We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bolt hole for surfing break.”
Review of MOR

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MOR
Certificate of Excellence
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect bolt hole for surfing break.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed at the Mor Lodge for the second time last weekend (previous visit was last July) and was not disappointed. Room was basic but clean, we weren't planning to spend much time there anyway as just in the town to get our feet wet but was just what we needed for our sunday post-surf snooze.

Downstairs of the lodge was nicely done out, staff were really friendly, even cleaning staff stopped to have a chat, and reception staff told us where to go without getting ripped off in town.

Really surprised at other reviews on here as (I think he was the manager) Dylan, who was on in the day, was really nice when me and my boyfriend were checking in, told us about where to catch some decent waves, showed us to our room and seemed to be genuinely interested in how we were throughout our weekend. Having stayed at other hostels in the town (hideous pop music blasting til 4am as standard) it was nice to have the proper chilllin Newquay experience, tips from the locals and no aggro- winners all round.

As for paying deposit money upfront in my experience (travelled across three continents) this is pretty standard when you pay so little for the room. Didn't break anything so got it back without hassle. Two thumbs up.

Cheers to all at mor, just booked to come down again in July for another wicked cornish weekend, see you then!

Room Tip: Ask for sea views maybe if you don't plan on leaving the building but otherwise get down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fizzyeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    45
    25
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
18
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I visited Mor lodge with a friend last weekend for one night stay just before a festival we attended in Newquay.
As we were coming from London and its quite a long drive I called the lodge to let them know that we wouldnt be arriving til quite late (12am). I was then told that there would be an additional £5 charge per person for any one checking in post 7pm. This was not communicated or made clear when booking and had i know i may have changed my choice.

I have no issue with a charge for late check in (even though ive never been charged before at a hotel for such a thing) especially as it was a budget hotel but what i do take issue with is the logic behind the charge. They said we were paying for someone to stay on reception to wait for us to arrive yet the charge was £5 per person. The receptionist would have had to wait for the same amount of time for us to arrive whether it was 1 person, 3 people or 5 so I don't see why the total charge would go up dependent on how many people are travelling in the group.

Then we got there and the receptionist had left and the 24 hr night porter let us in...why he couldnt have let us in all along i dont know but regardless we were still charged this additional £10.

When we arrived we asked for a later check out given it was already 12am and we wanted to get as much sleep as possible. We were told this was another £10. Extremely high charge for the quality of the room and given they only gave us an extra hour. Staff then proceeded to knock on our door repeatedly up until that hour to double check when we were checking out.


Was charged additional price for checking in post 7pm (even though we explained we had to drive down from London and this would take time). We were told the fee was for reception to stay open but we were charged £5 per person which makes no sense as if reception wouldve stayed open for the same amount of time if it were for 1, or 2 or 5 so there's no reason the price should be different depending on the number of people in the group.


Finally when checking out the reception tried to charge us £4 more than what we owed - seemingly just making up the price as they went along. I explained that £28 plus £10 for late arrival and £10 for late check out equaled £48 not £52. Reception then just shrugged and gave me the correct change. It seems this place just tries to make money from you any way possible. Would not stay here again if in Newquay as for £50 a night for a room (with our extra charges) we could've stayed somewhere like the premier inn which was just down the road and had much better facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o12145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here with 15 lads for a stag do. The Rooms are basic and we were sharing two showers between the lot of us, (not really a problem.) To be Fair it was all decent and I have no real complaints about the place.
nice little bar area, the staff were pretty helpful nice guys.
It's not the ritz, but it is a bed for the night (comfy beds actually)

The only let down was the 'breakfast'. yes continental, but a couple of cereals and some thin toast isn't much. Also no juice or even a jug of water, which was much needed after a heavy night out...a few very small changes would make a big difference.
We didn't pay direct as we booked through an agent, so I'm not sure on value for money, but they do take a £30 deposit in cash so you don't wreck the place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howser_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great hotel that did exactly what it said on the tin! The hotel/hostel is extremely close to all the shops and beach. This hotel/hostel isn't the most disable friendly and the corridors could feel claustrophobic, the rooms however are extremely spacious and our twin room did have a bunk bed (felt like i was 12 but was all right lol) It is very hilly in the Newquay area so take your walking shoes. We went kind of out of season April 8th 2013 so the nightlife (which is what we went for) was a bit drab.
If you choose to go then ENJOY :D

Room Tip: If you want your own room with private bathroom then ask for it! This is technically a hostel so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skoda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here on the easter weekend with 10 of my friends for a birthday.
We already put down a £10 deposit before arriving, then had to pay £22 each on arrival, THEN an additional £30 'behaviour bond' which covers them in the chances of disruptions from the group or mess.
you also cant bring in your own drink to have in your room, you have to spend more of your money in there bar. Which we all thought was a bit extreme as most groups of young people would want to pre-drink in there rooms and chill before going out in the town. to make the night a bit cheaper.
we stayed in a room with 3 sets of bunkbeds. The beds were clean and the room was very basic but it had want we needed after a night out.
The bathroom on the otherhand was not overly clean, we found black ash all over the toilet top and the tissue. and the toilet roll looked like it hasnt been changed in a while.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here this weekend on a stag do and was clean and functional. There are no Frills and the breakfast is basic-with no option to upgrade. I would say that we were a pain but there were no issues and they didn't complain. We weren't told about the £30 good behaviour deposit before arrival, however this is more the fault of our third party organiser. We did think they would take it for any reason but had it back in full (we didn't damage anything but were pains) the last grumble is no beer allowed, apart from the beer purchased in their bar-the reason you go to a hostel is its cheap so you don't want to spend bar prices. Over all one of the best I stayed in and it shows the people there are proud of their business, but don't take your mrs there for a romantic weekend away!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRobertson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

First of all, I think it is honest to say that we didn't pay for accommodation here (I have been to Newquay with my University module colleagues as part of our coursework), therefore I can not review it from a money-for-quality point of view.

Anyway, don't let yourself fooled by the eye-catching paint colour on the outside.
Inside, the stairways are very narrow, perhaps some 80 cms wide. The rooms are tiny as well, mostly iron bunk beds, very noisy and with thin matresses. Bathroom not bigger than 1,5 sq. meters, the sink is in the room rather than in the bathroom, no openable windows in the bathroom (imagine the smell and the humidity in the room because of this), sliding bathroom door not entirely closing and without any possibility to lock in from inside.

Good parts: Fire doors almost everywhere, nice staff (with some exceptions), large bar area with TV, received key from the main downstairs entrance as well, rather close to the town centre and train station.

Bad parts: (apart from the aforementioned). Terrible Wi-fi, their best excuse was that we were too many people trying to connect (even if at the time most people were outside and we were not more than 3 people inside the hostel), when I asked for a simple router restart I was refused. I was refused on my request of changing the TV channel at the bar in order to watch football (it was common wish), instead the bartender that day prefered watching Big Bang Theory all by himself.
Thin walls, therefore a lot of noise, noisy doors as well. Most rooms don't have an outside view (towards the sea), but rather a view towards something that it should be an inside garden (but looks like a sewer). From there you can also see the windows from 3 other rooms and their bathrooms..not a pleasant view.
No cleaning service.
Pool and fussball was 50p / game.
Breakfast was terrible, and they made us eat in the games room as well.

Room Tip: Just avoid it, if you are really going there, pick a room from the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, Guest Relations Manager at MOR, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks for your response. All MOR team members have been informed again that our guests are to decide which channels the TV's show. The member of staff who refused to change the channel has now left the MOR team. The roof you could see in the atrium is now cleaned weekly and we've bought some plants as you suggested to create a garden feel and brighten the area up. Only a few budget rooms face the internal atrium whereas 10 of the rooms have Atlantic sea views. We've also improved our breakfast choice for the forthcoming year and we have fresh ground coffee available. We pride ourselves on providing clean good quality budget accommodation in a friendly atmosphere. Next time we'll make sure you get a sea view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
YHA Boswinger
YHA Boswinger
#1 of 1 in Boswinger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.5 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 12 in St Merryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
15.2 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#4 of 37 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOR

Property: MOR
Address: 83-87 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MOR 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Activity Lodge based in the heart of Newquay. Private bedrooms in bunk style accommodation all en-suite. Free breakfast included. MOR has fantastic facilities including a great bar with large sun terrace overlooking the sea, games room with competition pool table and freshly ground coffee available throughout the day along with a selection of bar snacks. Just a 5 minute walk to the town centre with nightlife and shops. 10Minutes to town beaches. Ideal base for large groups on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MOR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MOR Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing