We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny,noisy,empty. Never again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of MOR

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MOR
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Tiny,noisy,empty. Never again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

we arrived at Mor, not quite expecting the ritz, byt expecting the clean, fresh, modern look as shown on their pictures. The bar and reception very much fitted this, so we had no worries. We had to pay £30 each (there were 2 of us in a "private" double room) behavioural bond, which had been explained when booking.
When we were shown to our room we were shocked at the sheer lack of size in the corridors. It took a lot to maneuver past the groups of men along the way. Especially with a big bag each.
Upon entering our room the £30 deposit no longer made sense as all that was in our room was a bed (unmade) a sink (unclean) and a tiny shaving mirror (which I had to tip toe to see into. Not good when you are trying to get ready for a night out). The bathroom was tiny, my feet touched the wall when sitting on the toilet, and the shower was tiny with a mouldy shower curtain hanging up.
The walls were paper thin, and I could hear every conversation had by the group of males opposite our room. My boyfriend also had a great deal of trouble getting the key to work in the door. While getting ready I noticed our room window was directly opposite to two other room windows. That had two rather large groups staying in them. Not the nicest view. As we were only staying for one night we thought we could cope. As it got slightly later the group across the hall became louder, and more intoxicated. Making having a conversation nigh on impossible.
We were given one pillow each, and a disgusting duvet which made sleep harder.
Breakfast the next morning wad value bread that was stale and hard, some form of value cornflakes and instant coffee. Needless to say we checked out an hour early and went to McDonald's for breakfast before driving the hour journey home on 4 hours sleep. It was fine if you didnt mind not sleeping or feeling clean. MORs one redeeming feature was the kind and friendly staff. Everyone we saw asked how we were and made us feel welcome. However the room was not worth the £50 we spent on it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annonymou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    45
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I had a night in the double bed room. the room is furnished with the most simplest furniture, which contain only a double bed. It doesn't contain a wardrobe, even a hook to hang your clothes. However, I had a really good sleep and wake up facing the perfect sea view! The toilet is good as well. With the money you pay you really couldn't expect much so that the breakfast (cereal and bread) is acceptable and sufficient to fuel your day up! Anyway I would recommended this hostel because it did fulfilled my requirement-- to get a good rest after a day long of travelling around, with the sea view as a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenbabyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Hello I stayed at Mor Lodge last night, I will say that the beds were lovely and comfy but the only bad points I will say was that upon arrival we were told we each had to pay a £30 deposit (incase room gets damaged etc..) and luckily we all had cash and cards on us to pay the extra £30 deposit. One member of our group didn't have enough on card and therefore had to find £30 before he was allowed his room key which I thought was a bit off as this was NOT made very clear on the website.
The other bad point is that they didn't supply towels so if u washed your hands in your room u had to use toilet roll to dry them which wasn't very good and also with having no towels it made it hard to have a shower without flooding the bathroom out! As there was nothing to catch water on the floor from shower. Luckily we managed ok but wasn't made clear on website that we had to bring our own towels neither.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORLodge, Manager at MOR, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
Thanks for your valued feedback; we are pleased to hear that you had a good night’s sleep in one of our comfy beds. MOR’s bond policy is in place, in the interest of preventing disturbances to other guests, we try our very best to make this clear on our website and also on 3rd party sites and email confirmations. Where possible, our receptionist also contacts guests to clarify booking details and run through any queries. As budget friendly hostel style accommodation, we advise guests to bring their own towels, or just ask at reception and they can be hired. We hope you come down to stay with us again for a break in Cornwall; we would be delighted to see you.

Rachel
Marketing and Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Booked last minute as no other hotels were available for just 1 night, checked in 8 pm paid the £30 pound deposit per person “Alarm bells”, Staff behind the reception were courteous and friendly. the lobby is good newly decorated with a bar counter and seating, the room was basic as advertised bunk beds no chairs, tables or wardrobe fair enough it's a budget lodge. the bathrooms were average with missing bolts in both the rooms i booked probably its common in this lodge, in room 11 the bathroom door makes a strong creaky noise when you open so you wake up every time someone uses the bathroom at night and there's one coat hook on the wall which came off the wall when I put my coat on seems to have been loosely fixed. In the morning went to the reception to check out the manager there Mr Dylan Devaney was behind the counter took the keys from me said he's going to have a look at the room for final checks, being a considerate guest I thought of letting him know the problems in the room so he can get it fixed and will be better for the next guest and went behind him, the moment I pointed him to the coat hook the first thing he said 'ok so we have to charge you for that It was fine before you checked in' and I was shocked felt like being penalised for being honest and considerate about others and end up paying £20 and I thought its good I haven't mentioned about the missing bolts on the bathrooms or else I would have been ripped off more. I have over 10 years work experience in retail customer facing environment and I can understand occasions of poor customer service but deceiving customers is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just got back from a girls hen weekend away, we stayed in mor lodge, the lodge was perfect for what we needed. Accommodation looks over Newquay, it's only a 2 minute walk from the centre of town which has plenty of shops, bars and clubs. The rooms although were basic were very clean! The shower was lovely and beds very comfortable. The staff at this lodge really make it, there is a young guy who manages it and a Spanish bar tender and they were so nice, very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Thanks guys for making our stay great, will definitely be back! From the hen doo x

Room Tip: If your sharing with lots of girls bring an extra mirror to save arguments lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Excellent value for money and great atmosphere, not only providing a great place to sleep but a great place to start the night with a great little bar. The staff are friendly and things went smoothly which is just what you want when booking 13 people. The location is great with just a few minutes walk to the centre. Don't be put off by the small amount of graffiti dawings on the outside of the building, internally it's very well presented and maintained.
Very well recommened !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed at the Mor Lodge for the second time last weekend (previous visit was last July) and was not disappointed. Room was basic but clean, we weren't planning to spend much time there anyway as just in the town to get our feet wet but was just what we needed for our sunday post-surf snooze.

Downstairs of the lodge was nicely done out, staff were really friendly, even cleaning staff stopped to have a chat, and reception staff told us where to go without getting ripped off in town.

Really surprised at other reviews on here as (I think he was the manager) Dylan, who was on in the day, was really nice when me and my boyfriend were checking in, told us about where to catch some decent waves, showed us to our room and seemed to be genuinely interested in how we were throughout our weekend. Having stayed at other hostels in the town (hideous pop music blasting til 4am as standard) it was nice to have the proper chilllin Newquay experience, tips from the locals and no aggro- winners all round.

As for paying deposit money upfront in my experience (travelled across three continents) this is pretty standard when you pay so little for the room. Didn't break anything so got it back without hassle. Two thumbs up.

Cheers to all at mor, just booked to come down again in July for another wicked cornish weekend, see you then!

Room Tip: Ask for sea views maybe if you don't plan on leaving the building but otherwise get down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fizzyeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#22 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
YHA Boswinger
YHA Boswinger
#1 of 1 in Boswinger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
8.5 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 12 in St Merryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
15.2 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#4 of 37 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOR

Property: MOR
Address: 83-87 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MOR 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Activity Lodge based in the heart of Newquay. Private bedrooms in bunk style accommodation all en-suite. Free breakfast included. MOR has fantastic facilities including a great bar with large sun terrace overlooking the sea, games room with competition pool table and freshly ground coffee available throughout the day along with a selection of bar snacks. Just a 5 minute walk to the town centre with nightlife and shops. 10Minutes to town beaches. Ideal base for large groups on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MOR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MOR Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing