We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay”
Review of MOR

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MOR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“weekend stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

good place to stay over. even though it says check-in open till 10pm, the manager kindly provided us with the whole 6beds room with a discount - at midnight. receptionist seems to know all the best local places. breakfast wasn't that good, so we went to Andy's! (10 min walk)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    47
    25
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great value for money and clean. Friendly service and good location.
Downside is that in an 8 bed room there was only ONE full length mirror and ONE double plug socket. This needs to be addressed especially if accommodating a large group of girls!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORLodge, Manager at MOR, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I’m thrilled that you were impressed with the value for money and cleanliness of the property. I will also pass onto staff your kind feedback about friendly service, which is something that we pride ourselves in. Mor is ideally situated in the heart of Newquay, great for exploring local attractions and lovely beaches, glad to hear you all enjoyed. Our rooms offer clean and affordable accommodation suitable for large groups wanting to share on budget breaks. We also offer twin rooms, rooms of four and some double beds. With all rooms being en-suite style this is a major plus for a hostel- we also have spare bathrooms on each floor and will make sure that there are ample mirrors for getting ready next time. If you have any issues with access to plugs for charging, just ask at reception. We’d be delighted to have you stay with us again at Mor Lodge Newquay, perhaps try one of our 4 bed en-suites or twins/doubles for some extra space and shower rooms. Hope to see you all again soon and thanks for visiting.

Rachel
Marketing and Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Mor lodge is a great base for a surf trip in North Cornwall, the rooms are clean and tidy, the beds really comfortable. Sea views are stunning, the bar and lounge area are a great place to trade big wave stories and relax. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Car parking is very easy and the town centre restaurants and bars are only a 5 minute walk away. Our party of 5 was really impressed with the lodge and would recommend it to any one for a short stay in Cornwall.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surferdude67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We took a group of 15 school children aged 9-10 on a residential trip to Cornwall. Mor Lodge was the perfect place for us - both teachers and children had a brilliant time. The staff at Mor were very welcoming and were always willing to do anything to make our stay better. There were basic but clean rooms which suited both teachers and children too considering we spent most of every day out and about in Cornwall. The breakfasts, lunches and dinners provided were also all very well suited to our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay as a group - friends/family. Great location for Newquay town centre, paid & display parking across the road. Staff friendly and really helpful. Would happily recommend to friends and family and stay at Mor again in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

MOR is a great place to stay and the staff is really helpful. Very nice bar and excellent rooms. The rooms are very nice and the view of the ocean from our room was cherry on top. Would highly recommend for a nice and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

What a great place! Just spent the weekend in Newquay for a stag do. We booked in at Mor and first of all loved the look of reception and the bar (which is stocked better than some of the towns pubs).

Patrick the gentleman that worked there was so accommodating. He kept the breakfast selection out a little longer as he knew we would be down (at some point). He was a true host and went above and beyond to make sure we had a cracking time! Alot of places will not accept stag dos now but this place was perfect.

Pool table, bar, vending machine and foosball table were all perfect for getting started before a night out (Probably the best drink prices too).

The room was a hostel style as you would expect by the name. There were bunks in the room we were in that slept 8. Had en suite with shower which all worked fine. I would say a blind on the frosted glass might be a good idea tho as your neighbours may not want to see all the outlines. Most importantly it had comfortable mattresses and pillows.

Ive seen on this site some people complaining and im afraid if you dont research properly than thats your fault. YES theres stag parties and YES theres hen parties but its still kept clean and tidy. There IS a night porter and a mobile number left out at reception if you need anything or have any problems.

I may not be calling back with the wife for a relaxing, quiet and romantic break as id book a 4*-5* hotel, but if your In town for a quick stop over or a night out then this is your place.

Will defo be calling in again with the lads.

Thanks again Mor for a contributing to a cracking weekend :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mrpe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
YHA Boswinger
YHA Boswinger
#1 of 1 in Boswinger
52 reviews
8.5 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 12 in St Merryn
155 reviews
15.2 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#5 of 37 in St Austell
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOR

Property: MOR
Address: 83-87 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MOR 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Activity Lodge based in the heart of Newquay. Private bedrooms in bunk style accommodation all en-suite. Free breakfast included. MOR has fantastic facilities including a great bar with large sun terrace overlooking the sea, games room with competition pool table and freshly ground coffee available throughout the day along with a selection of bar snacks. Just a 5 minute walk to the town centre with nightlife and shops. 10Minutes to town beaches. Ideal base for large groups on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your MOR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MOR Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing