We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but not a problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of MOR

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MOR
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic but not a problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here with 15 lads for a stag do. The Rooms are basic and we were sharing two showers between the lot of us, (not really a problem.) To be Fair it was all decent and I have no real complaints about the place.
nice little bar area, the staff were pretty helpful nice guys.
It's not the ritz, but it is a bed for the night (comfy beds actually)

The only let down was the 'breakfast'. yes continental, but a couple of cereals and some thin toast isn't much. Also no juice or even a jug of water, which was much needed after a heavy night out...a few very small changes would make a big difference.
We didn't pay direct as we booked through an agent, so I'm not sure on value for money, but they do take a £30 deposit in cash so you don't wreck the place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howser_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    45
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great hotel that did exactly what it said on the tin! The hotel/hostel is extremely close to all the shops and beach. This hotel/hostel isn't the most disable friendly and the corridors could feel claustrophobic, the rooms however are extremely spacious and our twin room did have a bunk bed (felt like i was 12 but was all right lol) It is very hilly in the Newquay area so take your walking shoes. We went kind of out of season April 8th 2013 so the nightlife (which is what we went for) was a bit drab.
If you choose to go then ENJOY :D

Room Tip: If you want your own room with private bathroom then ask for it! This is technically a hostel so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skoda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here on the easter weekend with 10 of my friends for a birthday.
We already put down a £10 deposit before arriving, then had to pay £22 each on arrival, THEN an additional £30 'behaviour bond' which covers them in the chances of disruptions from the group or mess.
you also cant bring in your own drink to have in your room, you have to spend more of your money in there bar. Which we all thought was a bit extreme as most groups of young people would want to pre-drink in there rooms and chill before going out in the town. to make the night a bit cheaper.
we stayed in a room with 3 sets of bunkbeds. The beds were clean and the room was very basic but it had want we needed after a night out.
The bathroom on the otherhand was not overly clean, we found black ash all over the toilet top and the tissue. and the toilet roll looked like it hasnt been changed in a while.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here this weekend on a stag do and was clean and functional. There are no Frills and the breakfast is basic-with no option to upgrade. I would say that we were a pain but there were no issues and they didn't complain. We weren't told about the £30 good behaviour deposit before arrival, however this is more the fault of our third party organiser. We did think they would take it for any reason but had it back in full (we didn't damage anything but were pains) the last grumble is no beer allowed, apart from the beer purchased in their bar-the reason you go to a hostel is its cheap so you don't want to spend bar prices. Over all one of the best I stayed in and it shows the people there are proud of their business, but don't take your mrs there for a romantic weekend away!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRobertson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

First of all, I think it is honest to say that we didn't pay for accommodation here (I have been to Newquay with my University module colleagues as part of our coursework), therefore I can not review it from a money-for-quality point of view.

Anyway, don't let yourself fooled by the eye-catching paint colour on the outside.
Inside, the stairways are very narrow, perhaps some 80 cms wide. The rooms are tiny as well, mostly iron bunk beds, very noisy and with thin matresses. Bathroom not bigger than 1,5 sq. meters, the sink is in the room rather than in the bathroom, no openable windows in the bathroom (imagine the smell and the humidity in the room because of this), sliding bathroom door not entirely closing and without any possibility to lock in from inside.

Good parts: Fire doors almost everywhere, nice staff (with some exceptions), large bar area with TV, received key from the main downstairs entrance as well, rather close to the town centre and train station.

Bad parts: (apart from the aforementioned). Terrible Wi-fi, their best excuse was that we were too many people trying to connect (even if at the time most people were outside and we were not more than 3 people inside the hostel), when I asked for a simple router restart I was refused. I was refused on my request of changing the TV channel at the bar in order to watch football (it was common wish), instead the bartender that day prefered watching Big Bang Theory all by himself.
Thin walls, therefore a lot of noise, noisy doors as well. Most rooms don't have an outside view (towards the sea), but rather a view towards something that it should be an inside garden (but looks like a sewer). From there you can also see the windows from 3 other rooms and their bathrooms..not a pleasant view.
No cleaning service.
Pool and fussball was 50p / game.
Breakfast was terrible, and they made us eat in the games room as well.

Room Tip: Just avoid it, if you are really going there, pick a room from the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Guest Relations Manager at MOR, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks for your response. All MOR team members have been informed again that our guests are to decide which channels the TV's show. The member of staff who refused to change the channel has now left the MOR team. The roof you could see in the atrium is now cleaned weekly and we've bought some plants as you suggested to create a garden feel and brighten the area up. Only a few budget rooms face the internal atrium whereas 10 of the rooms have Atlantic sea views. We've also improved our breakfast choice for the forthcoming year and we have fresh ground coffee available. We pride ourselves on providing clean good quality budget accommodation in a friendly atmosphere. Next time we'll make sure you get a sea view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Two friends and I opted for a long weekend surfing so immediately thought of Newquay as our ideal destination. After a search we agreed on Mor Surf Lodge, primarily because of cost and location.

I know there are a few conflicting views on here but please don't expect a Rolls Royce on a shoe string budget!

The good bits:
1. Staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and just all-round nice folk. Genuinely could not have done any more for us. They were awesome!
2. The location was near enough to town to walk to the mainstream beaches and for food / a few beers but far enough to not be disturbed by the mass exodus from clubs.
3. Rooms were clean & tidy with an ensuite.
4. Great amenities and they were readily available at competitive prices (bar, pool table, TV, surf hire etc.)
5. Easy check-in / check-out processes.

Couple of additional points:
1. There are a couple of sets of moderately steep stairs in place so if you have mobility issues you might want to ask for a room as low to the ground as possible.
2. The rooms are relatively basic, but they do however contain ALL of the essentials. We found that we hardly spent much time in the rooms anyway as we were out surfing / exploring etc. so for us it was perfect.

Overall:
I would recommend Mor Surf Lodge to small groups as an ideal place to crash for a surfing / activity based stay. I cannot do justice in describing how friendly and accommodating all of the staff were, they really were fantastic. No doubt we will be back to Newquay surfing again next season and we will definitely be looking to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1011001010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Guest Relations Manager at MOR, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks for all the positive comments! We'll try to improve again in 2013 and look forward to seeing you back at MOR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

MOR lodge is a located at the top of Newquay with easy access to all the beaches and town centre. Was a great place to stay we were a smallish group of friends on a weekend away but the guys there were helpful and very welcoming. They couldn't have done more to help us with good tips on where to eat and sorting us out with surfing. Room was clean and checking in and out was easy. A great weekend away!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColletteRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#22 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#23 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
YHA Boswinger
YHA Boswinger
#1 of 1 in Boswinger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
8.5 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 12 in St Merryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
15.2 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#4 of 37 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOR

Property: MOR
Address: 83-87 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MOR 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Activity Lodge based in the heart of Newquay. Private bedrooms in bunk style accommodation all en-suite. Free breakfast included. MOR has fantastic facilities including a great bar with large sun terrace overlooking the sea, games room with competition pool table and freshly ground coffee available throughout the day along with a selection of bar snacks. Just a 5 minute walk to the town centre with nightlife and shops. 10Minutes to town beaches. Ideal base for large groups on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MOR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MOR Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing