosphere and some absolutely gorgeous passion fruit sorbet!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    41
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well and truly worth a stop for a communal share of good food and wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Gambas (prawns) & scallops are great! Add the usual Spanish classics patatas bravas and some extra Greek/cypriot classics and it's a great sharing mix - even for a couple (which we are!). Recommend a visit!
Ps - vino Tinto - don't go passed the Claude Val ! Great smooth option

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ozkimbo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Some of the best Tapas I have ever had (including in Spain!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Great food, lovely setting - worth the trip if you are staying in Newquay, but if you are staying in Porth, don't even bother going to look for somewhere better!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelranger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall, uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Tapas in a Mediterranean atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have driven past this place so many times and as last decided to try it out. I am so pleased we did. Being January we had the place to ourselves which which did not feel awkward. The food is so fresh and plentiful portions, all of us left with our bellies filled. Sooo many delicious choices even on the vegetarian side. This definately now one of my favourite restaurants, cannot wait to go again. Love this place. This is a MUST restaurant to try. In the summer you will have stunning views across Porth Beach & out to the Atlantic Ocean. If you go, you will not be disappointed.Tho in high season I would book to avoid missing out on this amazing Spanish/Greek cuisine.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank earthling000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great end to a holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Excellent Tapas ! A MUST visit if in the Newquay area.
Very Pleasant restaurent run by husband and wife. The wife cooks all the food to order and it is quite possibly the BEST tapas i've had outside of Spain =)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank cookeh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estrella Morada Bar de Tapas also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Estrella Morada Bar de Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing